west with the night memoir online book

Book Title : Night
Author : Elie Wiesel
Publisher : Hill and Wang
Release Date : 2012-02-07
Pages : 144
ISBN : 9781466805361
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A New Translation From The French By Marion Wiesel Night is Elie Wiesel's masterpiece, a candid, horrific, and deeply poignant autobiographical account of his survival as a teenager in the Nazi death camps. This new translation by Marion Wiesel, Elie's wife and frequent translator, presents this seminal memoir in the language and spirit truest to the author's original intent. And in a substantive new preface, Elie reflects on the enduring importance of Night and his lifelong, passionate dedication to ensuring that the world never forgets man's capacity for inhumanity to man. Night offers much more than a litany of the daily terrors, everyday perversions, and rampant sadism at Auschwitz and Buchenwald; it also eloquently addresses many of the philosophical as well as personal questions implicit in any serious consideration of what the Holocaust was, what it meant, and what its legacy is and will be.

Book Title : Beryl Markham
Author : Hardmod Carlyle Nicolao
Publisher :
Release Date : 2012-01-15
Pages : 76
ISBN : 613962097X
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Please note that the content of this book primarily consists of articles available from Wikipedia or other free sources online. Beryl Markham was a British-born Kenyan aviatrix, adventurer, and racehorse trainer. During the pioneer days of aviation, she became the first person to fly solo across the Atlantic from east to west. She is now primarily remembered as the author of the memoir West with the Night. Markham was born Beryl Clutterbuck in the village of Ashwell, in the county of Rutland, England, the daughter of Charles Baldwin Clutterbuck and Clara Agnes Clutterbuck. She had an older brother, Richard Alexander Clutterbuck. When she was four years old, her father moved the family to Kenya, which was then British East Africa, purchasing a farm in Njoro near the Great Rift Valley. Although her mother disliked the isolation and promptly returned to England, Beryl stayed in Kenya with her father, where she spent an adventurous childhood learning, playing and hunting with the natives

Book Title : The Glass Castle
Author : Jeannette Walls
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Date : 2005-03-01
Pages : 288
ISBN : 9780743247535
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric, and severely misguided family.

Book Title : Bandit
Author : Molly Brodak
Publisher : Icon Books
Release Date : 2016-10-06
Pages : 288
ISBN : 9781785781049
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

'Raw, poetic and compulsively readable ... I can’t wait to buy a copy for everyone I know.' Kathryn Stockett, author of The Help The summer she turned thirteen, Molly Brodak’s father was arrested for robbing eleven banks. In time, the image she held of him would unravel further, as more and more unexpected facets of his personality came to light. Bandit is her attempt to discover what, exactly, is left, when the most fundamental relationship of your life turns out to have been built on falsehoods. It is also a scrupulously honest account of learning how to trust again, and to rebuild the very idea of family from scratch. Refusing to fence off the trickier sides of her father’s character, Brodak tries to find, through crystalline, spellbinding prose, a version of him that does not rely on the easy answers but allows him to be: an unknowable and incomprehensible whole – who is also her father. Unforgettable, moving, and utterly relatable, Bandit is a story of the unpredictable complexity of family.

Book Title : Contemporary World Fiction
Author : Juris Dilevko
Publisher : ABC-CLIO
Release Date : 2011
Pages : 526
ISBN : 9781591583530
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

This much-needed guide to translated literature offers readers the opportunity to hear from, learn about, and perhaps better understand our shrinking world from the perspective of insiders from many cultures and traditions. In a globalized world, knowledge about non-North American societies and cultures is a must. Contemporary World Fiction: A Guide to Literature in Translation provides an overview of the tremendous range and scope of translated world fiction available in English. In so doing, it will help readers get a sense of the vast world beyond North America that is conveyed by fiction titles from dozens of countries and language traditions. Within the guide, approximately 1,000 contemporary non-English-language fiction titles are fully annotated and thousands of others are listed. Organization is primarily by language, as language often reflects cultural cohesion better than national borders or geographies, but also by country and culture. In addition to contemporary titles, each chapter features a brief overview of earlier translated fiction from the group. The guide also provides in-depth bibliographic essays for each chapter that will enable librarians and library users to further explore the literature of numerous languages and cultural traditions. * Over 1,000 annotated contemporary world fiction titles, featuring author's name; title; translator; publisher and place of publication; genre/literary style/story type; an annotation; related works by the author; subject keywords; and original language * 9 introductory overviews about classic world fiction titles * Extensive bibliographical essays about fiction traditions in other countries * 5 indexes: annotated authors, annotated titles, translators, nations, and subjects/keywords

Book Title : Swimming in a Sea of Death
Author : David Rieff
Publisher : Melbourne Univ. Publishing
Release Date : 2008
Pages : 180
ISBN : 9780522855449
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Swimming in a Sea of Death is David Rieff's loving tribute to his mother, the writer Susan Sontag, and her final battle with cancer. Rieff's brave, passionate and unsparing witness of the last nine months of her life is both an intensely personal portrait of the relationship between a mother and a son, and a reflection on what it means to confront death in our culture. David Rieff confronts his feelings in relation to his motherandmdash;the guilt, the self-questioning, the sense of not having done enough. And he tries to understand what it means to desire so desperately, as his mother did to the end of her life, and to try almost anything in order to go on living.

Book Title : I Still Believe
Author : Jeremy Camp
Publisher : Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
Release Date : 2013-01-17
Pages : 224
ISBN : 9781414382609
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Christian recording artist Jeremy Camp has written songs that have touched millions of lives. His lyrics reveal a heart that’s been broken and a faith that has been tested and restored. In I Still Believe, Jeremy shares, with unflinching candor and emotion, the extraordinary story behind his award-winning lyrics–from his impoverished childhood, rebellious teenage years, and spiritual awakening at Bible College, to the tragic loss of his first wife, Melissa, to cancer and the heart-wrenching spiritual journey that followed–a journey that reignited Jeremy’s faith, inspired some of his most beloved songs, and paved the way for a second chance at love with his second wife, Adrienne. This memoir is a must-read for Jeremy Camp fans everywhere, and an inspiring, encouraging read for anyone who has ever experienced loss.

Book Title : Redlined
Author : Linda Gartz
Publisher : She Writes Press
Release Date : 2018-04-03
Pages : 256
ISBN : 9781631523212
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Set against the backdrop of the Civil Rights Movement, Redlined exposes the racist lending rules that refuse mortgages to anyone in areas with even one black resident. As blacks move deeper into Chicago’s West Side during the 1960s, whites flee by the thousands. But Linda Gartz’s parents, Fred and Lil choose to stay in their integrating neighborhood, overcoming previous prejudices as they meet and form friendships with their African American neighbors. The community sinks into increasing poverty and crime after two race riots destroy its once vibrant business district, but Fred and Lil continue to nurture their three apartment buildings and tenants for the next twenty years in a devastated landscape—even as their own relationship cracks and withers. After her parents’ deaths, Gartz discovers long-hidden letters, diaries, documents, and photos stashed in the attic of her former home. Determined to learn what forces shattered her parents’ marriage and undermined her community, she searches through the family archives and immerses herself in books on racial change in American neighborhoods. Told through the lens of Gartz’s discoveries of the personal and political, Redlined delivers a riveting story of a community fractured by racial turmoil, an unraveling and conflicted marriage, a daughter’s fight for sexual independence, and an up-close, intimate view of the racial and social upheavals of the 1960s.

Book Title : Memoirs
Author : Tennessee Williams
Publisher : New Directions Publishing
Release Date : 2006
Pages : 274
ISBN : 0811216691
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

For the "old crocodile," as Williams called himself late in life, the past was always present, and so it is with his continual shifting and intermingling of times, places, and memories as he weaves this story.

Book Title : The Names
Author : N. Scott Momaday
Publisher : University of Arizona Press
Release Date : 1987
Pages : 170
ISBN : 0816510466
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist recalls the significant events and ventures of his own life, his own land, and his own people, recreating his experiences as an American Indian and those of his relatives