selected writings and speeches of marcus garvey

Selected Writings And Speeches Of Marcus Garvey
Author: Marcus Garvey
Publisher: Courier Corporation
Release Date: 2012-03-05
Pages: 224
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

This anthology contains some of the African-American rights advocate's most noted writings and speeches, among them "Declaration of the Rights of the Negro Peoples of the World" and "Africa for the Africans."

Marcus Garvey
Author: Brenda Haugen
Publisher: Capstone
Release Date: 2008-01-01
Pages: 112
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Examines the life of a black leader who started a "Back-to-Africa" movement in the United States, believing blacks would never receive justice in countries with a white majority.

The Marcus Garvey And Universal Negro Improvement Association Papers  Vol  VII
Author: Robert A. Hill
Publisher: Univ of California Press
Release Date: 1983
Pages: 1146
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Letters and archival documents depict the life of Marcus Garvey

Acting White
Author: Ron Christie
Publisher: Macmillan
Release Date: 2010-10-12
Pages: 304
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

In the tradition of Randall Kennedy's Nigger and Shelby Steele's The Content of Our Character, Acting White demonstrates how the charge that any African-American who is successful, well mannered, or well educated is "acting white," is a slur that continues to haunt blacks. Ron Christie traces the complex history of the phrase, from Uncle Tom's Cabin to the tensions between Martin Luther King, Jr., and Malcolm X to Bill Cosby's controversial NAACP speech in 2004. The author also writes candidly of being challenged by black students for his "acting white," and also of being labeled a race traitor in Congress by daring to be Republican. This lucid chronicle reveals how this prevalent put-down sets back much of the hard-earned progress for all blacks in American society. Deftly argued and determinedly controversial, this book is certain to spur thoughtful discussion for years to come.

The Marcus Garvey And Universal Negro Improvement Association Papers  Volume XI
Author: Marcus Garvey
Publisher: Duke University Press
Release Date: 2011-07-15
Pages: 845
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

DIVThese papers contain over 2300 documents relating to the presence and influence of the Universal Negro Improvement Association in the Caribbean from 1911 to 1945./div

The Marcus Garvey And Universal Negro Improvement Association Papers  Vol  I
Author: Robert A. Hill
Publisher: Univ of California Press
Release Date: 1983-11-04
Pages: 716
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Letters and archival documents depict the life of Marcus Garvey

I   Ve Been Racially Profiled  Now What
Author: Alexandra Hanson-Harding
Publisher: The Rosen Publishing Group, Inc
Release Date: 2014-12-15
Pages: 112
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

This volume explains what racial profiling is, who is likely to be targeted, and how to deal with the police if you are singled out. Readers will learn about the racial bias in the American justice and prison systems, as well as how to stay out of the school-to-prison pipeline.

The Holy Black Papyrus
Author: Floyd Williams
Publisher: Lulu.com
Release Date:
Pages:
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Icons Of African American Protest
Author: Gladys L. Knight
Publisher: Greenwood
Release Date: 2009
Pages: 687
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Dissent
Author: Ralph Young
Publisher: NYU Press
Release Date: 2015-04-24
Pages: 640
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Finalist, 2016 Ralph Waldo Emerson Award One of Bustle's Books For Your Civil Disobedience Reading List Dissent: The History of an American Idea examines the key role dissent has played in shaping the United States. It focuses on those who, from colonial days to the present, dissented against the ruling paradigm of their time: from the Puritan Anne Hutchinson and Native American chief Powhatan in the seventeenth century, to the Occupy and Tea Party movements in the twenty-first century. The emphasis is on the way Americans, celebrated figures and anonymous ordinary citizens, responded to what they saw as the injustices that prevented them from fully experiencing their vision of America. At its founding the United States committed itself to lofty ideals. When the promise of those ideals was not fully realized by all Americans, many protested and demanded that the United States live up to its promise. Women fought for equal rights; abolitionists sought to destroy slavery; workers organized unions; Indians resisted white encroachment on their land; radicals angrily demanded an end to the dominance of the moneyed interests; civil rights protestors marched to end segregation; antiwar activists took to the streets to protest the nation’s wars; and reactionaries, conservatives, and traditionalists in each decade struggled to turn back the clock to a simpler, more secure time. Some dissenters are celebrated heroes of American history, while others are ordinary people: frequently overlooked, but whose stories show that change is often accomplished through grassroots activism. The United States is a nation founded on the promise and power of dissent. In this stunningly comprehensive volume, Ralph Young shows us its history. Teaching Resources from Temple University: Sample Course Syllabus Teaching Resources from C-Span Classroom Teaching Resources from Temple University