the memory of things

The Memory Of Things
Author: Gae Polisner
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Release Date: 2016-09-06
Pages: 288
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

"[A] gripping, emotional story set in the part of history we’ll never forget." - New York Daily News On the morning of September 11, 2001, sixteen-year-old Kyle Donohue watches the first twin tower come down from the window of Stuyvesant High School. Moments later, terrified and fleeing home to safety across the Brooklyn Bridge, he stumbles across a girl perched in the shadows, covered in ash, and wearing a pair of costume wings. With his mother and sister in California and unable to reach his father, a NYC detective likely on his way to the disaster, Kyle makes the split-second decision to bring the girl home. What follows is their story, told in alternating points of view, as Kyle tries to unravel the mystery of the girl so he can return her to her family. But what if the girl has forgotten everything, even her own name? And what if the more Kyle gets to know her, the less he wants her to go home? The Memory of Things tells a stunning story of friendship and first love and of carrying on with our day-to-day living in the midst of world-changing tragedy and unforgettable pain—it tells a story of hope.

The Memory Of Forgotten Things
Author: Kat Zhang
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Release Date: 2018-05-15
Pages: 288
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

“A heart-tugging and mind-bending exploration of time and possibility.” —School Library Journal “A pleasure to read…full of heart and imagination.” —Kirkus Reviews “Zhang’s story is filled with real-world lessons on compassion and kindness with a sci-fi twist—a skillfully rendered framing device for exploring deeper issues of loss, longing, and acceptance.” —Publishers Weekly “With unwavering hope and focus, and new friendships with unlikely peers, the novel is entertaining and sweet.” —Booklist In the tradition of The Thing About Jellyfish and When You Reach Me, acclaimed author Kat Zhang offers a luminous and heartbreaking novel about a girl who is convinced that an upcoming solar eclipse will bring back her dead mother. One of the happiest memories twelve-year-old Sophia Wallace has is of her tenth birthday. Her mother made her a cake that year—and not a cake from a boxed-mix, but from scratch. She remembers the way the frosting tasted, the way the pink sugar roses dissolved on her tongue. This memory, and a scant few others like it, is all Sophia has of her mother, so she keeps them close. She keeps them secret, too. Because as paltry as these memories are, she shouldn’t have them at all. The truth is, Sophia Wallace’s mother died when she was six years old. But that isn’t how she remembers it. Not always. Sophia has never told anyone about her unusual memories—snapshots of a past that never happened. But everything changes when Sophia’s seventh grade English class gets an assignment to research solar eclipses. She becomes convinced that the upcoming solar eclipse will grant her the opportunity to make her alternate life come true, to enter a world where her mother never died. With the help of two misfit boys, she must figure out a way to bring her mother back to her—before the opportunity is lost forever.

The Memory Of Thought
Author: Alexander García Düttmann
Publisher: A&C Black
Release Date: 2002-07-09
Pages: 338
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The Memory of Thought reconstructs the philosophy of Adorno and Heidegger in the light of the importance that these thinkers attach to two proper names: Auschwitz and Germanien. In Adorno's dialectical thinking, Auschwitz is the name of an incommensurable historical event that seems to put a provisional end to history as a negative totality. In Heidegger's thinking of Being, Germanien is a name inscribed in an historical mission on which the fate of Western civilization seems to depend: it thus becomes the name of a positive totality of history.

The Memory Of Broken Things
Author: Dave Northrup
Publisher:
Release Date: 2013
Pages: 177
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The Memory Of Sound
Author: Seán Street
Publisher: Routledge
Release Date: 2014-06-13
Pages: 178
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

This book explores the connections between sound and memory across all electronic media, with a particular focus on radio. Street explores our capacity to remember through sound and how we can help ourselves preserve a sense of self through the continuity of memory. In so doing, he analyzes how the brain is triggered by the memory of programs, songs, and individual sounds. He then examines the growing importance of sound archives, community radio and current research using GPS technology for the history of place, as well as the potential for developing strategies to aid Alzheimer's and dementia patients through audio memory.

The Memory Of Earth
Author: Orson Scott Card
Publisher: Hachette UK
Release Date: 2012-12-20
Pages: 320
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Haunting, compulsive, urgently readable...Storytelling genius - INTERZONE Certain to be one of the most soughtafter books of the year - LOCUS The planet called Harmony had been settled by humans nearly forty years before. The colony had been placed under the care of an artificial intelligence, the Oversoul, high in orbit. This master computer had one overriding command: guard the people of Harmony. But now the Oversoul is itself in danger. Soon, within a thousand years, catastrophic war will break out on Harmony unless the Oversoul can be repaired. The master computer has determined that it must be taken back to lost Earth; someone on Harmony must be given back the knowledge of space travel in order to save the planet from destruction. For one family, about to be caught up in an approaching civil war, life will change for ever. The first book in the brilliant Homecoming series. Books by Orson Scott Card: Alvin Maker novels Seventh Son Red Prophet Prentice Alvin Alvin Journeyman Heartfire The Crystal City Ender Wiggin Saga Ender's Game Speaker for the Dead Xenocide Children of the Mind Ender in Exile Homecoming The Memory of the Earth The Call of the Earth The Ships of the Earth Earthfall Earthborn First Formic War (with Aaron Johnston) Earth Unaware Earth Afire Earth Awakens

The Memory Of Stones
Author: Mandla Langa
Publisher: New Africa Books
Release Date: 2000
Pages: 366
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Based upon the author's wide experience of exile, 'The Memory of Stones' is a novel about Zadwa, a sophisticated young graduate, and her clashes with men who subscribe to traditional attitudes and values towards women in South Africa.

All The Beautiful Things  A Memory Of Hurricanes
Author: Jase Donaldson
Publisher: Lulu.com
Release Date: 2005-01
Pages: 65
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Hurricanes come and go, and leave us in their wake. And we are broken, in body, in spirit...souls are snatched and ripped in two and then placed somewhere back inside and expected to gravitate back to normalcy. As if there were such a thing now... The vignettes collected here retell nightmares, fears, regrets, uncertainties, death tales not proud, and the little bits of sky that drop on all of us from time to time. This is my retelling, my story, and only my experience. Life is full of beautiful.things, blended in with hurricanes... *** Copyright 2004 by Synesthetic Studios

A Monument To The Memory Of George Eliot
Author: Constance M. Fulmer
Publisher: Routledge
Release Date: 2013-10-28
Pages: 312
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

First published in 1998. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

The Bishop Of Rapho S Letter About Drinking To The Memory Of King William  Etc
Author: Edward Synge
Publisher:
Release Date: 1715
Pages:
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS: