the hate u give pdf free

The Hate U Give
Author: Angie Thomas
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: 2017-02-28
Pages: 464
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

8 starred reviews ∙ Goodreads Choice Awards Best of the Best ∙ William C. Morris Award Winner ∙ National Book Award Longlist ∙ Printz Honor Book ∙ Coretta Scott King Honor Book ∙ #1 New York Times Bestseller! "Absolutely riveting!" —Jason Reynolds "Stunning." —John Green "This story is necessary. This story is important." —Kirkus (starred review) "Heartbreakingly topical." —Publishers Weekly (starred review) "A marvel of verisimilitude." —Booklist (starred review) "A powerful, in-your-face novel." —Horn Book (starred review) Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed. Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr. But what Starr does—or does not—say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life. And don't miss On the Come Up, Angie Thomas's powerful follow-up to The Hate U Give.

Jackpot
Author: Nic Stone
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: 2019-10-15
Pages: 384
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

From the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Dear Martin--which Angie Thomas, the bestselling author of The Hate U Give, called "a must read"--comes a pitch-perfect romance that examines class, privilege, and how a stroke of good luck can change an entire life. Meet Rico: high school senior and afternoon-shift cashier at the Gas 'n' Go, who after school and work races home to take care of her younger brother. Every. Single. Day. When Rico sells a jackpot-winning lotto ticket, she thinks maybe her luck will finally change, but only if she--with some assistance from her popular and wildly rich classmate Zan--can find the ticket holder who hasn't claimed the prize. But what happens when have and have-nots collide? Will this investigative duo unite...or divide? Nic Stone, the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin and Odd One Out, creates two unforgettable characters in one hard-hitting story about class, money--both too little and too much--and how you make your own luck in the world. "A delightful, hilarious romance that digs into issues surrounding class. You'll laugh as much as you sigh while reading this novel about luck, love...and how having a little bit of both is more than enough." --Paste "Funny, captivating, and thoughtful." --The Atlantic

A Good Kind Of Trouble
Author: Lisa Moore Ramée
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: 2019-03-12
Pages: 384
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds. Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she’d also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.) But in junior high, it’s like all the rules have changed. Now she’s suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying she’s not black enough. Wait, what? Shay’s sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum. Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that’s trouble, for real. "Tensions are high over the trial of a police officer who shot an unarmed Black man. When the officer is set free, and Shay goes with her family to a silent protest, she starts to see that some trouble is worth making." (Publishers Weekly, "An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List")

Coping With Racial Profiling
Author: Del Sandeen
Publisher: The Rosen Publishing Group, Inc
Release Date: 2019-07-15
Pages: 112
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Racial profiling isn't just a problem for one group of people. It's a problem for everyone in America, and the world. The underlying racism that contributes to profiling is a serious issue for people of all colors. This insightful book presents facts and statistics to counter damaging myths, giving readers perspective to understand how racial profiling can happen and what to do about it. Readers will learn how to push back against discrimination, what to do if they ever feel they are a victim of racial profiling, and how to handle the emotional toll that racism causes.

Ghost Boys
Author: Jewell Parker Rhodes
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: 2018-04-17
Pages: 224
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A heartbreaking and powerful story about a black boy killed by a police officer, drawing connections through history, from award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes. An instant New York Times bestsellerAn instant IndieBound bestsellerThe #1 Kids' Indie Next PickA Walter Award winner Only the living can make the world better. Live and make it better. Twelve-year-old Jerome is shot by a police officer who mistakes his toy gun for a real threat. As a ghost, he observes the devastation that's been unleashed on his family and community in the wake of what they see as an unjust and brutal killing. Soon Jerome meets another ghost: Emmett Till, a boy from a very different time but similar circumstances. Emmett helps Jerome process what has happened, on a journey towards recognizing how historical racism may have led to the events that ended his life. Jerome also meets Sarah, the daughter of the police officer, who grapples with her father's actions. Once again Jewell Parker Rhodes deftly weaves historical and socio-political layers into a gripping and poignant story about how children and families face the complexities of today's world, and how one boy grows to understand American blackness in the aftermath of his own death.

Dear Martin
Author: Nic Stone
Publisher: Ember
Release Date: 2017-10-17
Pages: 240
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

"Powerful, wrenching.” –JOHN GREEN, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down "Raw and gripping." –JASON REYNOLDS, New York Times bestselling coauthor of All American Boys "A must-read!” –ANGIE THOMAS, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give Raw, captivating, and undeniably real, Nic Stone joins industry giants Jason Reynolds and Walter Dean Myers as she boldly tackles American race relations in this stunning New York Times bestselling debut, a William C. Morris Award Finalist. Justyce McAllister is a good kid, an honor student, and always there to help a friend—but none of that matters to the police officer who just put him in handcuffs. Despite leaving his rough neighborhood behind, he can't escape the scorn of his former peers or the ridicule of his new classmates. Justyce looks to the teachings of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. for answers. But do they hold up anymore? He starts a journal to Dr. King to find out. Then comes the day Justyce goes driving with his best friend, Manny, windows rolled down, music turned up—way up, sparking the fury of a white off-duty cop beside them. Words fly. Shots are fired. Justyce and Manny are caught in the crosshairs. In the media fallout, it's Justyce who is under attack. "Vivid and powerful." -Booklist, Starred Review "A visceral portrait of a young man reckoning with the ugly, persistent violence of social injustice." -Publishers Weekly

IVYFILE
Author: Laurence C. Hatch
Publisher: Laurence Hatch Press
Release Date: 2015-01-20
Pages: 236
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Encyclopedia of 500+ Hedera or ivy cultivars for modern gardens, including original research, historical documents scans, original high-res digital images, flatbed leaf scans, exclusive research breakthroughs, and very detailed cultivar descriptions.

The Big Issue  Cape Town
Author:
Publisher:
Release Date: 2004
Pages:
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The Rise Of Corporate Religious Liberty
Author: Micah Schwartzman
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Release Date: 2015-12-11
Pages: 296
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

What are the rights of religious institutions? Should those rights extend to for-profit corporations? Houses of worship have claimed they should be free from anti-discrimination laws in hiring and firing ministers and other employees. Faith-based institutions, including hospitals and universities, have sought exemptions from requirements to provide contraception. Now, in a surprising development, large for-profit corporations have succeeded in asserting rights to religious free exercise. The Rise of Corporate Religious Liberty explores this "corporate" turn in law and religion. Drawing on a broad range perspectives, this book examines the idea of "freedom of the church," the rights of for-profit corporations, and the implications of the Supreme Court's landmark decision in Burwell v. Hobby Lobby for debates on anti-discrimination law, same-sex marriage, health care, and religious freedom.

Emma
Author: Jane Austen
Publisher:
Release Date: 1816
Pages:
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS: