wayward women macho men

Book Title : Wayward Women Macho Men
Author : Stephanie Ann Tangman
Publisher :
Release Date : 2017
Pages : 166
ISBN : OCLC:1054246345
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Language labels and defines in order to enhance meaning and communication, but through these labels and definitions speakers are also conditioned to associate certain connotations with words and, therefore, their referents. While often harmless, linguistic conditioning can at times create unsavory associations with these referents. One of these instances occurs in gendered labels and conceptions of male and female bodies and purpose. Both Yxta Maya Murray's Locas and Denise Chavez's Loving Pedro Infante can be read through a lens that applies linguistic conditioning with gender theory in order to examine the reinterpretation of female archetypes in the Chicana imagination. It is my assertion here that both authors utilize their characters' associations with these figures through representations of male/female and female/female gender binaries and ultimately call into question the linguistic construction of both the archetypes and Chicana women themselves.

Book Title : Unprotected Texts
Author : Jennifer Wright Knust
Publisher : Harper Collins
Release Date : 2011-01-25
Pages : 352
ISBN : 9780062010827
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

“An explosive, fascinating book that reveals how the Bible cannot be used as a rulebook when it comes to sex. A terrific read by a top scholar.” —Bart Ehrman, author of Misquoting Jesus Boston University’s cutting-edge religion scholar Jennifer Wright Knust reveals the Bible’s contradictory messages about sex in this thoughtful, riveting, and timely reexploration of the letter of the gospels. In the tradition of Bart Erhman’s Jesus Interrupted and John Shelby Spong’s Sins of Scripture, Knust’s Unprotected Texts liberates us from the pervasive moralizing—the fickle dos and don’ts—so often dictated by religious demagogues. Knust’s powerful reading offers a return to the scripture, away from the mere slogans to which it is so often reduced.

Book Title : Emerging Sexual Inequality Among the Lisu of Northern Thailand
Author : Otome Klein Hutheesing
Publisher : BRILL
Release Date : 1989-12-31
Pages : 217
ISBN : 9004090495
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The Lisu people, whose lives have been recorded in this publication, are predominantly women of a mountain community in northern Thailand. Along with their men, they have been growing poppies for opium for over a century, the sales of which have been sustained their non-authoritarian society and its implied repute ideology. While living with them for several years, the author observed how newly introduced substitute crops involving a change in production and trade relations had upset the previously egalitarian basis of female and male worth, as exemplified in the metaphor of elephant and dog. The modified gender system in which the Lisu female has become an underdog is described against the backdrop of conventional ideas regarding the cosmic forces, the division of labour, bridewealth and marriage.

Book Title : The Faces of Honor
Author : Lyman L. Johnson
Publisher : UNM Press
Release Date : 1998
Pages : 240
ISBN : 0826319068
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Honor was everywhere in Colonial Latin America, and to understand the many ways it had an impact on people's lives is to understand the organizing principles of a society.

Book Title : Women and the Gift
Author : Morny Joy
Publisher : Indiana University Press
Release Date : 2013-09-17
Pages : 244
ISBN : 9780253010339
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Recent inquiries into the concept of the gift have been largely male-dominated and thus have ignored important aspects of the gift from a woman’s point of view. In the light of philosophical work by Mauss, Lévi-Strauss, Derrida, and Bataille, Women and the Gift reflects how women respond to the notion of the gift and relationships of giving. This collection evaluates and critiques previous work on the gift and also responds to how women view care, fidelity, generosity, trust, and independence in light of the gift.

Book Title : Frau Lou
Author : Rudolph Binion
Publisher : Princeton University Press
Release Date : 2015-03-08
Pages : 602
ISBN : 9781400872190
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The rich and fascinating life of Lou Andreas-Salomé (1861-1937) has been reconstructed by Professor Binion on a vast documentary basis, and his findings contradict all earlier versions of her life. Frau Lou was a woman of prodigious intellect, a woman of letters, and a powerful personality. She was closely linked with many of the great cultural figures of the time, often before they achieved recognition. This was the case with Nietzsche, Rilke, Freud, Ferdinand Tönnies, Gerhart Hauptmann, Arthur Schnitzler, and Martin Buber. Frau Lou not only relates but interprets Lou's life, and the point of the book is to discover how the works of the mind, whether scientific or imaginative, arise out of personal experience. Contents: I. Father and Father-God. II. God's Vicar, Gillot. III. After Gillot. IV. The Unholy Trinity. V. From Pillar to Post. VI. "A Pity Forever." VII. Lou Without Nietzsche. VIII. The Wayward Disciple. IX. Rites of Love. X. Super-Lou and Raincr. XI. Russia In, Raincr Out. XII. Idly Busy. XIII. At Freud's Elbow. XIV. A Personalized Freudianism. XV. Theorizing for Freud. XVI. Living for Freud. XVII. Aside from Freud. XVIII. Revamping the Past. XIX. "Homecoming." XX. A Retrospect. XXI. Beyond Frau Lou. Bibliography. Index. Originally published in 1968. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.

Book Title : The Anthropology of Sex
Author : Hastings Donnan
Publisher : Berg
Release Date : 2010-08-01
Pages : 224
ISBN : 9781847887627
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Sex scholarship has a long history in anthropology, from the studies of voyeuristic Victorian gentlemen ethnographers, to more recent analyses of gay sex, transsexualism, and the newly visible forms of contemporary sexuality in the West. The Anthropology of Sex draws on the comparative field research of anthropologists to examine the relationship between sex as identity, practice and experience. Sexual cultures vary enormously and, while often the topic of tabloid titillation, they are more rarely subjected to strict cultural analysis. The Anthropology of Sex is the first work to critically synthesise over a century of comparative expertise, knowledge and understanding of diverse sexual forms. - Explores sexuality from diversity to perversity and asks how diverse sexual practices are linked. - Probes the cultural and comparative context of contemporary sexual practice and belief. - Examines the shaping of sex by global and globalizing forces. The Anthropology of Sex will be key reading for undergraduate and postgraduate courses in anthropology and related disciplines.

Book Title : Medical Aspects of Human Sexuality
Author :
Publisher :
Release Date : 1981
Pages :
ISBN : UCLA:31158008010182
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Book Title : The Wayward Preacher in the Literature of African American Women
Author : James Robert Saunders
Publisher : McFarland & Company Incorporated Pub
Release Date : 1995
Pages : 169
ISBN : UOM:39015034038250
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

In African American culture the preacher has traditionally held many roles: minister of faith, orator, politician, idealist, and most importantly, leader. But the preacher was also traditionally male, and in many ways this advanced the perception that African American women were incapable of questioning the authority of black men. Nella Larsen, Zora Neale Hurston, Paule Marshall, Gloria Naylor, and Terry McMillan wrote of flawed African American preachers, empowering their female characters by exposing the notion of the black preacher as beyond reproach. The writings of these five women warn African American women--and society as a whole--of the power of the religious functionaries who insist that the self must be virtually obliterated in order for salvation to be attained.

Book Title : The Journal of Psychohistory
Author :
Publisher :
Release Date : 1993
Pages :
ISBN : UVA:X002553246
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS: