parasites like us

Book Title : Parasites Like Us
Author : Adam Johnson
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date : 2004-10-26
Pages : 352
ISBN : 9781101665879
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The debut novel by the author of The Orphan Master's Son (winner of the 2013 Pulitzer Prize) and the story collection Fortune Smiles (winner of the 2015 National Book Award) Hailed as "remarkable" by the New Yorker, Emporium earned Adam Johnson comparisons to Kurt Vonnegut and T.C. Boyle. In his acclaimed first novel, Parasites Like Us, Johnson takes us on an enthralling journey through memory, time, and the cost of mankind's quest for its own past. Anthropologist Hank Hannah has just illegally exhumed an ancient American burial site and winds up in jail. But the law will soon be the least of his worries. For, buried beside the bones, a timeless menace awaits that will set the modern world back twelve thousand years and send Hannah on a quest to save that which is dearest to him. A brilliantly evocative apocalyptic adventure told with Adam Johnson's distinctive dark humor, Parasites Like Us is a thrilling tale of mankind on the brink of extinction.

Book Title : The Best American Nonrequired Reading 2015
Author : Adam Johnson
Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Release Date : 2015-10-06
Pages : 416
ISBN : 9780544579293
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

For the past year, a group of high school students met at a publishing house in San Francisco every Monday night to read literary magazines, chapbooks, graphic novels, and countless articles. This committee was assisted by a group of students that met in the basement of a robot shop in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Together, and under the guidance of guest editor Adam Johnson, these high schoolers selected the contents of The Best American Nonrequired Reading 2015. The writing in this book is very essential, if not required, like visiting the Louvre if you’re in Paris. In any case, nothing in this book takes place in Paris, as far as we can recall, but it does feature an elephant hunt, the fall of a reality-TV star, a walk through Ethiopia, and much more of what Johnson calls “the most important examinations in life.” The Best American Nonrequired Reading 2015 includes LESLEY NNEKA ARIMAH, DANIEL ALARCÓN, BOX BROWN, REBECCA CURTIS, VICTOR LODATO, CLAUDIA RANKINE, PAUL SALOPEK, PAUL TOUGH, WELLS TOWER and others Adam Johnson, guest editor, teaches creative writing at Stanford University. He is the author of Fortune Smiles, Emporium, Parasites Likes Us, and The Orphan Master’s Son, which was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in fiction. He has received a Whiting Writers’ Award and fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Guggenheim Foundation. His work has appeared in Esquire, Harper’s Magazine, Playboy, GQ, the Paris Review, Granta, Tin House, the New York Times, and The Best American Short Stories.

Book Title : Menander New Comedy and the Visual
Author : Antonis K. Petrides
Publisher : Cambridge University Press
Release Date : 2014-11-06
Pages : 334
ISBN : 9781107068438
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Shows how both verbal and visual allusion position the plays of New Comedy within the context of contemporary polis culture.

Book Title : The Four Agreements Companion Book
Author : Don Miguel Ruiz
Publisher : Amber-Allen Publishing
Release Date : 2010-03-18
Pages : 224
ISBN : 9781934408025
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The Four Agreements Companion Book takes you further along the journey to recover the awareness and wisdom of your authentic self. This book offers additional insights, practice ideas, a dialogue with don Miguel about applying The Four Agreements, and true stories from people who have transformed their lives.

Book Title : Berlin
Author : Pierre Frei
Publisher : Open Road + Grove/Atlantic
Release Date : 2007-12-01
Pages : 432
ISBN : 9781555848170
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Set in a devastated Berlin one month after the close of the Second World War, Berlin has been acclaimed as “ambitious . . . filled with brilliantly drawn characters, mesmerizingly readable, and disturbingly convincing” by the Sunday Telegraph. An electrifying thriller in the tradition of Joseph Kanon and Alan Furst, Berlin is a page-turner and an intimate portrait of Germany before, during, and after the war. It is 1945 in the American sector of occupied Berlin, and a German boy has discovered the body of a beautiful young woman in a subway station. Blonde and blue-eyed, she has been sexually assaulted and strangled with a chain. When the bodies of other young women begin to pile up it becomes clear that this is no isolated act of violence, and German and American investigators will have to cooperate if they are to stop the slaughter. Author Pierre Frei has searched the wreckage of Berlin and emerged with a gripping whodunit in which the stories of the victims themselves provide an absorbing commentary. There is a powerful pulse buried deep in the rubble.

Book Title : Parable of the Talents
Author : Octavia E. Butler
Publisher : Seven Stories Press
Release Date : 1998
Pages : 365
ISBN : 1888363819
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Lauren Olamina's daughter, Larkin, describes the broken and alienated world of 2032, as war racks the North American continent and an ultra-conservative religious crusader becomes president

Book Title : health is here
Author : ELENA SHEA, MD
Publisher : Xlibris Corporation
Release Date : 2013-05
Pages : 268
ISBN : 9781479783816
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Health is Here is a natural approach to healing. My goal in this book is to empower those interested in supporting and nurturing their own health, reminding us to be more aware of and involve ourselves in more healthful practices. Our body inherently wants to heal, think of an open wound that closes. There are many foods and herbals that support healing of tissues. Using these with care and knowledge can assist in restoring health. These approaches are not a substitute for western medicine or medical care, but an effort to provide a basis for why and how foods and herbals can support healing and vitality.

Book Title : Pests
Author : Ross Piper
Publisher : ABC-CLIO
Release Date : 2011
Pages : 282
ISBN : 9780313384264
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

" ... Presents an overview of the animals that have the greatest impact on our lives, from the creatures that eat our crops to the ones that invade our homes and those that transmit diseases"--Publisher description.

Book Title : The Parasites
Author : Daphne Du Maurier
Publisher : Hachette UK
Release Date : 2012-06-07
Pages : 352
ISBN : 9781405518130
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

'When people play the game: Name three or four persons whom you would choose to have with you on a desert island - they never choose the Delaneys. They don't even choose us one by one as individuals. We have earned, not always fairly we consider, the reputation of being difficult guests . . .' Maria, Niall and Celia have grown up in the shadow of their famous parents - their father, a flamboyant singer and their mother, a talented dancer. Now pursuing their own creative dreams, all three siblings feel an undeniable bond, but it is Maria and Niall who share the secret of their parents' pasts. Alternately comic and poignant, The Parasites is based on the artistic milieu its author knew best, and draws the reader effortlessly into that magical world.

Book Title : Accelerando
Author : Charles Stross
Publisher : Hachette UK
Release Date : 2010-11-04
Pages : 448
ISBN : 9780748124121
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

His most ambitious novel to date, ACCELERANDO is a multi-generational saga following a brilliant clan of 21st-century posthumans. The year is some time between 2010 and 2015. The recession has ended, but populations are ageing and the rate of tech change is accelerating dizzyingly. Manfred makes his living from spreading ideas around, putting people in touch with one another and leaving a spray of technologies in his wake. He lives at the cutting edge of intelligence amplification technology, but even Manfred can take on too much. And when his pet robot cat picks up some interesting information from the SETI data, his world - and the world of his descendants - is turned on its head.