priceless

Book Title : Priceless
Author : William Poundstone
Publisher : Hill and Wang
Release Date : 2010-01-05
Pages : 352
ISBN : 1429943939
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Prada stores carry a few obscenely expensive items in order to boost sales for everything else (which look like bargains in comparison). People used to download music for free, then Steve Jobs convinced them to pay. How? By charging 99 cents. That price has a hypnotic effect: the profit margin of the 99 Cents Only store is twice that of Wal-Mart. Why do text messages cost money, while e-mails are free? Why do jars of peanut butter keep getting smaller in order to keep the price the "same"? The answer is simple: prices are a collective hallucination. In Priceless, the bestselling author William Poundstone reveals the hidden psychology of value. In psychological experiments, people are unable to estimate "fair" prices accurately and are strongly influenced by the unconscious, irrational, and politically incorrect. It hasn't taken long for marketers to apply these findings. "Price consultants" advise retailers on how to convince consumers to pay more for less, and negotiation coaches offer similar advice for businesspeople cutting deals. The new psychology of price dictates the design of price tags, menus, rebates, "sale" ads, cell phone plans, supermarket aisles, real estate offers, wage packages, tort demands, and corporate buyouts. Prices are the most pervasive hidden persuaders of all. Rooted in the emerging field of behavioral decision theory, Priceless should prove indispensable to anyone who negotiates.

Book Title : Priceless
Author : Sherryl Woods
Publisher : MIRA
Release Date : 2016-04-01
Pages : 400
ISBN : 9781459292437
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Return to the heart of the Carlton family in this beloved story of finding love in unexpected places by #1 New York Times bestselling author Sherryl Woods Charismatic playboy Mack Carlton lit up a room—even a hospital room—like no one else. Dr. Beth Browning had to admit Mack's visits were a tonic for her young patient, but her own reaction was much more confusing… Although Beth didn't ask for a second opinion on her future with Mack, his aunt Destiny offered her prognosis: marriage. Given Mack's romantic history and her own wariness due to past losses, Beth hesitated to agree—but her symptoms were undeniably love!

Book Title : Pricing the Priceless Child
Author : Viviana A. Zelizer
Publisher : Princeton University Press
Release Date : 1994-08-28
Pages : 277
ISBN : 0691034591
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

This study traces the emergence of changing attitudes about the child, at once economically "useless" and emotionally "priceless", from the late 1800s to the 1930s. It describes how turn-of-the-century America discovered new, sentimental ways to determine a child's monetary worth.

Book Title : Priceless
Author : Nicole Richie
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Date : 2010-09-28
Pages : 304
ISBN : 1439166196
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Tall, blond, and willowy, this twenty-two-year-old seems to have everything going for her—she’s rich and gorgeous, a talented singer, and has just returned to her Park Avenue penthouse after a year studying in Paris. But since her mother’s tragic death years ago, her father, an extremely successful financier, has been her only family—and if she’s being honest, her only true friend. All that changes when Jacob Williams is arrested on charges of fraud, and the SEC freezes the family’s bank accounts. With her father in jail and her partying pals suddenly scarce, Charlotte escapes Manhattan and heads to the one place she doesn’t think anyone will come looking: New Orleans. Determined to rebuild her life, Charlotte moves in with her beloved former nanny and finds a job in a local restaurant. Between trying to make ends meet and hiding from her past, she meets Kat, a fellow fashionista who introduces her to the best of the Big Easy’s bohemian style. With Kat by her side, Charlotte begins to haunt nightclubs, securing singing gigs that soon begin to heat up—as does her friendship with a local boy, Jackson. But Charlotte’s being followed by an angry stalker who wants nothing more than to destroy her for her father’s crimes. And with Mardi Gras just around the corner, the masquerade has only just begun . . . From the stylish avenues of Manhattan and dark clubs of the French Quarter to the bright lights of Los Angeles, the multitalented Nicole Richie’s scintillating tale shows that the very life you run from is the one that won’t let you hide.

Book Title : Priceless
Author : Bradley Trevor Greive
Publisher : Andrews McMeel Publishing
Release Date : 2002-11-02
Pages : 160
ISBN : 9780740726958
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Striking photographs and an inspirational narrative highlight species of animals that are threatened by extinction, offering a dramatic call to action to preserve the environment, biodiversity, and the creatures that make Earth their home.

Book Title : Priceless
Author : Olivia Darling
Publisher : Hachette UK
Release Date : 2009-03-19
Pages : 300
ISBN : 9781848942967
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

For fans of Maestra and Jackie Collins, this thrilling erotic novel leads you into the glamourous world of international fine art - where what you see isn't always what you get... Love, honour, betrayal. What would it take to make you risk your reputation, your livelihood or even your life? On London's glittering art scene there's only one thing worth more than a Leonardo da Vinci and that's revenge. When native New Yorker Carrie Klein is asked to set up a new auction house in London, she seizes the opportunity to make her name in the art world... and finally settle an old score. In rival auction house Ludbrooks, Lizzy Duffy is sleeping with her boss. Which could prove to be her best career move yet. Or her worst. And in a draughty farmhouse in Cornwall, impoverished artist Serena Macdonald struggles to support her young daughter by painting family pets. Until a mistake leads to a cottage industry in 'old masters' - and a daring sting that could spell disaster for them all... Cut-throat competition and carnal pleasures abound in this erotic thriller from the author of Vintage and Temptation.

Book Title : Priceless Markets
Author : Philip T. Hoffman
Publisher : University of Chicago Press
Release Date : 2000
Pages : 350
ISBN : 0226348016
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

This pathbreaking book shows how credit markets functioned in Paris, through the agency of notaries, during a critical period of French history. Its authors challenge the usual assumption that organized financial markets—and hence the opportunity for economic growth—did not emerge outside of England and the Netherlands until the nineteenth century. Drawing on innovative research, the authors show that as early as the Old Regime, financial intermediaries in France were mobilizing a great tide of capital and arranging thousands of loans between borrowers and lenders. The implications for historians and economists are substantial. The role of notaries operating in Paris that Priceless Markets uncovers has never before been recognized. In the wake of this pathbreaking new study, historians will also have to rethink the origins of the French Revolution. As the authors show, the crisis of 1787-88 did not simply ignite revolt; it was intimately bound up in an economic struggle that reached far back into the eighteenth century, and continued well into the 1800s.

Book Title : Priceless
Author : Robert K. Wittman
Publisher : Broadway Books
Release Date : 2010-06-01
Pages : 320
ISBN : 0307461491
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The Wall Street Journal called him “a living legend.” The London Times dubbed him “the most famous art detective in the world.” In Priceless, Robert K. Wittman, the founder of the FBI’s Art Crime Team, pulls back the curtain on his remarkable career for the first time, offering a real-life international thriller to rival The Thomas Crown Affair. Rising from humble roots as the son of an antique dealer, Wittman built a twenty-year career that was nothing short of extraordinary. He went undercover, usually unarmed, to catch art thieves, scammers, and black market traders in Paris and Philadelphia, Rio and Santa Fe, Miami and Madrid. In this page-turning memoir, Wittman fascinates with the stories behind his recoveries of priceless art and antiquities: The golden armor of an ancient Peruvian warrior king. The Rodin sculpture that inspired the Impressionist movement. The headdress Geronimo wore at his final Pow-Wow. The rare Civil War battle flag carried into battle by one of the nation’s first African-American regiments. The breadth of Wittman’s exploits is unmatched: He traveled the world to rescue paintings by Rockwell and Rembrandt, Pissarro, Monet and Picasso, often working undercover overseas at the whim of foreign governments. Closer to home, he recovered an original copy of the Bill of Rights and cracked the scam that rocked the PBS series Antiques Roadshow. By the FBI’s accounting, Wittman saved hundreds of millions of dollars worth of art and antiquities. He says the statistic isn’t important. After all, who’s to say what is worth more --a Rembrandt self-portrait or an American flag carried into battle? They're both priceless. The art thieves and scammers Wittman caught run the gamut from rich to poor, smart to foolish, organized criminals to desperate loners. The smuggler who brought him a looted 6th-century treasure turned out to be a high-ranking diplomat. The appraiser who stole countless heirlooms from war heroes’ descendants was a slick, aristocratic con man. The museum janitor who made off with locks of George Washington's hair just wanted to make a few extra bucks, figuring no one would miss what he’d filched. In his final case, Wittman called on every bit of knowledge and experience in his arsenal to take on his greatest challenge: working undercover to track the vicious criminals behind what might be the most audacious art theft of all. From the Hardcover edition.

Book Title : Priceless
Author : Kelly Hunter
Publisher : HarperCollins Australia
Release Date : 2011-01-01
Pages : 224
ISBN : 9781742903194
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Is he a gem or a rough diamond? Clothes, look, attitude–jeweller Erin reckons she can tell at a glance a man's occupation. But Tristan Bennett has her fooled: he's tall, sexy and enigmatic–and she can't tell whether he's a gem or a rough diamond. But Tristan admits he can drive, and has a week to spare–and he'll act as protector to Erin while she goes up–country to Australia's gem mines to buy precious stones. And Erin knows they're headed for trouble–unless they can keep the lid on the sensual attraction growing between them!

Book Title : Priceless Gifts
Author : Martha Hamilton
Publisher : august house
Release Date : 2006-12
Pages : 32
ISBN : 087483788X
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Presents a retelling of a traditional Italian tale in which a kindly Genoese merchant, richly rewarded for solving an irritating problem for the king of the Spice Islands, causes a greedy rival to try and gain a fortune in the same way.