girl in pieces

Book Title : Girl in Pieces
Author : Kathleen Glasgow
Publisher : Oneworld Publications
Release Date : 2016-10-06
Pages : 416
ISBN : 9781786071392
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Charlie Davis is in pieces. At seventeen, she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget it through cutting; the pain washes out the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. She doesn't have to think about her father or what happened under the bridge. Her best friend, Ellis, who is gone forever. Or the mother who has nothing left to give her. Kicked out of a special treatment center when her insurance runs out, Charlie finds herself in the bright and wild landscape of Tucson, Arizona, where she begins the unthinkable: the long journey of putting herself back together.

Book Title : Gabi a Girl in Pieces
Author : Isabel Quintero
Publisher : Cinco Puntos Press
Release Date : 2014-09-22
Pages : 208
ISBN : 9781935955962
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Named to Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2014 Named to School Library Journal Best Books of 2014 Gabi Hernandez chronicles her last year in high school in her diary: college applications, Cindy's pregnancy, Sebastian's coming out, the cute boys, her father's meth habit, and the food she craves. And best of all, the poetry that helps forge her identity. July 24 My mother named me Gabriella, after my grandmother who, coincidentally, didn't want to meet me when I was born because my mother was unmarried, and therefore living in sin. My mom has told me the story many, many, MANY, times of how, when she confessed to my grandmother that she was pregnant with me, her mother beat her. BEAT HER! She was twenty-five. That story is the basis of my sexual education and has reiterated why it's important to wait until you're married to give it up. So now, every time I go out with a guy, my mom says, "Ojos abiertos, piernas cerradas." Eyes open, legs closed. That's as far as the birds and the bees talk has gone. And I don't mind it. I don't necessarily agree with that whole wait until you're married crap, though. I mean, this is America and the 21st century; not Mexico one hundred years ago. But, of course, I can't tell my mom that because she will think I'm bad. Or worse: trying to be White. Isabel Quintero is a library technician in the Inland Empire. She is also the events coordinator for Orange Monkey and helps edit the poetry journal Tin Cannon. Gabi is her debut novel.

Book Title : Girl Made of Stars
Author : Ashley Herring Blake
Publisher : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Release Date : 2018-05-15
Pages : 304
ISBN : 9781328476692
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

For readers of Girl in Pieces and The Way I Used to Be comes an emotionally gripping story about facing hard truths in the aftermath of sexual assault. Mara and Owen are as close as twins can get, so when Mara’s friend Hannah accuses Owen of rape, Mara doesn't know what to think. Can her brother really be guilty of such a violent act? Torn between her family and her sense of right and wrong, Mara feels lost, and it doesn’t help that things are strained with her ex-girlfriend, Charlie. As Mara, Hannah, and Charlie come together in the aftermath of this terrible crime, Mara must face a trauma from her own past and decide where Charlie fits into her future. With sensitivity and openness, this timely novel confronts the difficult questions surrounding consent, victim blaming, and sexual assault.

Book Title : Odalisque in Pieces
Author : Carmen GimŽnez Smith
Publisher : University of Arizona Press
Release Date : 2009
Pages : 62
ISBN : 0816527881
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

In her debut poetry collection, Carmen GimŽnez Smith illuminates Latina identity in the prismatic light of postcolonial history, feminism, myth, and the fragmentation of modernity. From these disparate elements she fashions a female personaÑÒclairvoyant with great shoesÓÑwho is both bracingly modern and movingly vulnerable. Through her poems we traverse the landscape of a womanÕs life (girl, mother, lover), navigating a terrain tinted with mythology and relic yet still fresh and uncharted. The poems revolve around issues of identityÑand the ways in which identity is both inherited and constructed/reconstructed. Or, as one poem puts it, ÒThe planet floating backwards / whirling some of us older than the stars, some of us nascent and bare.Ó Although she employs techniques of avant-garde poetry, GimŽnez Smith shades and deepens the New World landscape into a territory of rare lyric intensity and energy. Humorous, sly, sexy, sophisticated, these poems are animated by passion and hard-won knowledge. In these poems we encounter such strange beauties as a girl assembling and disassembling, a moth trapped in a glass of water, new-age fairy godmothers, and a lark who sings for the milkman. Yet we are also made aware of how these beauties reflect the speakerÕs troublesÑher effort to employ, in the words of one of her most memorable poems, ÒOnly the invisible post where she writes the encounters / with airÕs lusters. Only the imagined hour / with which sheÕs made a fragile craft.Ó Vivid and charged with an inner light, these are poems that linger and expand in the mind and memory.

Book Title : Kentucky Folktales
Author : Mary Hamilton
Publisher : University Press of Kentucky
Release Date : 2012-05-22
Pages : 232
ISBN : 9780813140308
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The storytelling tradition has long been an important piece of Kentucky history and culture. Folktales, legends, tall tales, and ghost stories hold a special place in the imaginations of inventive storytellers and captive listeners. In Kentucky Folktales: Revealing Stories, Truths, and Outright Lies Kentucky storyteller Mary Hamilton narrates a range of stories with the voice and creativity only a master storyteller can evoke. Hamilton has perfected the art of entrancing an audience no matter the subject of her tales. Kentucky Folktales includes stories about Daniel Boone's ability to single-handedly kill a bear, a daughter who saves her father's land by outsmarting the king, and a girl who uses gingerbread to exact revenge on her evil stepmother, among many others. Hamilton ends each story with personal notes on important details of her storytelling craft, such as where she first heard the story, how it evolved through frequent re-tellings and reactions from audiences, and where the stories take place. Featuring tales and legends from all over the Bluegrass State, Kentucky Folktales captures the expression of Kentucky's storytelling tradition.

Book Title : HENRY IN PIECES
Author : Keith Chater
Publisher : Xlibris Corporation
Release Date : 2010-05-13
Pages : 235
ISBN : 9781450086134
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A victim of corporate downsizing in the bank at which he has worked for thirty years and trapped in an unhappy marriage, Henry Earl considers his future. He thinks about his life and how he came to be where he is today. He remembers his father: a force of nature and, sadly, a man as deaf as Henry has become. Recalling the events of both their lives—their laughter, their loves, and their tragedies—Henry weighs the past and the present and comes to a decision about what to do next in this dark comic tale.

Book Title : Theatre in Pieces Politics Poetics and Interdisciplinary Collaboration
Author : Anna Furse
Publisher : A&C Black
Release Date : 2014-05-08
Pages : 416
ISBN : 9781408139981
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Theatre in Pieces: politics, poetics and interdisciplinary collaboration is an innovative compilation of seven highly acclaimed productions by key practitioners of non-playwright-driven theatre. Each playtext is reproduced in full and accompanied by extensive notes from members of the original producing theatre. A substantial introduction by Anna Furse provides an overview of the works and contextualises their reading by revealing how a script can emerge from or provoke a collaborative devising process. The works featured include: Hotel Methuselah, Imitating the Dog/Pete Brooks; Don Juan.Who?/Don Juan.Kdo?, Athletes of the Heart; A Girl Skipping, Graeme Miller; Trans-Acts, Julia Bardsley; US, 1966 (with an introduction by Peter Brook); Miss America, Split Britches and 48 Minutes for Palestine, Mojisola Adebayo and Ashtar Theatre. The notion of writing for interdisciplinary collaboration is at the core of the selected plays which makes this a very unique collection and the extensive Introduction and notes make this an invaluable resource for any student of theatre and performance.

Book Title : In Pieces
Author : Nick Hopton
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
Release Date : 2014-09-09
Pages : 268
ISBN : 9781448214563
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Si is 28 and unsure of what he wants – in his job, his love life, even just for dinner. The only thing he's certain of is his friendship with Jimmy, a late-twenties professional footballer in a career he fears has stalled. Through their uncertainty and just plain lethargy, the two men anchor each other with regular catch-ups at their local, The Feathers. But little do they know that The Feathers is more than just a great place for a pint and a chin-wag; it's also a hub for a London-based IRA cell. Plans are being formed – dangerous ones – while Si and Jimmy drink away their quarter-life crises. And just as the guys start to get everything figured out – against the roller-coaster backdrop of Manchester United's Double Double season, and the media and politics of mid-1990s Britain – something happens that threatens to blow it all up. "A wry, intelligent story of London life in the nineties" - New York Post

Book Title : Been There Done That
Author : Deborah Bishop-Malamou
Publisher : Xlibris Corporation
Release Date : 2011-03-18
Pages : 200
ISBN : 9781456879112
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Book Title : Girl in Landscape
Author : Jonathan Lethem
Publisher : Vintage
Release Date : 2011-04-13
Pages : 288
ISBN : 0307791777
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

One the irrepressibly inventive Jonathan Lethem could weld science fiction and the Western into a mesmerizing novel of exploration and otherness, sexual awakening and loss. At the age of 13 Pella Marsh loses her mother and her home on the scorched husk that is planet Earth. Her sorrowing family emigrates to the Planet of the Archbuilders, whose mysterious inhabitants have names like Lonely Dumptruck and Hiding Kneel—and a civilization that and frightens their human visitors. On this new world, spikily independent Pella becomes as uneasy envoy between two species. And at the same time is unwilling drawn to a violent loner who embodies all the paranoid machismo of the frontier ethic. Combining the tragic grandeur of John Ford's The Searchers and the sexual tension of Lolita and transporting them to a planet light years, Girl in Landscape is a tour de force.