guillermo del toro

Guillermo Del Toro
Author: Keith McDonald
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
Release Date: 2014-02-27
Pages: 248
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A critical exploration of one of the most exciting, original and influential figures to emerge in contemporary film, Guillermo del Toro: Film as Alchemic Art is a major contribution to the analysis of Guillermo del Toro's cinematic output. It offers an in-depth discussion of del Toro's oeuvre and investigates key ideas, recurrent motifs and subtle links between his movies. The book explores the sources that del Toro draws upon and transforms in the creation of his rich and complex body of work. These include the literary, artistic and cinematic influences on films such as Pan's Labyrinth, The Devil's Backbone, Cronos and Mimic, and the director's engagement with comic book culture in his two Hellboy films, Blade II and Pacific Rim. As well as offering extensive close textual analysis, the authors also consider del Toro's considerable impact on wider popular culture, including a discussion of his role as producer, ambassador for 'geek' culture and figurehead in new international cinema.

The Transnational Fantasies Of Guillermo Del Toro
Author: A. Davies
Publisher: Springer
Release Date: 2014-10-02
Pages: 210
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Offering a multifaceted approach to the Mexican-born director Guillermo del Toro, this volume examines his wide-ranging oeuvre and traces the connections between his Spanish language and English language commercial and art film projects.

The Shape Of Water
Author: Guillermo del Toro
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Release Date: 2018-03-06
Pages: 384
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The Academy Award's Best Picture of the year is now the New York Times-bestselling, must-read novel of 2018. "[A] phenomenally enrapturing and reverberating work of art in its own right...[that] vividly illuminates the minds of the characters, greatly enhancing our understanding of their temperaments and predicaments and providing more expansive and involving story lines." —Booklist Visionary storyteller Guillermo del Toro and celebrated author Daniel Kraus combine their estimable talent in this haunting, heartbreaking love story. It is 1962, and Elisa Esposito—mute her whole life, orphaned as a child—is struggling with her humdrum existence as a janitor working the graveyard shift at Baltimore’s Occam Aerospace Research Center. Were it not for Zelda, a protective coworker, and Giles, her loving neighbor, she doesn’t know how she’d make it through the day. Then, one fateful night, she sees something she was never meant to see, the Center’s most sensitive asset ever: an amphibious man, captured in the Amazon, to be studied for Cold War advancements. The creature is terrifying but also magnificent, capable of language and of understanding emotions...and Elisa can’t keep away. Using sign language, the two learn to communicate. Soon, affection turns into love, and the creature becomes Elisa’s sole reason to live. But outside forces are pressing in. Richard Strickland, the obsessed soldier who tracked the asset through the Amazon, wants nothing more than to dissect it before the Russians get a chance to steal it. Elisa has no choice but to risk everything to save her beloved. With the help of Zelda and Giles, Elisa hatches a plan to break out the creature. But Strickland is on to them. And the Russians are, indeed, coming. Developed from the ground up as a bold two-tiered release—one story interpreted by two artists in the independent mediums of literature and film—The Shape of Water is unlike anything you’ve ever read or seen. “Most movie novelizations do little more than write down what audiences see on the screen. But the novel that’s accompanying Guillermo del Toro’s new movie The Shape of Water is no mere adaptation. Co-author Daniel Kraus’ book and the film tell the same story, of a mute woman who falls in love with an imprisoned and equally mute creature, in two very different ways.” —io9 Praise for The Shape of Water directed by Guillermo del Toro Winner of the 2018 Academy Award for Best Picture Winner of the 2018 Academy Award for Best Director Winner of the 2018 Academy Award for Music (Original Score) Winner of the 2018 Academy Award for Production Design Winner of the 2018 Golden Globe Award for Best Director of a Motion Picture "With encouragement from critics and awards voters, discerning viewers should make Fox Searchlight’s December release the season’s classiest date movie—for perhaps the greatest of The Shape of Water’s many surprises is how extravagantly romantic it is.” —Variety "It is never less than magnificent.” —TheDaily Beast "A visually and emotionally ravishing fantasy that should find a welcome embrace from audiences starved for imaginative escape.” —The Hollywood Reporter Awarded the Golden Lion for Best Film at the74th Annual Venice International Film Festival

Trollhunters
Author: Guillermo Del Toro
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Release Date: 2015-07-07
Pages: 320
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The book behind the Netflix series - a funny and gruesome fantasy adventure for fans of Pan's Labyrinth. In San Bernardino, California, children are going missing. The townspeople don't believe the rumours of trolls, but fifteen-year-old Jim Jnr knows that they're a real threat. At night, is anyone safe? Now a Netflix original series, created by Dreamworks Animation.

The Supernatural Cinema Of Guillermo Del Toro
Author: John W. Morehead
Publisher: McFarland
Release Date: 2015-05-21
Pages: 216
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Guillermo del Toro is one of the most prolific artists working in film. His directorial work includes Cronos (1993), Mimic (1997), The Devil's Backbone (2001), Blade II (2002), Hellboy (2004), Pan's Labyrinth (2006), Hellboy II (2008) and Pacific Rim (2013). He has also worked extensively as a producer, with several screenwriting credits to his name. As a novelist he coauthored The Strain Trilogy (2009-2011), which he also developed into a television series for FX in 2014. Del Toro has spoken of the "primal, spiritual function" of his art, which gives expression to his fascination with monsters, myth, archetype, metaphor, Jungian psychology, the paranormal and religion. This collection of new essays discusses cultural, religious and literary influences on del Toro's work and explores key themes of his films, including the child's experience of humanity through encounters with the monstrous.

Del Toro Hogan Standalone Thriller
Author: Guillermo del Toro
Publisher: Harper Collins
Release Date: 2018-01-25
Pages: 320
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

When rookie FBI agent Odessa Hardwicke is forced to kill her partner in a violent confrontation, she is suspended from active duty and left questioning her judgment. She had to shoot, but something else haunts her – something she thought she saw fleeing her partner’s body as he died... While awaiting reinstatement, a paperwork issue leads Odessa to long-retired agent Earl Solomon.. He tells Odessa that there is only one person who can help her uncover the truth – John Silence, Esq. As Odessa and Silence work together, she becomes increasingly suspicious of her mysterious new partner. Who is John Silence, and how does he know so much about the recent outbreak of homicidal mania in New Jersey? According to Silence, a dark occult has unwittingly released a dangerous entity into the city. Feeding off violence and gaining pleasure through death, the Hollow One must be captured before it kills again and again...

The Night Eternal
Author: Guillermo Del Toro
Publisher: Harper Collins
Release Date: 2011-10-25
Pages: 560
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

“The most credible and frightening of all the vampire books of the past decade.” —San Francisco Chronicle “Bram Stoker meets Stephen King meets Michael Crichton. It just doesn’t get much better than this.” —Nelson DeMille The stunning New York Times bestselling vampire saga that author Dan Simmons (Drood, The Terror) calls, “an unholy spawn of I Am Legend out of ‘Salem’s Lot,” concludes with The Night Eternal. The magnificent, if monstrously warped brainchild of cinematic horror master Guillermo del Toro (Pan’s Labyrinth, Hellboy) and Chuck Hogan—whose novel Prince of Thieves, was praised as, “one of the 10 best books of the year” by Stephen King—The Night Eternal begins where The Strain and The Fall left off: with the last remnants of humankind enslaved by the vampire masters in a world forever shrouded by nuclear winter. Still, a small band of the living fights on in the shadows, in the final book of the ingenious dark fantasy trilogy that Newsweek says is, “good enough to make us break that vow to swear off vampire stories.”

The Fall
Author: Guillermo del Toro
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
Release Date: 2010-09-16
Pages: 320
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The tension-filled sequel to THE STRAIN, now a popular Amazon TV show.

Vampire Hunter
Author: David Lapham
Publisher: Dark Horse Comics
Release Date: 2017
Pages: 128
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

"Collects the Dark Horse comic book series The strain: Mister Quinlan, vampire hunter #1-#5, originally published September 2016-January 2017"--Copyright page.

The Strain
Author: David Lapham
Publisher: Dark Horse Comics
Release Date: 2012-11-27
Pages: 376
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

When a Boeing 777 lands at JFK International Airport and goes dark on the runway, the Center for Disease Control, fearing a terrorist attack, calls in Dr. Ephraim Goodweather and his team of expert biological-threat first responders. Only an elderly pawnbroker from Spanish Harlem suspects a darker purpose behind the event--an ancient threat intent on covering mankind in darkness. In one week, Manhattan will be gone. In one month, the country. In two months--the world. This horrifying first chapter introduces an outbreak of diabolical proportions that puts a terrifying twist on the vampire genre! Collects issues #1 through #6.