raymie nightingale

Raymie Nightingale
Author: Kate DiCamillo
Publisher: Candlewick Press
Release Date: 2016-04-12
Pages: 272
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A 2016 National Book Award Finalist! Two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo returns to her roots with a moving, masterful story of an unforgettable summer friendship. Raymie Clarke has come to realize that everything, absolutely everything, depends on her. And she has a plan. If Raymie can win the Little Miss Central Florida Tire competition, then her father, who left town two days ago with a dental hygienist, will see Raymie's picture in the paper and (maybe) come home. To win, not only does Raymie have to do good deeds and learn how to twirl a baton; she also has to contend with the wispy, frequently fainting Louisiana Elefante, who has a show-business background, and the fiery, stubborn Beverly Tapinski, who’s determined to sabotage the contest. But as the competition approaches, loneliness, loss, and unanswerable questions draw the three girls into an unlikely friendship — and challenge each of them to come to the rescue in unexpected ways.

Raymie Nightingale   Target Exclusive Edition
Author:
Publisher:
Release Date: 2016
Pages:
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The Raymie Nightingale Three Book Collection
Author: Kate DiCamillo
Publisher: Candlewick Press (MA)
Release Date: 2019-10-22
Pages: 768
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Kate DiCamillo's sequence of novels about the Three Rancheros is now complete -- and with this beautiful hardcover boxed set, readers can savor all three. First came Raymie Nightingale, the "triumphant and necessary book"* that would become a National Book Award Finalist. Then followed the tender Louisiana's Way Home, featuring "one of DiCamillo's most singular and arresting creations" (The New York Times Book Review) and marking the first time the two-time Newbery Medalist had revisited the world of one of her novels. And finally, the much-hoped-for third novel, Beverly, Right Here, awaits its rapt audience. Here, the entire trilogy of novels -- the perfect gift for both longtime fans and new devotees -- is available in a beautifully designed set. Included are hardcover editions of: Raymie Nightingale Louisiana's Way Home Beverly, Right Here

Raymie Nightingale Classroom Set With Teachers Edition
Author: Kate DiCamillo
Publisher: Candlewick Press (MA)
Release Date: 2018-09-11
Pages:
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Perfect for teachers! Don't miss this classroom set which contains seven digest paperback editions of Kate DiCamillo's Raymie Nightingale, as well as an exclusive teachers' edition. When Raymie Clarke makes a plan to enter the Little Miss Central Florida Tire competition, she has one thing in mind: to get her father back. Instead, baton-twirling introduces her to Beverly Tapinski and Louisiana Elefante -- and a friendship that will change their lives.

The Literacy Workshop
Author: Maria P. Walther
Publisher:
Release Date: 2020
Pages:
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

"This book offers a unique interpretation of traditional workshop instruction by showing teachers how to integrate their separate reading and writing workshops into one 'literacy workshop' (periodically and as dictated by student needs) that takes advantage of the inherent reciprocity between reading and writing. Through narrative discussion, student samples, photographs, instructional resources, online content, suggested lessons and various mentor texts, the book explains the structure of the literacy workshop, tells readers how to get started with it, and shows them how to decide when it's best to merge the two workshops into one. The book is divided into two parts. Part I (Chapters 1-4) lays the foundation and gives the nuts and bolts of literacy workshop. Part II (Chapters 5-9) includes engagement/strategy/topic focused demonstration lessons - which includes a primary and an intermediate level example lesson for each Big Idea"--

Patterns Of Power
Author: Jeff Anderson
Publisher: Stenhouse Publishers
Release Date: 2017
Pages: 446
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Jeff Anderson and literacy coach Whitney La Rocca take you into primary and intermediate classrooms where students are curious about language, engage with the world around them, and notice and experiment with the conventions all writers use. Instead of chanting grammar rules or completing countless convention worksheets, we invite young writers to explore conventions as special effects devices that activate meaning. Our students study authentic texts and come to recognize these "patterns of power"--the essential grammar conventions that readers and writers require to make meaning. The first part of the book introduces a vibrant approach to grammar instruction and sets up what you need to immerse yourself in the Patterns of Power process, inviting students to experiment and play with language. The second part of the book offers over seventy practical, ready-to-use lessons, including: Extensive support materials Over 100 mentor sentences, curated for grades 1-5 Student work samples Tips and power notes to facilitate your own knowledge and learning Examples for application In Patterns of Power Jeff and Whitney suggest that taking just five minutes from your reading workshop and five minutes from your writing workshop to focus on how the conventions connect reading and writing will miraculously affect your students' understanding of how language works for readers and writers.

Louisiana S Way Home
Author: Kate DiCamillo
Publisher: Candlewick Press
Release Date: 2018-10-02
Pages: 240
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

From two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo comes a story of discovering who you are — and deciding who you want to be. When Louisiana Elefante’s granny wakes her up in the middle of the night to tell her that the day of reckoning has arrived and they have to leave home immediately, Louisiana isn’t overly worried. After all, Granny has many middle-of-the-night ideas. But this time, things are different. This time, Granny intends for them never to return. Separated from her best friends, Raymie and Beverly, Louisiana struggles to oppose the winds of fate (and Granny) and find a way home. But as Louisiana’s life becomes entwined with the lives of the people of a small Georgia town — including a surly motel owner, a walrus-like minister, and a mysterious boy with a crow on his shoulder — she starts to worry that she is destined only for good-byes. (Which could be due to the curse on Louisiana's and Granny’s heads. But that is a story for another time.) Called “one of DiCamillo’s most singular and arresting creations” by The New York Times Book Review, the heartbreakingly irresistible Louisiana Elefante was introduced to readers in Raymie Nightingale — and now, with humor and tenderness, Kate DiCamillo returns to tell her story.

Better With Books
Author: Melissa Hart
Publisher: Sasquatch Books
Release Date: 2019-04-23
Pages: 304
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Needed now more than ever: a guide that includes 500 diverse contemporary fiction and memoir recommendations for preteens and teens with the goal of inspiring greater empathy for themselves, their peers, and the world around them. As young people are diagnosed with anxiety and depression in increasing numbers, or dealing with other issues that can isolate them from family and friends–such as bullying, learning disabilities, racism, or homophobia–characters in books can help them feel less alone. And just as important, reading books that feature a diverse range of real-life topics helps generate openness, empathy, and compassion in all kids. Better with Books is a valuable resource for parents, teachers, librarians, therapists, and all caregivers who recognize the power of literature to improve young readers’ lives. Each chapter explores a particular issue affecting preteens and teens today and includes a list of recommended related books–all published within the last decade. Recommendations are grouped by age: those appropriate for middle-grade readers and those for teens. Reading lists are organized around: Adoption and foster care Body image Immigration Learning challenges LGBTQIA+ youth Mental health Nature and environmentalism Physical disability Poverty and homelessness Race and ethnicity Religion and spirituality

Beverly  Right Here
Author: Kate DiCamillo
Publisher: Candlewick Press
Release Date: 2019-09-24
Pages: 256
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Revisiting once again the world of Raymie Nightingale, two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo turns her focus to the tough-talking, inescapably tenderhearted Beverly. Beverly put her foot down on the gas. They went faster still. This was what Beverly wanted — what she always wanted. To get away. To get away as fast as she could. To stay away. Beverly Tapinski has run away from home plenty of times, but that was when she was just a kid. By now, she figures, it’s not running away. It’s leaving. Determined to make it on her own, Beverly finds a job and a place to live and tries to forget about her dog, Buddy, now buried underneath the orange trees back home; her friend Raymie, whom she left without a word; and her mom, Rhonda, who has never cared about anyone but herself. Beverly doesn’t want to depend on anyone, and she definitely doesn’t want anyone to depend on her. But despite her best efforts, she can’t help forming connections with the people around her — and gradually, she learns to see herself through their eyes. In a touching, funny, and fearless conclusion to her sequence of novels about the beloved Three Rancheros, #1 New York Times best-selling author Kate DiCamillo tells the story of a character who will break your heart and put it back together again.

Solving For M
Author: Jennifer Swender
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: 2019-05-28
Pages: 256
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish, this heartfelt middle-grade novel seamlessly melds STEAM content with first loss in an honest and striking debut. When Mika starts fifth grade at the middle school, her neat life gets messy. Separated from old friends and starting new classes, Mika is far from her comfort zone. And math class is the most confusing of all, especially when her teacher Mr. Vann assigns math journals. Art in math? Who's ever heard of such a thing? But when challenges arise at home, Mika realizes there are no easy answers. Maybe, with some help from friends, family, and one unique teacher, a math journal can help her work out problems, and not just the math ones. Debut author Jennifer Swender delivers poignant prose and illustrator Jennifer Naalchigar brings Mika's journal to life in this perfect equation of honesty plus hope that adds up to a heartwarming coming-of-age story.