how humans evolved

Book Title : How Humans Evolved
Author : Robert Boyd
Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
Release Date : 2014-09-16
Pages : 440
ISBN : 9780393936773
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

How Humans Evolved teaches the processes that shape human evolution with a unique blend of evolutionary theory, population genetics, and behavioral ecology. The new edition continues to offer the most up-to-date research—in particular, significantly revised coverage of how recent discoveries are shaping our history of human evolution—while now giving you the best tools to engage your students in and out of the classroom.

Book Title : How Humans Evolved
Author : Robert Boyd (Ph. D.)
Publisher : W W Norton & Company Incorporated
Release Date : 2009
Pages : 474
ISBN : 0393932710
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

With its unique blend of evolutionary theory, population genetics and behavioral ecology, How Humans Evolved provides students with the most contemporary and complete introduction to physical anthropology available. Robert Boyd and Joan B. Silk’s modern presentation of genetics and observable behaviors in living humans and non-human primates moves beyond merely describing anthropological finds to showing students the “big picture” ideas behind human evolution. For the Fifth Edition, Boyd and Silk have updated the text to include the best of current research in the areas of genetics, behavior and the fossil record that conveys the excitement of anthropological discovery. This new coverage reflects strengthened coverage of molecular genetics and a streamlined presentation of primatology. Features Up-to-date, with forward-looking content How Humans Evolved weaves the best of current research with classic material in a way students find accessible and compelling. For the Fifth Edition, Boyd and Silk have streamlined the coverage of primatology in Part II: Primate Ecology and Behavior. They have also strengthened the coverage of molecular genetics to include new content reflecting the growing importance of genetics to anthropological research. A focus on behavioral ecology How Humans Evolved focuses on the science behind what we know about human evolution by examining the connection between genetics and observable behavior in living humans and primates. Specifically: Part II: Primate Ecology and Behavior includes extensive coverage of behavior with full chapters on primate mating systems, cooperation and life histories and the evolution of intelligence. These chapters come before coverage of the fossil record, providing students with context for how humans lived in the past and how we evolved into who we are today. Two chapters in Part IV: Evolution and Modern Humans directly address human behavior and human mate choice and parenting, topics students find fascinating and relevant to their own lives. Accessible art and text Boyd and Silk use figures in unique, clever and accessible ways-such as using the children's game 'Cooties' to describe speciation and presenting fossil comparisons with the same orientation and scale-to convey important chapter concepts. Highlighted Key Idea statements focus students' attention on each chapter's most important concepts. Study questions at the end of every chapter extend and apply chapter readings to related concepts discussed throughout the text. With its unique blend of evolutionary theory, population genetics and behavioral ecology, How Humans Evolved provides students with the most contemporary and complete introduction to physical anthropology available. Robert Boyd and Joan B. Silk's modern presentation of genetics and observable behaviors in living humans and non-human primates moves beyond merely describing anthropological finds to showing students the 'big picture' ideas behind human evolution. For the Fifth Edition, Boyd and Silk have updated the text to include the best of current research in the areas of genetics, behavior and the fossil record that conveys the excitement of anthropological discovery. This new coverage reflects strengthened coverage of molecular genetics and a streamlined presentation of primatology.

Book Title : How Humans Evolved Eighth Edition
Author : Robert Boyd
Publisher :
Release Date : 2017
Pages : 496
ISBN : 039328980X
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Book Title : Transcendence
Author : Gaia Vince
Publisher : Hachette UK
Release Date : 2020-01-21
Pages : 352
ISBN : 9780465094912
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

In the tradition of Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, a winner of the Royal Society Prize for Science Books shows how four tools enabled has us humans to control the destiny of our species "A wondrous, visionary work." --Tim Flannery, scientist and author of the bestselling The Weather Makers What enabled us to go from simple stone tools to smartphones? How did bands of hunter-gatherers evolve into multinational empires? Readers of Sapiens will say a cognitive revolution -- a dramatic evolutionary change that altered our brains, turning primitive humans into modern ones -- caused a cultural explosion. In Transcendence, Gaia Vince argues instead that modern humans are the product of a nuanced coevolution of our genes, environment, and culture that goes back into deep time. She explains how, through four key elements -- fire, language, beauty, and time -- our species diverged from the evolutionary path of all other animals, unleashing a compounding process that launched us into the Space Age and beyond. Provocative and poetic, Transcendence shows how a primate took dominion over nature and turned itself into something marvelous.

Book Title : Human Evolution
Author : Bernard Grant Campbell
Publisher : Transaction Publishers
Release Date : 1967
Pages : 523
ISBN : 0202366626
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

In this new fourth edition, Campbell has revised and updated his classic introduction to the field. Human Evolution synthesizes the major findings of modern research and theory and presents a complete and integrated account of the evolution of human beings. New developments in microbiology and recent fossil records are incorporated into the enormous range of this volume, with the resulting text as lucid and comprehensive as earlier editions. The fourth edition retains the thematic structure and organization of the third, with its cogent treatment of human variability and speciation, primate locomotion, and nonverbal communication and the evolution of language, supported by more than 150 detailed illustrations and an expanded and updated glossary and bibliography. As in prior editions, the book treats evolution as a concomitant development of the main behavioral and functional complexes of the genus Homo among them motor control and locomotion, mastication and digestion, the senses and reproduction. It analyzes each complex in terms of its changing function, and continually stresses how the separate complexes evolve interdependently over the long course of the human journey. All these aspects are placed within the context of contemporary evolutionary and genetic theory, analyses of the varied extensions of the fossil record, and contemporary primatology and comparative morphology. The result is a primary text for undergraduate and graduate courses, one that will also serve as required reading for anthropologists, biologists, and nonspecialists with an interest in human evolution. "Synthesizes the conventional academic thought into a textbook or detailed account for lay readers. Along the chronological narrative are discussions of progress in homeostasis, the primate radiation, locomotion and the hindlimb, function and structure of the head, reproduction and social structure, and culture and society." Book News Bernard Campbell has been a visiting lecturer at Harvard and Cambridge, and has taught and conducted research in Eastern and Southern Africa. He was professor of anthropology at the University of California, Los Angeles, from 1970-76. Dr. Campbell is author/coauthor of Sexual Selection and the Descent of Man; Human Ecology (second edition, Aldine); Humankind Emerging and the definitive three-volume Catalogue of Fossil Hominids.

Book Title : Aspects of Human Evolution
Author : Rudolf Steiner
Publisher : SteinerBooks
Release Date : 1987
Pages : 186
ISBN : 0880102527
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

8 lectures, Berlin, May 29-July 24, 1917 (CW 176) How to Keep Your Soul Alive after Twenty-Seven This could have been the title of this book. The author shows that the natural development of the soul stops at around the age of twenty-seven. After that, nothing happens for our inner being unless we learn to make it happen. Part of the tragic nature of our time is that more and more people allow their soul life to die at twenty-seven, so that the remainder of their life becomes a kind of mummification. Steiner explains how, by exerting our thinking and feeling, we can keep our soul alive and growing. This is ultimately the only way we can make this incarnation a satisfactory one. Through such effort, we can continue to develop inwardly until a very advanced age--each year, becoming richer and more interesting than the one before. Aspects of Human Evolutionis a book that gives real meaning to the idea that we live in a state of becoming This book is a translation from German of Menschliche und menschheitliche Entwicklungswahrheiten. Das Karma des Materialismus (vol. 176 in the Bibliographic Survey).

Book Title : Human Origins 101
Author : Holly M. Dunsworth
Publisher : ABC-CLIO
Release Date : 2007
Pages : 192
ISBN : 0313336733
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Profiles the basic concepts underlying our knowledge of our evolution as a species.

Book Title : Race and Human Evolution
Author : Milford H. Wolpoff
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release Date : 1997-01-01
Pages : 462
ISBN : 9780684810133
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Drawing on a close examination of the fossil record and DNA evidence, this authoritative work by leading researchers challenges the popular "Eve" theory of human origins and posits a bold, controversial new account of human evolution and racial differences. Wolpoff is a professor of human anthroplogy and Caspari is an assistant research scientist. Maps and illustrations.

Book Title : Human Evolution
Author : Rusty Huddle
Publisher : Encyclopaedia Britannica
Release Date : 2016-12-09
Pages : 134
ISBN : 9781508103554
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Book Title : How Humans Evolved 6e EBook Folder
Author : Robert Boyd (Ph. D.)
Publisher :
Release Date : 2012-06-19
Pages :
ISBN : 039312052X
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS: