the tattooist of auschwitz

Book Title : The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Author : Heather Morris
Publisher : HarperCollins
Release Date : 2018-09-04
Pages : 288
ISBN : 9780062797162
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The #1 International Bestseller & New York Times Bestseller This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity. “The Tattooist of Auschwitz is an extraordinary document, a story about the extremes of human behavior existing side by side: calculated brutality alongside impulsive and selfless acts of love. I find it hard to imagine anyone who would not be drawn in, confronted and moved. I would recommend it unreservedly to anyone, whether they’d read a hundred Holocaust stories or none.”—Graeme Simsion, internationally-bestselling author of The Rosie Project In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners. Imprisoned for over two and a half years, Lale witnesses horrific atrocities and barbarism—but also incredible acts of bravery and compassion. Risking his own life, he uses his privileged position to exchange jewels and money from murdered Jews for food to keep his fellow prisoners alive. One day in July 1942, Lale, prisoner 32407, comforts a trembling young woman waiting in line to have the number 34902 tattooed onto her arm. Her name is Gita, and in that first encounter, Lale vows to somehow survive the camp and marry her. A vivid, harrowing, and ultimately hopeful re-creation of Lale Sokolov's experiences as the man who tattooed the arms of thousands of prisoners with what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust, The Tattooist of Auschwitz is also a testament to the endurance of love and humanity under the darkest possible conditions.

Book Title : The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Author : Heather Morris
Publisher : Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
Release Date : 2018-01-11
Pages : 368
ISBN : 9781785763663
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances. I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart. In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust. Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too. So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz. ----- 'Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . I recommend it unreservedly' Greame Simsion 'A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war . . . It's a triumph.' Jill Mansell 'A sincere . . . moving attempt to speak the unspeakable' Sunday Times

Book Title : Cilka s Journey
Author : Heather Morris
Publisher : Bonnier Zaffre Ltd.
Release Date : 2019-10-03
Pages : 400
ISBN : 9781785769061
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Her beauty saved her life - and condemned her. Cilka is just sixteen years old when she is taken to Auschwitz-Birkenau Concentration Camp, in 1942. The Commandant at Birkenau, Schwarzhuber, notices her long beautiful hair, and forces her separation from the other women prisoners. Cilka learns quickly that power, even unwillingly given, equals survival. After liberation, Cilka is charged as a collaborator for sleeping with the enemy and sent to Siberia. But what choice did she have? And where did the lines of morality lie for Cilka, who was sent to Auschwitz when still a child? In a Siberian prison camp, Cilka faces challenges both new and horribly familiar, including the unwanted attention of the guards. But when she makes an impression on a woman doctor, Cilka is taken under her wing. Cilka begins to tend to the ill in the camp, struggling to care for them under brutal conditions. Cilka finds endless resources within herself as she daily confronts death and faces terror. And when she nurses a man called Ivan, Cilka finds that despite everything that has happened to her, there is room in her heart for love. 'She was the bravest person I ever met' Lale Sokolov, The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Book Title : Reading Guide to the Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris
Author : Kevin Mahoney
Publisher : Punked Books
Release Date : 2019-03-27
Pages :
ISBN : 9781908375377
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

This is a fully illustrated reading guide to Heather Morris's bestselling novel The Tatooist of Auschwitz. Although presented as a novel, Lale Sokolov's story contains important eyewitness testimony that has previously not been documented about in other histories of Auschwitz. Kevin Mahoney explains the historical significance of the novel's events.

Book Title : Summary Heather Morris the Tattooist of Auschwitz A Novel
Author : Sarah Fields
Publisher : Blurb
Release Date : 2019-02-16
Pages : 58
ISBN : 0368266966
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The #1 New York Times bestselling book The Tattooist of Auschwitz is also an international bestseller. This beautiful novel is about the courage and hope that illuminates from an unforgettable true love story. The year was 1942, Lale was a Slovakian Jew and he was forced to enter the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discovered his talents, he became the official tattooist of the camps. In July that year, he met a trembling young woman whom he comforted as she got her number tattooed on her arm. Lale promised this young woman Gita that they will survive the camp and when they do, he will marry her. Author Heather Morris based The Tattooist of Auschwitz on the interviews with the tattooist of Auschwitz-Birkenau Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov In this comprehensive look into The Tattooist of Auschwitz: A Novel by Heather Morris, you'll gain insight with this essential resource as a guide to aid your discussions. Be prepared to lead with the following: More than 60 "done-for-you" discussion prompts available Discussion aid which includes a wealth of information and prompts Overall brief plot synopsis and author biography as refreshers Thought-provoking questions made for deeper examinations Creative exercises to foster alternate "if this was you" discussions And more! Please Note: This is a companion guide based on the work The Tattooist of Auschwitz: A Novel by Heather Morris not affiliated to the original work or author in any way and does not contain any text of the original work. Please purchase or read the original work first.

Book Title : The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Author : Heather Morris (Screenwriter)
Publisher :
Release Date : 2018-02
Pages : 304
ISBN : 1760403172
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The incredible story of the Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist and the woman he loved. Lale Sokolov is well-dressed, a charmer, a ladies' man. He is also a Jew. On the first transport of men from Slovakia to Auschwitz in 1942, Lale immediately stands out to his fellow prisoners. In the camp, he is looked up to, looked out for, and put to work in the privileged position of TStowierer the tattooist to mark his fellow prisoners, forever. One of them is a young woman, Gita who steals his heart at first glance. His life given new purpose, Lale does his best through the struggle and suffering to use his position for good. This story, full of beauty and hope, is based on years of interviews author Heather Morris conducted with real-life Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov. It is heart-wrenching, illuminating, and unforgettable.

Book Title : The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Author : Heather Morris
Publisher :
Release Date : 2018
Pages : 304
ISBN : 1785763644
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

"The incredible story of the Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist and the woman he loved. Lale Sokolov is well-dressed, a charmer, a ladies' man. He is also a Jew. On the first transport from Slovakia to Auschwitz in 1942, Lale immediately stands out to his fellow prisoners. In the camp, he is looked up to, looked out for, and put to work in the privileged position of Tätowierer- the tattooist - to mark his fellow prisoners, forever. One of them is a young woman, Gita, who steals his heart at first glance. His life given new purpose, Lale does his best through the struggle and suffering to use his position for good. This story, full of beauty and hope, is based on years of interviews author Heather Morris conducted with real-life Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov. It is heart-wrenching, illuminating, and unforgettable"--Publisher description.

Book Title : The Tattooist of Auschwitz YA Edition
Author : Heather Morris
Publisher :
Release Date : 2019-06-03
Pages : 352
ISBN : 1760686034
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The young adult edition of the incredible international number one bestseller.

Book Title : Summary of The Tattooist of Auschwitz A Novel
Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
Pages :
ISBN :
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Book Title : The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris
Author : Khadija Caffoor
Publisher :
Release Date : 2019
Pages : 11
ISBN : OCLC:1090299798
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS: