lake effect

Book Title : The Lake Effect
Author : Erin McCahan
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date : 2017-07-11
Pages : 400
ISBN : 9781101625989
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A funny, bracing, poignant YA romance and coming-of-age for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, and The Beginning of Everything lake effect | n. 1. The effect of any lake, especially the Great Lakes, in modifying the weather in nearby areas 2. The effect of elderly ladies, mysterious girls, and countless funerals, in upending your life, one summer at the beach It’s the summer after senior year, and Briggs Henry is out the door. He's leaving behind his ex-girlfriend and his parents’ money troubles for Lake Michigan and its miles of sandy beaches, working a summer job as a personal assistant, and living in a gorgeous Victorian on the shore. It's the kind of house Briggs plans to buy his parents one day when he’s a multi-millionaire. But then he gets there. And his eighty-four-year-old boss tells him to put on a suit for her funeral. So begins a summer of social gaffes, stomach cramps, fraught beach volleyball games, moonlit epiphanies, and a drawer full of funeral programs. Add to this Abigail, the mystifying girl next door on whom Briggs's charms just won’t work, and “the lake effect” is taking on a whole new meaning. Smart, funny, and honest, The Lake Effect is about realizing that playing along is playing it safe, and that you can only become who you truly are if you’re willing to take the risk. "Vibrant and smart . . . Perfect to tote around on vacation." —Bustle “Every word glows with brilliance." —Francisco X. Stork, author of Marcelo in the Real World "Dazzlingly hilarious . . . Erin McCahan is the reigning queen of summer YA reads." —PopSugar “Observant, sarcastic, compelling, and very funny.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “Summer romance at its best." —HelloGiggles “The perfect smart, beachside read. . . . Unforgettable.” —Stephanie Elliot, author of Sad Perfect "Elegant and touching." —Publishers Weekly “Refreshingly honest and real. . . . An absolute must-read.” —Elise Allen, co-author of Elixir “Funny and poignant." —PureWow "Thought provoking—and at times hilarious . . . A great summer read." —SLJ

Book Title : Lake Effect
Author : Nancy A. Nichols
Publisher : Island Press
Release Date : 2010-03-18
Pages : 208
ISBN : 9781597265232
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

On her deathbed, Sue asked her sister for one thing: to write about the connection between the industrial pollution in their hometown and the rare cancer that was killing her. Fulfilling that promise has been Nancy Nichols’ mission for more than a decade. Lake Effect is the story of her investigation. It reaches back to their childhood in Waukegan, Illinois, an industrial town on Lake Michigan once known for good factory jobs and great fishing. Now Waukegan is famous for its Superfund sites: as one resident put it, asbestos to the north, PCBs to the south. Drawing on her experience as a journalist, Nichols interviewed dozens of scientists, doctors, and environmentalists to determine if these pollutants could have played a role in her sister’s death. While researching Sue’s cancer, she discovered her own: a vicious though treatable form of pancreatic cancer. Doctors and even family urged her to forget causes and concentrate on cures, but Nichols knew that it was relentless questioning that had led to her diagnosis. And that it is questioning—by government as well as individuals—that could save other lives. Lake Effect challenges us to ask why. It is the fulfillment of a sister’s promise. And it is a call to stop the pollution that is endangering the health of all our families.

Book Title : Lake Effect
Author : Mike Savage
Publisher : Savage Press
Release Date : 2002-05
Pages : 312
ISBN : 1886028443
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Alphonse "Dave" Davecki, Superior Wisconsin's celebrated detective, is recovered from his tangle with a mad arsonist and the challenge of solving the riddle of the infamous "mystery barrels" dumped in Lake Superior back in the '50s and '60s. Now, instead of getting a rest, he finds the body of his friend Little Willie Horton floating in the icy water. With help from the lake herself, Davecki solves the murder and saves the Big lake from being sold to the highest bidder.

Book Title : Lake Effect
Author : Rich Cohen
Publisher : Vintage
Release Date : 2007-12-18
Pages : 224
ISBN : 9780307426543
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A New York Times Notable Book Winner of the Great Lakes Book Award and the 21st Century Award from the Chicago Public Library Raised in an affluent suburb on the North Shore of Chicago, Rich Cohen had a cluster of interesting friends, but none more interesting than Jamie Drew. Fatherless, reckless, and lower middle class in a place that wasn’t, Jamie possessed such an irresistible insouciance and charm that even the teachers called him Drew-licious. Through the high school years of parties and Cub games and girls, of summer nights on the beach and forbidden forays into the blues bars of Chicago’s notorious South Side, the two formed an inseparable bond. Even after Cohen went to college in New Orleans (Jamie went to Kansas) and then moved to New York, where he had a memorable interlude with the legendary New Yorker writer Joseph Mitchell, Jamie remained oddly crucial to his life. Exquisite and taut, Lake Effect is a bittersweet coming-of-age story that quietly bores to the essence of friendship and how it survives even as it is destined to change. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Book Title : Lake Effect
Author : Darlene and Logan Pollock
Publisher : Trafford Publishing
Release Date : 2014-03
Pages : 538
ISBN : 9781490729473
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A tale of lake freighters as told through the eyes of 26-year-old Nicholette Strickland.

Book Title : Lake Effect Snow
Author : C.P. Rowlands
Publisher : Bold Strokes Books Inc
Release Date : 2008-09-01
Pages : 256
ISBN : 9781602823440
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Renowned international news correspondent Annie T. Booker has covered Iraq for over three years when a friend and colleague is killed, and Annie is injured in Baghdad. Exhausted, she returns stateside to recover. However, life at home is not the sanctuary it has always been. Her name is on an Iraqi hit list, her partner of ten years has left, she is betrayed by a friend, and her TV network wants the FBI in her life full time. When the danger escalates, senior FBI agent Sarah Moore is assigned to her case. Annie and Sarah struggle to stay one step ahead of disaster as Annie's life becomes the war zone she once reported on.

Book Title : The Lake Effect
Author : Les Roberts
Publisher : Gray & Company, Publishers
Release Date : 2005-06-01
Pages : 282
ISBN : 9781598510058
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

When moisture gathers over a large lake, the snow seems to cover every sin and crime. Milan Jacovich knows better. He's off to the Cleveland suburb of Lake Erie Shores to guard mayoral candidate Barbara Corns. When her opponent's wife is killed, Jacovich is led into a stew of organized crime, a child porno ring, a vengeful cop, and a jealous lover. Martin's Press.

Book Title : Lake Effect
Author : Nicole Tone
Publisher :
Release Date : 2018-09-25
Pages : 308
ISBN : 1941541291
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

After the death of her fiance, Sophie Daniels is struggling to keep herself together. Sophie learns the hard way what happens when a man cannot take responsibility for his own actions. Now she's back to square one in pulling herself back together. She's lost parts of herself she's not sure she'll ever get back.

Book Title : The Lake Effect
Author : Leigh Michaels
Publisher :
Release Date : 1993-08-01
Pages : 189
ISBN : 0373032757
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Book Title : Lake Effect Country Poems
Author : A. R. Ammons
Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
Release Date : 1983-04-17
Pages :
ISBN : 9781324003700
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Lake Effect Country is the newest collection by the poet whom the critic Josephine Jacobsen has described as "a formidable and outstandingly original contributor to the best of American poetry." Presenting the National Book Critics Circle Award in Poetry for 1981 to Ammons's A Coast of Trees Richard Locke, editor-in-chief of Vanity Fair, said, in part: "In the thirty years since A. R. Ammons published his first poems, he has fashioned a body of work that achieves a rare amplitude, specific gravity, and high seriousness. He is a poet of the American Sublime—a nature poet, as we say—standing in the tradition of Wordsworth, Emerson, and Whitman. Amidst the hue and cry of contemporary poetical factions, his work pursues its own integrity: clear, unblinking in its self-knowledge, remarkable for its radiant density of argument and feeling."