the perks of being a wallflower

Book Title : The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Author : Stephen Chbosky
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Date : 2012-08-14
Pages : 224
ISBN : 9781451696196
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Charlie struggles to cope with complex world of high school as he deals with the confusions of sex and love, the temptations of drugs, and the pain of losing a close friend and a favorite aunt.

Book Title : The Perks of Being a Wallflower YA edition
Author : Stephen Chbosky
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Date : 2013-01-03
Pages : 240
ISBN : 9781471118180
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A modern cult classic, a major motion picture and a timeless bestseller, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a deeply affecting coming-of-age story. Charlie is not the biggest geek in high school, but he's by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it, Charlie is attempting to navigate through the uncharted territory of high school. The world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends. The world of sex, drugs, and music - when all one requires to feel infinite is that perfect song on that perfect drive. Standing on the fringes of life Charlie has a unique perspective of the world around him, but there comes a time to stop being a wallflower and see what it looks like from the dance floor. This haunting novel about the dilemma of passivity vs. passion has become a modern classic. Charlie's letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating and through Charlie, Stephen Chbosky has created a deeply affecting story that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller coaster days known as growing up. 'Chobsky captures adolescent angst, confusion and joy... Compelling.' Booklist 'This wistful, sensitive novel perfectly captures the uncertainty and excitement of adolescence, and has become a deserving modern classic.' Scottish Book Trust 'A coming-of-age tale in the tradition of THE CATCHER IN THE RYE and A SEPARATE PEACE... [Chbosky's] poignant reflections on life, love and friendship are often inspirational and always beautifully written.' USA Today

Book Title : Taboo Topics in Stephen Chbosky s The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Author : Nina Blagovič
Publisher :
Release Date : 2016
Pages : 65
ISBN : OCLC:965921292
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The thesis focuses on taboo topics in Stephen Chbosky's novel The Perks of Being a Wallflower, such as alcohol, drugs, sex, teenage pregnancy, abortion, homosexuality, violence, offensive language and child abuse. The realistic portrayal of these controversial topics led to complaints from parents - namely, that the novel's content is unsuitable for their children. The novel was challenged and banned repeatedly from schools and libraries in America, which means that it was no longer available for students to read. Some call this prohibition of the novel within schools censorship, which has sparked much debate on whether one individual complaining about a book has the right to determine what all students can or cannot read in school. This thesis takes into account and analyses opinions of parents, teachers, teenagers, the author of the novel Stephen Chbosky and some organisations involved in the fight for or against the banning of the novel. Since The Perks of Being a Wallflower is not as well-known in Slovenia as it is in America, Andrej Predin's novel Na zeleno vejo is referred to in order to see how people in Slovenia reacted to a similarly controversial novel.

Book Title : The Perks of Being a Wallflower Study Guide
Author : BookCaps Study Guides Staff
Publisher : BookCaps Study Guides
Release Date : 2012
Pages :
ISBN : 9781610429757
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The perfect companion to Stephen Chbosky's "The Perks of Being a Wallflower," this study guide contains a chapter by chapter analysis of the book, a summary of the plot, and a guide to major characters and themes. BookCap Study Guides do not contain text from the actual book, and are not meant to be purchased as alternatives to reading the book. We all need refreshers every now and then. Whether you are a student trying to cram for that big final, or someone just trying to understand a book more, BookCaps can help. We are a small, but growing company, and are adding titles every month.

Book Title : Quicklet on Stephen Chbosky s The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Author : Zakkia Uddin
Publisher : Hyperink Inc
Release Date : 2011-12-20
Pages : 40
ISBN : 9781614647843
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

ABOUT THE BOOK Stephen Chbosky's book may be younger than its adolescent protagonist, but it has had an eventful life so far. The Perks of Being a Wallflower has proved to be one of the most controversial novels of recent years - and one of the most popular with its target audience of teenagers. Polymath Chbosky set out to write a very different novel but found that a single line from that first manuscript kept ringing in his head: "I guess that's just one of the perks of being a wallflower." This inspired him to develop the idea and the character of Charlie, the "wallflower" of the title. Set in 1991, the epistolary novel takes us through the troubled Charlie's freshman year, and the events leading up to a horrible personal discovery that turns his happier childhood memories upside down. In 1999, MTV acquired the title. Word of mouth made it a near-instant success, with teenagers devouring its themes of angst, isolation, and ostracisation in high school. MEET THE AUTHOR Born and raised in Chicago before settling in the San Francisco Bay Area, award-winning writer Zaki Hasan is a professor of communication and media studies, and has been a media scholar and critic for more than fifteen years. He is co-author of Quirk Books' Geek Wisdom: The Sacred Teachings of Nerd Culture, and his work has been featured in Q-News, Illume, and The Huffington Post. EXCERPT FROM THE BOOK Chbosky's epistolary novel begins with our anonymous narrator/letter-writer calling himself Charlie to avoid being identified and recounting a series of events ignited by the mysterious suicide of fellow student Michael Dobson. The letters are addressed to someone who may have known Dobson, but who Charlie has not personally met. He chooses the addressee because he hears that the former had "decided not to sleep with someone even though they could have". Dobson is a cipher whose death allows Charlie to engage for the first time with his fellow pupils in a compulsory group counselling session, held by the school. Dobson was also his only friend in middle school and the wide emotional reaction to his death makes Charlie keenly aware of the hypocritical attitude of the other students. On the cusp of being a freshman, Charlie writes to the unknown figure about his own family and the quiet unspoken grievances he notes between them. Most poignantly, he feels even more isolated by the fact that his older brother and sister are entering into the "real world" – college and relationships respectively. Privately, Charlie still finds himself missing his Aunt Helen, who had lived briefly with the family during what he recalls as the happiest years of his young life. BOOK OUTLINE +About the Book +About the Author +Synopsis +Key Terms and Definitions +Chapter-By-Chapter Commentary & Summary +Additional Resources

Book Title : The Perks of Being a Wallflower Classroom Questions
Author : Amy Farrell
Publisher :
Release Date : 2017-04-28
Pages : 182
ISBN : 1910949612
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Chapter Summaries 405 Classroom Questions 187 Questions on Comparative Modes 112 Questions on Comparing Texts for Comparative Study Scene by Scene Classroom Questions are essential resources for English teachers, designed to save time and lead to rewarding classroom experiences. The guides are broken down by scene or chapter to complement the text they accompany. These guides provide a clear list of questions for every stage of teaching the text. Classroom Questions guides contain both closed and open questions, exploring student response, opinion and analysis. - Closed comprehension questions check students' understanding and ensure students are on task. - Open higher order questions promote thinking and reflection. The Perks of Being a Wallflower Classroom Questions contains chapter summaries of Stephen Chbosky's novel. There are also 405 questions, divided by chapter, to keep students engaged and actively thinking about the novel. An additional 299 questions explore the Comparative Study Modes: General Vision and Viewpoint Cultural Context/Social Setting Literary Genre Theme/Issue - Relationships Hero, Heroine, Villain Scene by Scene Classroom Questions teaching guides keep students focused on the text and encourage lively classroom discussions.

Book Title : 100 Unexpected Statements about the Perks of Being a Wallflower
Author : Jake Kemp
Publisher : Lennex
Release Date : 2013-02
Pages : 44
ISBN : 5458957474
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

In this book, we have hand-picked the most sophisticated, unanticipated, absorbing (if not at times crackpot!), original and musing book reviews of "The Perks of Being a Wallflower." Don't say we didn't warn you: these reviews are known to shock with their unconventionality or intimacy. Some may be startled by their biting sincerity; others may be spellbound by their unbridled flights of fantasy. Don't buy this book if: 1. You don't have nerves of steel. 2. You expect to get pregnant in the next five minutes. 3. You've heard it all.

Book Title : Coming of Age at the Turn of the 21st Century
Author : Bianka Gengler
Publisher :
Release Date : 2013
Pages : 118
ISBN : OCLC:870208285
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Book Title : Summary of the Perks of Being a Wallflower
Author : Whizbooks
Publisher : Blurb
Release Date : 2018-08-03
Pages : 106
ISBN : 0464972744
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Summary of The Perks of Being a Wallflower: Trivia/Quiz for Fans Features You'll Discover Inside: - A comprehensive guide to aid in discussion & discovery - 30 multiple choice questions on the book, plots, characters, and author - Insightful resource for teachers, groups, or individuals - Keep track of scores with results to determine "fan status" - Share with other book fans and readers for mutual enjoyment Disclaimer: This is an unofficial summary, analysis and trivia book to enhance a reader's experience to books they already love and appreciate. We encourage our readers to purchase the original book first before downloading this companion book for your enjoyment.

Book Title : Defending Frequently Challenged Young Adult Books
Author : Pat R. Scales
Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield
Release Date : 2016-08-31
Pages : 244
ISBN : 9781442264335
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

This authoritative handbook gives you the information you need to defend challenged books with an informed response and ensure free access to young book lovers. With a profile of each book that includes its plot and characters, related materials and published reviews, awards and prizes, and Web and audiovisual resources, you will be prepared to answer even the toughest attacks.