the ragged edge of night

Book Title : The Ragged Edge of Night
Author : Olivia Hawker
Publisher : Lake Union Publishing
Release Date : 2018-10
Pages :
ISBN : 1503900908
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See, Beneath a Scarlet Sky, and The Nightingale comes an emotionally gripping, beautifully written historical novel about extraordinary hope, redemption, and one man's search for light during the darkest times of World War II. Germany, 1942. Franciscan friar Anton Starzmann is stripped of his place in the world when his school is seized by the Nazis. He relocates to a small German hamlet to wed Elisabeth Herter, a widow who seeks a marriage--in name only--to a man who can help raise her three children. Anton seeks something too--atonement for failing to protect his young students from the wrath of the Nazis. But neither he nor Elisabeth expects their lives to be shaken once again by the inescapable rumble of war. As Anton struggles to adapt to the roles of husband and father, he learns of the Red Orchestra, an underground network of resisters plotting to assassinate Hitler. Despite Elisabeth's reservations, Anton joins this army of shadows. But when the SS discovers his schemes, Anton will embark on a final act of defiance that may cost him his life--even if it means saying goodbye to the family he has come to love more than he ever believed possible.

Book Title : Diary of Thoughts
Author : Summary Express
Publisher :
Release Date : 2019-07-20
Pages : 102
ISBN : 1081743700
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Diary of Thoughts: The Ragged Edge of Night by Olivia Hawker - A Journal for Your Thoughts About the Book is a journal designed for note-taking, designed and produced by Summary Express. With blank, lined pages in a simplistic yet elegant design, this journal is perfect for recording notes, thoughts, opinions, and takeaways in real-time as you read. Divided into sections and parts for easy reference, this journal helps you keep your thoughts organized. Disclaimer Notice This is a unofficial journal book and not the original book.

Book Title : One for the Blackbird One for the Crow
Author : Olivia Hawker
Publisher : Lake Union Publishing
Release Date : 2019-10-08
Pages : 496
ISBN : 1542091144
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

From the bestselling author of The Ragged Edge of Night comes a powerful and poetic novel of survival and sacrifice on the American frontier. Wyoming, 1876. For as long as they have lived on the frontier, the Bemis and Webber families have relied on each other. With no other settlers for miles, it is a matter of survival. But when Ernest Bemis finds his wife, Cora, in a compromising situation with their neighbor, he doesn't think of survival. In one impulsive moment, a man is dead, Ernest is off to prison, and the women left behind are divided by rage and remorse. Losing her husband to Cora's indiscretion is another hardship for stoic Nettie Mae. But as a brutal Wyoming winter bears down, Cora and Nettie Mae have no choice but to come together as one family--to share the duties of working the land and raising their children. There's Nettie Mae's son, Clyde--no longer a boy, but not yet a man--who must navigate the road to adulthood without a father to guide him, and Cora's daughter, Beulah, who is as wild and untamable as her prairie home. Bound by the uncommon threads in their lives and the challenges that lie ahead, Cora and Nettie Mae begin to forge an unexpected sisterhood. But when a love blossoms between Clyde and Beulah, bonds are once again tested, and these two resilient women must finally decide whether they can learn to trust each other--or else risk losing everything they hold dear.

Book Title : The Ragged Edge
Author : Harold MacGrath
Publisher : tredition
Release Date : 2012-02-07
Pages : 233
ISBN : 9783847203506
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

This book is part of the TREDITION CLASSICS series. The creators of this series are united by passion for literature and driven by the intention of making all public domain books available in printed format again - worldwide. At tredition we believe that a great book never goes out of style. Several mostly non-profit literature projects provide content to tredition. To support their good work, tredition donates a portion of the proceeds from each sold copy. As a reader of a TREDITION CLASSICS book, you support our mission to save many of the amazing works of world literature from oblivion.

Book Title : The Ragged Edge
Author : Richard Nisley
Publisher :
Release Date : 1999
Pages : 316
ISBN : 1585004952
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

"Mutt" is all about the journey rather than the goal to find an elusive little village. The stories focus on people, places and the events that took place along the way - seasoned with short travelogues for the full effect of travel - in a region struggling to find its' own place in new Europe. If a paragraph could sum up the value of travel in a few short sentences, I would qualify this one from one of my stories called "Vladimir of L'viv." "These six days in Ukraine were among the most memorable and precious moments in my entire life. I've had great experiences in many countries around the world, but the kindness thrust my way by Vladimir, Dariya, Marian, Marianne and of course Miroslav, would remain etched in my memory forever. If grandfather were alive, he too would be proud and likely boast, 'Of course, what did you expect? We are Ukrainian, the greatest people in the world!' 'Da,' I would say in agreement and this time, not just to please him. I climbed into the wagon and searched for my seat, praying to my god the compartment was not full this night, just to get a little sleep. Oh my God! It was a first-class single bed cabin. My god must be Eastern European because my guardian angels certainly were."

Book Title : On the Ragged Edge of the World
Author : Jamie Craig
Publisher : JMS Books LLC
Release Date : 2019-10-30
Pages : 100
ISBN : 9781646561261
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Argenti agent Darren Sumner spent fifteen years hunting werewolves, but one night of betrayal sent him from his family of assassins into the arms of werewolf Aden Richter. Neither can deny their passion nor their hunger for the other, but as Darren tries to find his place in this new world, he wonders whether desire can be enough. Rumors of an upcoming power struggle between the packs in Washington, DC, bring the question of Darren's role to the forefront. Is he Aden's partner and a leader of the pack? Or is he nothing more than Aden's boytoy, placed outside his family? Darren struggles to prove himself as the tensions between the packs mount and Aden's ex-lover puts a plan of vengeance into action.

Book Title : The Ragged Edge of Silence
Author : John Francis, Ph.D.
Publisher : National Geographic Books
Release Date : 2011-03-15
Pages : 272
ISBN : 9781426207389
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

By the author of Planetwalker, The Ragged Edge of Silence takes us to another level of appreciating, through silence, the beauty of the planet and our place in it. John Francis's real and compelling prose forms a tapestry of questions and answers woven from interviews, stories, personal experience, science, and the power of silence through history, including practice by Native American, Hindu, and Buddhist cultures. Through their time-honored traditions and his own experience of communicating silently for 17 years, Francis's practical exercises lay the groundwork for the reader to build constructive silence into everyday life: to learn more about oneself, to set goals and accomplish dreams, to build strong relationships, and to appreciate and be a steward of the Earth. With its amazing human interest element and first-person expertise, this book is energizing and universally instructive.

Book Title : The Ragged Edge Annotated
Author : Harold Macgrath
Publisher :
Release Date : 2020-05-15
Pages : 210
ISBN : 9798646169243
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

When Howard Spurlock stole money from his uncle, he fled to the South Seas to escape imprisonment. When got there, he found himself drinking day and night to deal with the guilt of his circumstance -- he drank himself so ill, in fact, that he needed medical attention. He got it from a missionary's daughter -- and ended up marrying her. And then a change came on him, as it comes on so many men who settle down: he changed his ways and found legitimate work with a doctor in order to provide for his new family. Each day, he worried that his past would catch up with him. Could he somehow escape his fate? Or would he be doomed to destroy all that he loved. . . ?

Book Title : The Ragged Edge of the World
Author : Eugene Linden
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date : 2011-03-17
Pages : 272
ISBN : 9781101476130
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A pioneering work of environmental journalism that vividly depicts the people, animals and landscapes on the front lines of change's inexorable march. A species nearing extinction, a tribe losing centuries of knowledge, a tract of forest facing the first incursion of humans-how can we even begin to assess the cost of losing so much of our natural and cultural legacy? For forty years, environmental journalist and author Eugene Linden has traveled to the very sites where tradition, wildlands and the various forces of modernity collide. In The Ragged Edge of the World, he takes us from pygmy forests to the Antarctic to the world's most pristine rainforest in the Congo to tell the story of the harm taking place-and the successful preservation efforts-in the world's last wild places. The Ragged Edge of the World is a critical favorite, and was an editors' pick on Oprah.com.

Book Title : Fidgety Fish
Author : Ruth Galloway
Publisher : Erlangga for Kids
Release Date : 2005
Pages :
ISBN : 9797811263
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS: