wolves of eden

Book Title : Wolves of Eden A Novel
Author : Kevin McCarthy
Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
Release Date : 2018-11-06
Pages : 304
ISBN : 9780393652055
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The Civil War may be over, but in this thrilling historical novel, the battle for the West is only just beginning. Dakota Territory, 1866. Following the murders of a frontier fort’s politically connected sutler and his wife in their illicit off-post brothel, Lieutenant Martin Molloy and his long-suffering orderly, Corporal Daniel Kohn, are ordered to track down the killers and return with “boots for the gallows” to appease powerful figures in Washington. The men journey west to the distant outpost in a beautiful valley, where the soldiers inside the fort prove to be violently opposed to their investigations. Meanwhile, Irish immigrant brothers Michael and Thomas O’Driscoll have returned from the brutal front lines of the Civil War. Unable to adapt to life as migrant farm laborers in peacetime Ohio, they reenlist in the army and are shipped to Fort Phil Kearny in the heart of the Powder River Valley. Here they are thrown into merciless combat with Red Cloud’s coalition of Native tribes fighting American expansion into their hunting grounds. Amidst the daily carnage, Thomas finds a love that will lead to a moment of violence as brutal as any they have witnessed in battle—a moment that will change their lives forever. Blending intimate historical detail and emotional acuity, Wolves of Eden sets these four men on a deadly collision course in a haunting narrative that explores the cruelty of warfare and the resilience of the human spirit.

Book Title : Wolves of Eden
Author : Kevin McCarthy
Publisher : W. W. Norton
Release Date : 2019-11-05
Pages : 368
ISBN : 0393357600
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

1866. Dakota Territory. Red Cloud's coalition of tribes battles the U.S. Army to reclaim its hunting grounds in the Powder River Valley. Against this background, Wolves of Eden sets four men on a deadly collision course in a narrative that explores the cruelty of warfare, the power of love, and the resilience of the human spirit: Lieutenant Martin Molloy and his loyal orderly, sent West to investigate a triple murder at a frontier fort; and Irish immigrant brothers Thomas and Michael O'Driscoll, who survive the brutal front lines of the Civil War only to find themselves as both hunters and the hunted in another bloody campaign. Blending intimate historical detail and emotional acuity, Wolves of Eden firmly establishes Kevin McCarthy "in the companyof masters like Patrick O'Brian and Hilary Mantel" (Stephen Harrigan).

Book Title : Engineering Eden
Author : Jordan Fisher Smith
Publisher : Crown
Release Date : 2016-06-07
Pages : 384
ISBN : 9780307454287
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The fascinating story of a trial that opened a window onto the century-long battle to control nature in the national parks. When twenty-five-year-old Harry Walker was killed by a bear in Yellowstone Park in 1972, the civil trial prompted by his death became a proxy for bigger questions about American wilderness management that had been boiling for a century. At immediate issue was whether the Park Service should have done more to keep bears away from humans, but what was revealed as the trial unfolded was just how fruitless our efforts to regulate nature in the parks had always been. The proceedings drew to the witness stand some of the most important figures in twentieth century wilderness management, including the eminent zoologist A. Starker Leopold, who had produced a landmark conservationist document in the 1950s, and all-American twin researchers John and Frank Craighead, who ran groundbreaking bear studies at Yellowstone. Their testimony would help decide whether the government owed the Walker family restitution for Harry's death, but it would also illuminate decades of patchwork efforts to preserve an idea of nature that had never existed in the first place. In this remarkable excavation of American environmental history, nature writer and former park ranger Jordan Fisher Smith uses Harry Walker's story to tell the larger narrative of the futile, sometimes fatal, attempts to remake wilderness in the name of preserving it. Tracing a course from the founding of the national parks through the tangled twentieth-century growth of the conservationist movement, Smith gives the lie to the portrayal of national parks as Edenic wonderlands unspoiled until the arrival of Europeans, and shows how virtually every attempt to manage nature in the parks has only created cascading effects that require even more management. Moving across time and between Yellowstone, Yosemite, and Glacier national parks, Engineering Eden shows how efforts at wilderness management have always been undone by one fundamental problem--that the idea of what is "wild" dissolves as soon as we begin to examine it, leaving us with little framework to say what wilderness should look like and which human interventions are acceptable in trying to preserve it. In the tradition of John McPhee's The Control of Nature and Alan Burdick's Out of Eden, Jordan Fisher Smith has produced a powerful work of popular science and environmental history, grappling with critical issues that we have even now yet to resolve.

Book Title : Neanderthals and the Garden of Eden
Author :
Publisher : RW Richard
Release Date :
Pages :
ISBN : 9780980080407
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Book Title : Never Cry Wolf
Author : Cynthia Eden
Publisher : Kensington Publishing Corp.
Release Date : 2011-07-01
Pages : 336
ISBN : 0758272278
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Running With A Dangerous Crowd Lucas Simone is not the kind of guy you mess with. He's big, he's strong, and his eyes hint at a wilder side most women can't handle. Of course, that's because his predatory instincts are no metaphor-he's a genuine Grade-A top-quality werewolf, tough enough to fight his way to dominance over the scariest pack on the West Coast. There's only one chink in his armor. Unlike most alpha dogs, Lucas has a reputation for protecting the weak and innocent. Sarah King is counting on that protective impulse-it's the only thing standing between her and certain death. There are only two problems: one, she's not quite as innocent as she'd like Lucas to believe. And two, if he doesn't stop stoking Sarah's animal lust, it's only a matter of time before her own wild side gets unleashed. . . "A fast-paced, sexy thrill ride you won't want to miss. . .It hooked me from the first page." -Christine Feehan on Eternal Hunter "A wickedly unique voice in paranormal romance!" -Larissa Ione

Book Title : Eden West
Author : Pete Hautman
Publisher : Candlewick Press
Release Date : 2015-04-14
Pages : 320
ISBN : 9780763676902
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Tackling faith, doubt, and transformation, National Book Award winner Pete Hautman explores a boy’s unraveling allegiance to an insular cult. Twelve square miles of paradise, surrounded by an eight-foot-high chain-link fence: this is Nodd, the land of the Grace. It is all seventeen-year-old Jacob knows. Beyond the fence lies the World, a wicked, terrible place, doomed to destruction. When the Archangel Zerachiel descends from Heaven, only the Grace will be spared the horrors of the Apocalypse. But something is rotten in paradise. A wolf invades Nodd, slaughtering the Grace’s sheep. A new boy arrives from outside, and his scorn and disdain threaten to tarnish Jacob’s contentment. Then, while patrolling the borders of Nodd, Jacob meets Lynna, a girl from the adjoining ranch, who tempts him to sample the forbidden Worldly pleasures that lie beyond the fence. Jacob’s faith, his devotion, and his grip on reality are tested as his feelings for Lynna blossom into something greater and the End Days grow ever closer. Eden West is the story of two worlds, two hearts, the power of faith, and the resilience of the human spirit.

Book Title : Chernobyl s New Eden
Author : Ashley Ulrich
Publisher : CreateSpace
Release Date : 2013-09-12
Pages : 64
ISBN : 1491226811
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Will wolves survive the harsh elements of the Chernobyl fallout? In this 3 part series, the tale of two wolf packs is told.

Book Title : The Dome of Eden
Author : Stephen H. Webb
Publisher : Wipf and Stock Publishers
Release Date : 2010-01-01
Pages : 374
ISBN : 9781630874223
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

What would biology look like if it took the problem of natural evil seriously? This book argues that biological descriptions of evolution are inherently moral, just as the biblical story of creation has biological implications. A complete account of evolution will therefore require theological input. The Dome of Eden does not try to harmonize evolution and creation. Harmonizers typically begin with Darwinism and then try to add just enough religion to make evolution more palatable, or they begin with Genesis and pry open the creation account just wide enough to let in a little bit of evolution. By contrast, Stephen Webb provides a theory of how evolution and theology fit together, and he argues that this kind of theory is required by the internal demands of both theology and biology. The Dome of Eden also develops a theological account of evolution that is distinct from the intelligent design movement. Webb shows how intelligent design properly discerns the inescapable dimension of purpose in nature but, like Darwinism itself, fails to make sense of the problem of natural evil. Finally, this book draws on the work of Karl Barth to advance a new reading of the Genesis narrative and the theology of Duns Scotus to provide the necessary metaphysical foundation for evolutionary thought.

Book Title : Heal My Wolf Gay Romance
Author : Eden Cole
Publisher : Risky Ink
Release Date :
Pages :
ISBN :
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Brandt is sent off to scout out new land at Corey, his alpha's, command. But when he gets caught in a flash flood and his car overturns, he wakes up in the bed of one sexy man. Brandt is attracted right away to Tyr, a healer, and from the look of the tented pants, the feeling is mutual. There's one problem--Tyr is a forest cat shifter. Dogs and cats mating? Yeah, probably not. But neither man is willing to give up the chance to have the other, even if it lasts the few days that Brandt waits for the roads to clear. When a few nights in bed with Tyr aren't enough, Brandt invites him to come home with him. Gentle Tyr has been used to giving in to the stronger men around him, if only to keep the peace, but he's never met a man that makes him feel like Brandt does. One of his former lovers doesn't want to let him go, but Brandt is more than a match. Broken promises, misunderstandings, and heartache await the two of them at the fenrir homestead. Especially when Tyr using his healing abilities reveals what kind of shifter he is to the other wolves. Brandt must save Tyr's life and decide whether dogs and cats can be bonded mates, and make it all work out in the end. Search Terms: glbt, glbt romance, erotic romance, erotic stories, shifter romance, shapeshifter, werewolf romance, werewolf

Book Title : Wolf hunting and Wild Sport in Lower Brittany
Author : Edward William Lewis Davies
Publisher :
Release Date : 1875
Pages : 325
ISBN : NYPL:33433082491360
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS: