the zookeepers wife

The Zookeeper S Wife
Author: Diane Ackerman
Publisher:
Release Date: 2013
Pages: 368
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

When Germany invades Poland, Luftwaffe bombers devastate Warsaw and the city's zoo along with it. With most of their animals killed, or stolen away to Berlin, zookeepers Jan and Antonina Zabinski begin smuggling Jews into the empty cages. As the war escalates Jan becomes increasingly involved in the anti-Nazi resistance. Ammunition is buried in the elephant enclosure and explosives stored in the animal hospital. Plans are prepared for what will become the Warsaw uprising. Through the ever-present fear of discovery, Antonina must keep her unusual household afloat, caring for both its human and animal inhabitants - otters, a badger, hyena pups, lynxes - as Europe crumbles around them. Written with the narrative drive and emotional punch of a novel, The Zookeeper's Wife is a remarkable true story. It shows us the human and personal impact of war - of life in the Warsaw Ghetto, of fighting in the anti-Nazi resistance. But more than anything it is a story of decency and sacrifice triumphing over terror and oppression. Jan and Antonina saved over 300 people from the death camps of the Holocaust. It has already been acclaimed by Jonathan Safran Foer: 'I can't imagine a better story or storyteller. The Zookeeper's Wife will touch every nerve you have.'

The Zookeeper S Wife
Author: Diane Ackerman
Publisher: Hachette UK
Release Date: 2013-05-09
Pages: 308
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

In war-torn Warsaw, a zookeeper and his wife refuse to surrender... Now a major motion picture starring Jessica Chastain and Daniel Brühl, Diane Ackerman's The Zookeeper's Wife is based on a remarkable true story of bravery and sanctuary during World War II. Perfect for fans of Lion and Hidden Figures. 'I can't imagine a better story or storyteller. The Zookeeper's Wife will touch every nerve you have' -Jonathan Safran Foer, author of Everything is Illuminated When Germany invades Poland, Luftwaffe bombers devastate Warsaw and the city's zoo along with it. With most of their animals killed, or stolen away to Berlin, zookeepers Jan and Antonina Zabinski begin smuggling Jews into the empty cages. As the war escalates Jan becomes increasingly involved in the anti-Nazi resistance. Ammunition is buried in the elephant enclosure and explosives stored in the animal hospital. Plans are prepared for what will become the Warsaw uprising. Through the ever-present fear of discovery, Antonina must keep her unusual household afloat, caring for both its human and animal inhabitants - otters, a badger, hyena pups, lynxes - as Europe crumbles around them. Written with the narrative drive and emotional punch of a novel, The Zookeeper's Wife is a remarkable true story. It shows us the human and personal impact of war - of life in the Warsaw Ghetto, of fighting in the anti-Nazi resistance. But more than anything it is a story of decency and sacrifice triumphing over terror and oppression. What readers are saying about The Zookeeper's Wife: 'Beautifully and sensitively written - a must read' 'An adventure that inspires' 'Both horrifying and endearing on a scale I've not experienced in years' 'A story that will haunt you forever' 'Haunting, life affirming, sad, and inspiring'

Summary And Analysis Of The Zookeeper S Wife  A War Story
Author: Worth Books
Publisher: Open Road Media
Release Date: 2017-04-04
Pages: 30
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

So much to read, so little time? This brief overview of The Zookeeper’s Wife tells you what you need to know—before or after you read Diane Ackerman’s book. Crafted and edited with care, Worth Books set the standard for quality and give you the tools you need to be a well-informed reader. This short summary and analysis of The Zookeeper’s Wife includes: Historical context Chapter-by-chapter overviews Profiles of the main characters Detailed timeline of key events Important quotes Fascinating trivia Glossary of terms Supporting material to enhance your understanding of the original work About The Zookeeper’s Wife: A War Story by Diane Ackerman: The Zookeeper’s Wife is the story of two unsung heroes of World War II: Jan and Antonina Żabiński, Polish zookeepers who risked their lives to rescue Jews from death at the hands of the Nazis. The heroic couple hid more than three hundred fugitives in their home and in the empty animal cages of the Warsaw Zoo. Diane Ackerman vividly evokes the extreme brutality and heroism that defined WWII-era Poland. The Zookeeper’s Wife is a testament to the bravery of those who resisted tyranny through radical compassion. The summary and analysis in this ebook are intended to complement your reading experience and bring you closer to a great work of nonfiction.

The Zookeeper S Wife  A War Story  Movie Tie In   Movie Tie In Editions
Author: Diane Ackerman
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Release Date: 2017-02-07
Pages: 384
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The movie The Zookeeper’s Wife, based on the New York Times bestselling book, opens March 2017. 1939: the Germans have invaded Poland. The keepers of the Warsaw zoo, Jan and Antonina Zabinski, survive the bombardment of the city, only to see the occupiers ruthlessly kill many of their animals. The Nazis then carry off the prized specimens to Berlin for their program to create the “purest” breeds, much as they saw themselves as the purest human race. Opposed to all the Nazis represented, the Zabinskis risked their lives by hiding Jews in the now-empty animal cages, saving as many as three hundred people from extermination. Acclaimed, best-selling author Diane Ackerman, fascinated both by the Zabinskis’ courage and by Antonina’s incredible sensitivity to all living beings, tells a moving and dramatic story of the power of empathy and the strength of love. A Focus Features release, it is directed by Niki Caro, written by Angela Workman.

Uncorrected Proof
Author: Diane Ackerman
Publisher:
Release Date: 2007
Pages: 323
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The true story of how the keepers of the Warsaw Zoo saved hundreds of people from Nazi hands. When Germany invaded Poland, Stuka bombers devastated Warsaw--and the city's zoo along with it. With most of their animals dead, zookeepers Jan and Antonina Żabiński began smuggling Jews into empty cages. Another dozen "guests" hid inside the Żabińskis' villa, emerging after dark for dinner, socializing, and, during rare moments of calm, piano concerts. Jan, active in the Polish resistance, kept ammunition buried in the elephant enclosure and stashed explosives in the animal hospital. Meanwhile, Antonina kept her unusual household afloat, caring for both its human and its animal inhabitants--otters, a badger, hyena pups, lynxes--and keeping alive an atmosphere of play and innocence even as Europe crumbled around her.--From publisher description.

Notes On Diane Ackerman   S The Zookeeper   S Wife By Instaread
Author: Instaread
Publisher: Instaread
Release Date: 2017-03-22
Pages: 21
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Hidden Jews In The Warsaw Zoo
Author: A. Book A Book by Me
Publisher: CreateSpace
Release Date: 2015-08-04
Pages: 24
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Die armen, armen Kinder! Sie werden im Wald ausgesetzt, weil ihre Eltern trotz harter Arbeit nicht in der Lage sind, für sie zu sorgen. Doch die Kleinen wissen sich zu helfen. Am Ende kommen sie reich nach Haus zurück.Das weltbekannte Märchen wird in diesem wunderschönen Bilderbuch in voller Länge als Ballade nacherzählt.

A House Under A Crazy Star
Author: Aaron Teves
Publisher:
Release Date: 2016
Pages: 30
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

An artists' book inspired by the non-fiction book "The Zookeeper's Wife" by Diane Ackerman, which tells the story of Jan Żabiński, zookeeper of the Warsaw Zoo in Poland through the second World War. Following Warsaw's bombing and the destruction of much of the zoo, Jan, and his wife, Antonina Żabińska, saved the lives of over 300 Jews by smuggling them out of the Warsaw Ghetto and hiding them in places throughout remaining parts of the zoo and in their the villa. The Jews were kept safe in the zoo until they were given fake identities, and escaped out of Poland. This artists' book portrays the stories of the people and animals who lived together and found safety in the Warsaw Zoo, or as the Żabiński's called it "The House Under a Crazy Star."

The Zookeeper S Christmas Eve
Author: Nancy Middleton
Publisher: Strategic Book Publishing
Release Date: 2009-01-01
Pages: 36
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

As the zookeeper makes final rounds on Christmas Eve, all the animals begin to stir and make quite a lot of commotion. The zookeeper does his best to restore order, but gradually things get so out of hand that a surprising person is needed to restore calm to what should be a tranquil night.

Children S Literature And Learner Empowerment
Author: Janice Bland
Publisher: A&C Black
Release Date: 2013-07-22
Pages: 344
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Children's literature can be a powerful way to encourage and empower EFL students but is less commonly used in the classroom than adult literature. This text provides a comprehensive introduction to children's and young adult literature in EFL teaching. It demonstrates the complexity of children's literature and how it can encourage an active community of second language readers: with multilayered picturebooks, fairy tales, graphic novels and radical young adult fiction. It examines the opportunities of children's literature in EFL teacher education, including: the intertexuality of children's literature as a gate-opener for canonised adult literature; the rich patterning of children's literature supporting Creative Writing; the potential of interactive drama projects. Close readings of texts at the centre of contemporary literary scholarship, yet largely unknown in the EFL world, provide an invaluable guide for teacher educators and student teachers, including works by David Almond, Anthony Browne, Philip Pullman and J.K.Rowling. Introducing a range of genres and their significance for EFL teaching, this study makes an important new approach accessible for EFL teachers, student teachers and teacher educators.