the house by the lake

Book Title : The House by the Lake
Author : Hugh Mills
Publisher :
Release Date :
Pages :
ISBN : OCLC:220748382
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Book Title : The House by the Lake
Author : Thomas Harding
Publisher : Picador
Release Date : 2016-07-05
Pages : 464
ISBN : 9781250065087
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A Finalist for the Costa Biography Award Longlisted for the Orwell Prize Named a Best Book of the Year by The Times (London) • New Statesman (London) • Daily Express (London) • Commonweal magazine In the summer of 1993, Thomas Harding traveled to Germany with his grandmother to visit a small house by a lake on the outskirts of Berlin. It had been her “soul place,” she said—a holiday home for her and her family, but also a refuge—until the 1930s, when the Nazis’ rise to power forced them to leave. The trip was his grandmother’s chance to remember her childhood sanctuary as it was. But the house had changed, and when Harding returned once again nearly twenty years later, it was about to be demolished. It now belonged to the government, and as Harding began to inquire about whether the house could be saved, he unearthed secrets that had lain hidden for decades. Slowly he began to piece together the lives of the five families who had lived there: a wealthy landowner, a prosperous Jewish family, a renowned composer, a widow and her children, a Stasi informant. All had made the house their home, and all but one had been forced out. The house had weathered storms, fires and abandonment, witnessed violence, betrayals and murders, and had withstood the trauma of a world war and the dividing of a nation. Breathtaking in scope and intimate in its detail, The House by the Lake is a groundbreaking and revelatory new history of Germany, told over a tumultuous century through the story of a small wooden house.

Book Title : The House by the Lake
Author : Ella Carey
Publisher : Platinum Spotlight Series
Release Date : 2017
Pages : 500
ISBN : 1683246047
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

"Anna is content with her well-ordered life in San Francisco. However, when her beloved grandfather, Max, reveals that they are part of an aristocratic family who during World War II were forced to leave their estate in Prussia, Anna embarks on a quest to retrieve a precious item Max left there over seventy years ago"--

Book Title : The House on Lake Maggiore
Author : K. S. Hansen
Publisher : iUniverse
Release Date : 2013-07-31
Pages : 254
ISBN : 9781475998610
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Nestled into the green hillside by beautiful Lake Maggiore in northern Italy, there is a dilapidated villa. Even in its current state of disrepair, those who find it know that there is something magnetic about the place. They imagine the villa in its prime surrounded by sculpted topiaries, white peacocks frolicking among sprawling cypress trees, and stone figures standing guard—a more prosperous and mysterious past. Diana Marshall, an American designer traveling in Italy in the hopes of finding inspiration after the death of her husband, is captivated by the structure. In the lines and shadows and secret places of the abandoned relic, she sees a chance to capture her passion again—for life, for art, for beauty. She throws all caution and sense to the wind and commits to breathing life into the grand old home. With the help of a cunning financier with an agenda of his own, she makes plans to give the abandoned structure a complete renovation. As the project progresses, tantalizing hints of the villa’s past begin to emerge. Layer by layer, the residue of another lifetime dares Diana to dig deeper for the truth. Visitors to the villa bring morsels of information that, when pieced together, begin to tell a story of its involvement in the darkest part of twentieth-century history. As she learns more about the building’s nefarious past and the reality of those former inhabitants, Diana begins to fear the worst.

Book Title : The House on the Lake
Author : Barbara V. Stephens
Publisher : iUniverse
Release Date : 2012-11-01
Pages : 154
ISBN : 9781475954166
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Rebecca York is feeling confident with a clear head, a happy heart, and a new plan in hand. Just back from spending six months in France, Rebecca leisurely walks around the grounds of her godmother's historic house on a Texas lake while dreaming of converting it into an elegant bed-and-breakfast and saving it from encroaching land developers. But just as she settles in to spend her first night at Maple Villa, a key turns the lock and the front door creaks open, revealing a man from Rebecca's past. Paul Drew, a distinguished foreign news correspondent and author, first met Rebecca nearly seventeen years ago and is still as charming as she remembers him. Except there is only one problem: Paul has also received a key to the endangered old lake residence from Rebecca's godmother and has already moved in to recuperate from a wound he received in the Middle East. But even as the sweet affection started many years ago between them begins to reawaken, neither Rebecca nor Paul can fathom the idea of giving up their individual dreams for Maple Villa. In this contemporary romance, attraction, passion, and strong aspirations bring two souls together in the face of adversity as an old house quietly awaits its destiny.

Book Title : The House on Moon Lake
Author : Francesca Duranti
Publisher : Open Road Media
Release Date : 2013-06-25
Pages : 180
ISBN : 9781480429161
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Fabrizio Garrone is an impoverished but aristocratic translator who has been living a life of quiet desperation in Milan. He feels underappreciated and tormented by a persistent sense of having been cheated by life. But when he reads about a lost Viennese novel—The House on Moon Lake—in the journals of a late esteemed literary critic, he dreams that this project will put him on the cultural and literary map, and finally bring him the accolades that have eluded him. Fabrizio journeys to Vienna, tracks down the book, and translates it, and in so doing embarks on a nightmarish search for the truth behind the events depicted in it, as well as for clues about the tragic life of its forgotten author. When asked to write a short biography of the novelist, Fabrizio must invent details missing from the last three years of his subject’s life. The resulting biography is a publishing phenomenon. But the repercussions for Fabrizio are profound: he becomes the willing victim of a person he had thought to be fictional.

Book Title : The House on Lake Street
Author : John Evans
Publisher : iUniverse
Release Date : 2007-07
Pages : 124
ISBN : 9780595458844
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Several months after moving into the Twin Palms Manor, a Room and Board facility in the old Westlake District of Los Angeles, retired police detective and widower, Ben Hollister suddenly vanishes, without a trace. Alarmed by his disappearance, Hollister's daughter, Dianne, begins to investigate. After speaking with Kate Barlow, the owner and manager of the Room and Board home, and getting nowhere, Dianne enlists the aid of Detective Lt. Frank McElroy, incidentally, a friend of her father. McElroy, in turn, assigns Detective Joe Kellermann, to physically move into the house, as part of an undercover operation. It is here that the young detective becomes involved with a myriad of characters-as one tenant describes it, Kate Barlow's menagerie of misfits. We soon learn that Hollister was the third tenant to have gone missing, in as many months. A roller coaster ride of suspense and greed-a woman's nefarious obsession to break all the rules. An illicit tale of deception, conspiracy, betrayal and murder.

Book Title : The House on the Lake
Author : Aidan Fennessy
Publisher :
Release Date : 2015-05-01
Pages : 47
ISBN : 1925005380
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A criminal lawyer with a cool head and a passion for logic, David wakes up to find himself confined to a small, sparsely furnished room, unable to remember what happened the day before. With the help of his doctor, David begins to coax memories out of the darkness, before the details of a terrible secret emerge. (1 act, 1 male, 1 female).

Book Title : The House at Riverton
Author : Kate Morton
Publisher : Pan Macmillan
Release Date : 2008-09-04
Pages : 192
ISBN : 9780330469241
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Originally published in 2007, Kate Morton's debut novel, The House at Riverton, went on to sell a million copies in the UK alone and won the Richard and Judy Book Club Best Read of the Year. This special tenth anniversary edition of Kate Morton's acclaimed debut features a special foreword from the author. Summer 1924: On the eve of a glittering Society party, by the lake of a grand English country house, a young poet takes his life. The only witnesses, sisters Hannah and Emmeline Hartford, will never speak to each other again. Winter 1999: Grace Bradley, 98, one-time housemaid of Riverton Manor, is visited by a young director making a film about the poet's suicide. Ghosts awaken and memories, long-consigned to the dark reaches of Grace's mind, begin to sneak back through the cracks. A shocking secret threatens to emerge; something history has forgotten but Grace never could.

Book Title : The House on Sunset Lake
Author : Tasmina Perry
Publisher : Hachette UK
Release Date : 2016-08-25
Pages : 336
ISBN : 9781472208484
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Unlock the secrets of the mysterious house on Sunset Lake... Tasmina Perry, author of the bestselling The Pool House, presents a delicious read, as one summer at the beautiful Sunset Lake has dramatic repercussions. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Lucinda Riley. 'Seductive and mysterious... the perfect novel to while away a summer's afternoon' - Daily Express Casa D'Or, the mysterious plantation house on Sunset Lake, has been in the Wyatt family for over fifty years. Jennifer Wyatt returns there from university full of hope, as a summer by the lake stretches ahead of her. Yet by the time it is over her heart will be broken, her family in tatters, her dreams long gone. Twenty years later, Casa D'Or stands neglected, a victim of tragic events. Jennifer has closed the door on her past. Then Jim, the man she met and fell in love with that magical summer, comes back into her life, with a plan to return Casa D'Or to its former glory. Their reunion will stir up old ghosts for both of them, and reveal the dark secrets the house still holds close... What readers are saying about The House on Sunset Lake: 'Wow. Wow. And wow.Prepare to be immersed, shocked, and blown away ' 'Once I had started reading it I didn't want to put it down. The plot gripped me and the twist at the end was not at all expected' 'Lovely read, everything a book should be. An absolute pleasure'