the splendid and the vile

The Splendid And The Vile
Author: Erik Larson
Publisher: Crown
Release Date: 2020-02-25
Pages: 608
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The author of The Devil in the White City and Dead Wake delivers a fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz “Churchill’s lessons of resilience and his style of steady-handed leadership are essential to the state of mind of American readers.”—Vanity Fair “A bravura performance by one of America’s greatest storytellers.”—NPR On Winston Churchill’s first day as prime minister, Adolf Hitler invaded Holland and Belgium. Poland and Czechoslovakia had already fallen, and the Dunkirk evacuation was just two weeks away. For the next twelve months, Hitler would wage a relentless bombing campaign, killing 45,000 Britons. It was up to Churchill to hold his country together and persuade President Franklin Roosevelt that Britain was a worthy ally—and willing to fight to the end. In The Splendid and the Vile, Erik Larson shows, in cinematic detail, how Churchill taught the British people “the art of being fearless.” It is a story of political brinkmanship, but it’s also an intimate domestic drama, set against the backdrop of Churchill’s prime-ministerial country home, Chequers; his wartime retreat, Ditchley, where he and his entourage go when the moon is brightest and the bombing threat is highest; and of course 10 Downing Street in London. Drawing on diaries, original archival documents, and once-secret intelligence reports—some released only recently—Larson provides a new lens on London’s darkest year through the day-to-day experience of Churchill and his family: his wife, Clementine; their youngest daughter, Mary, who chafes against her parents’ wartime protectiveness; their son, Randolph, and his beautiful, unhappy wife, Pamela; Pamela’s illicit lover, a dashing American emissary; and the advisers in Churchill’s “Secret Circle,” to whom he turns in the hardest moments. The Splendid and the Vile takes readers out of today’s political dysfunction and back to a time of true leadership, when, in the face of unrelenting horror, Churchill’s eloquence, courage, and perseverance bound a country, and a family, together.

Seven Days In May
Author: Kim Izzo
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: 2017-04-25
Pages: 320
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

For readers of Kate Williams, Beatriz Williams and Jennifer Robson, a captivating novel of love and resilience during the Great War, inspired by the author’s family history. As the First World War rages in continental Europe, two New York heiresses, Sydney and Brooke Sinclair, are due to set sail for England. Brooke is engaged to marry impoverished aristocrat Edward Thorpe-Tracey, the future Lord Northbrook, in the wedding of the social calendar. Sydney has other adventures in mind; she is drawn to the burgeoning suffragette movement, which is a constant source of embarrassment to her proper sister. As international tempers flare, the German embassy releases a warning that any ships making the Atlantic crossing are at risk. Undaunted, Sydney and Brooke board the Lusitania for the seven-day voyage with Edward, not knowing that disaster lies ahead. In London, Isabel Nelson, a young woman grateful to have escaped her blemished reputation in Oxford, has found employment at the British Admiralty in the mysterious Room 40. While she begins as a secretary, it isn’t long before her skills in codes and cyphers are called on, and she learns a devastating truth and the true cost of war. As the days of the voyage pass, these four lives collide in a struggle for survival as the Lusitania meets its deadly fate.

The Splendid Shilling
Author: John Philips
Publisher:
Release Date: 1719
Pages: 8
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The Splendid Spur
Author: A. T. Quiller Couch
Publisher: Wildside Press LLC
Release Date: 2007-09-01
Pages: 336
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Sir Arthur Thomas Quiller-Couch 1863-1944) was a Cornish writer who published under the pen name of Q. Born at Bodmin in Cornwall, he was educated at Newton Abbot College, at Clifton College, and Trinity College, Oxford and later became a lecturer there.

The Splendid Seven
Author: Lakeya Geneene Mitchell
Publisher: Lulu.com
Release Date:
Pages:
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The Splendid Village
Author: Ebenezer Elliott
Publisher:
Release Date: 1844
Pages: 284
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The Splendid Shilling  Etc  With A Titlepage Bearing The Imprint  J  James  London  1762
Author: John Philips
Publisher:
Release Date: 1771
Pages:
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Elliott S Poems  The Splendid Village  Corn Law Rhymes  And Other Poems
Author: Ebenezer Elliott
Publisher:
Release Date: 1834
Pages:
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Churchill S Hellraisers
Author: Damien Lewis
Publisher: Citadel Press
Release Date: 2020-08-25
Pages: 400
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Perfect for fans of Erik Larsen’s The Splendid and Vile and Alex Kershaw’s The Forgotten 500, #1 international bestselling and award-winning war reporter Damien Lewis’ latest book details the thrilling account of one of the most daring raids of WWII—the untold story of the heroic hellraisers who stormed a Nazi fortress and helped turn the tide of the war. Bracingly tense, brilliantly researched, and truly unforgettable, Churchill’s Hellraisers is a must-have for every World War II library. It is the winter of 1944. Allied forces have succeeded in liberating most of Axis-occupied Italy—with one crucial exception: the Nazi headquarters north of the Gothic Line. Heavily guarded and surrounded by rugged terrain, the mountain fortress is nearly impenetrable. But British Prime Minister Winston Churchill is determined to drive a dagger into the “soft underbelly of Europe.” The Allied’s plan: drop two paratroopers into the mountains—and take the fortress by storm . . . The two brave men knew the risks involved, so they recruited an equally fearless team: Italian resistance fighters, escaped POWs, downed US airmen, even a bagpipe-playing Scotsman known as “The Mad Piper.” Some had little military training, but all were willing to fight to the death to defeat the Nazi enemy. Ultimately, the mission that began in broad daylight, in the enemy’s line of fire, would end one of the darkest chapters in history—through the courage and conviction of the unsung heroes who dared the impossible . . . “One of the most dangerous and effective attacks ever undertaken by this Regiment against the enemy.” —Lt Col Robert Walker‐Brown, MBE DSO, senior SAS commander “Action-packed…Battleground history buffs will be entertained.” —Publishers Weekly “A little-known behind-the-lines spectacular led by two heroic British officers. Successful niche military history for a popular audience.” —Kirkus Reviews

Churchill S Shadow Raiders
Author: Damien Lewis
Publisher: Citadel Press
Release Date: 2020-04-28
Pages: 416
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

From award-winning war reporter Damien Lewis comes a blistering account of one of the most daring raids of WWII--and the top-secret weapon that changed the course of history . . . In the winter of 1941, as Britain faced defeat on all fronts, an RAF reconnaissance pilot photographed an alien-looking object on the French coast near Le Havre. The mysterious device--a "Wurzburg Dish"--appeared to be a new form of radar technology: ultra-compact, highly precise, and pointed directly across the English Channel. Britain's experts found it hard to believe the Germans had mastered such groundbreaking technology. But one young technician thought it not only possible, he convinced Winston Churchill that the dish posed a unique and deadly threat to Allied forces, one that required desperate measures--and drastic action . . . So was launched Operation Biting, a mission like no other. An extraordinary "snatch-and-grab" raid on Germany's secret radar installation, it offered Churchill's elite airborne force, the Special Air Service, a rare opportunity to redeem themselves after a previous failed mission--and to shift the tides of war forever. Led by the legendary Major John Frost, these brave paratroopers would risk all in a daring airborne assault, with only a small stretch of beach menaced by enemy guns as their exit point. With the help of a volunteer radar technician who knew how to dismantle the dish, as well as the courageous men and women of the French Resistance, they succeeded against all odds in their act of brazen robbery. Some would die. Others would be captured. All fought with resolute bravery . . . This is the story of that fateful night of February 27, 1942. A brilliantly told, thrillingly tense account of Churchill's raiders in their finest hour, this is World War II history at its heart-stopping best.