firefly

The Firefly
Author: P. T. Deutermann
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Release Date: 2010-04-01
Pages: 352
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

At midnight, in a secret medical clinic in Washington, D.C., two foreign doctors and their team are completing plastic surgery on an anonymous client who is changing the appearance of his face, among other things. After the procedure, the client begins to stir-and suddenly the operating room erupts in violence and the clinic is ablaze. Washington police conduct an arson investigation, with inconclusive results. But one tantalizing fragment of evidence suggests that a terrorist bombing may be imminent. The presidential inauguration is quickly approaching and Washington's police, fire, intelligence, military, federal, and White House security teams are making frantic preparations. Because of the strain on manpower, retired Secret Service agent Swamp Morgan is recalled to active duty. His task: investigate the incineration of the medical clinic as a "firefly"- Washington-speak for something that looks like a threat but isn't. As Swamp begins what he thinks is a routine check-and-dismiss, the clinic's missing client begins preparations for his mission: to launch an attack on the American government - a decapitation strike intended to wipe out both the outgoing and incoming administrations. As the crucial day approaches, Swamp, the only agent to take the firefly seriously, must operate alone as the clock clicks down to a breathtaking finale. Filled with brilliant twists and turns and heart-in-your throat suspense, Firefly offers first class entertainment from beginning to end.

The Firefly
Author: Rudolf Friml
Publisher:
Release Date: 1912
Pages: 167
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Firefly  4
Author: Greg Pak
Publisher: Boom! Studios
Release Date: 2019-03-13
Pages: 32
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The truth about Mal and Zoe's past during the Unification War has been exposed and now the Unificators make their final move against them in the shocking conclusion to the first arc! New enemies arise, heroes fall and the crew of Serenity will pay the price.

Firefly
Author: Michelle A. Cornelson
Publisher: iUniverse
Release Date: 2011-10-19
Pages: 292
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Someone is burning Baltimore. At night, sirens shriek through the air as red light blazes in the night sky. Businesses and houses are burning. There’s a madman on the loose, and it’s not just about the fire—he’s getting pretty fond of killing, too. There aren’t any leads, but there is a terrible media frenzy that gives this monster the nickname “Firefly.” Dr. McKayla MacDonald doesn’t want to see her beautiful city burned to the ground, but she also doesn’t want to get involved with the investigation. As a successful psychologist, she’s happy to assist the county fire department as a counselor. She has no idea that her decision to be a Good Samaritan has brought her to the attention of the last person she wants knowing her name and address. Firefly is on her tail, and McKayla suspects he may have been from the beginning. Using her extensive knowledge of the human psyche, the good doctor might be able to point authorities to their arsonist. Yet as the city burns, Firefly comes closer. Is he crazy enough to end up on McKayla’s doorstep with fire in hand? She must solve the case before her family becomes his target. “Firefly is a riveting and intriguing novel that is aglow with sparks, suspense and mystique. Cornelson is an accomplished and gifted writer who keeps the reader captivated from the very first page.” —Shirley Erickson, MS, Sixth-Year Certificate in Reading Education

Firefly
Author: Janette Jenkins
Publisher: Random House
Release Date: 2013-06-27
Pages: 224
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

On a secluded hillside in Jamaica lies Firefly, Noël Coward’s peaceful retreat. Here, between sundowners and sunsets, brandies and cigarettes, the seventy-one-year-old Coward whiles away his days – a comforting, frustrating pattern of unwanted breakfasts, reluctant walks, graceless dips in the pool – in the company of his manservant Patrice. Both of them dream of a London that is long-gone or imagined: Noël’s peopled with glamorous friends – Redgrave, Olivier, O’Toole – and Patrice’s a picture-postcard vision of elegance and opportunity. Set over a series of summer days in the early 1970s, Firefly flits through Coward’s dreams and memories, his successes and regrets, against a sultry, seductive backdrop of blue skies and glistening water. 'A delightful read' Ian McKellen

Firefly Hollow
Author: Alison McGhee
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Release Date: 2015-08-18
Pages: 304
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Firefly. Cricket. Vole. Peter. Can four creatures from four very different Nations help one another find their ways in a world that can feel oh-so-big? Delve into this “wise and lovely reading adventure” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) in the tradition of Charlotte’s Web and The Rats of NIMH, from the author of the New York Times bestselling Someday. “Firefly Hollow will set your heart aglow” (ALA Booklist, starred review). Firefly doesn’t merely want to fly, she wants to touch the moon. Cricket doesn’t merely want to sing about baseball, he wants to catch. When these two little creatures with big dreams wander out of Firefly Hollow, refusing to listen to their elders, they find themselves face-to-face with the one creature they were always told to stay away from…a giant. But Peter is a Miniature Giant. They’ve always been told that a Miniature Giant is nothing but a Future Giant, but this one just isn’t quite as big or as scary as the other Giants. Peter has a dream of his own, as well as memories to escape. He is overwhelmed with sadness, and a summer with his new unlikely friends Firefly and Cricket might be just what he needs. Can these friends’ dreams help them overcome the past? Firefly Hollow is nothing short of enchanting, reminding us all that the very best friend is the one who encourages you to achieve your dreams. Full-color tip-in illustrations and dozens of black-and-white drawings provide added glow.

Firefly
Author: Jen Minkman
Publisher: Dutch Venture Publishing
Release Date:
Pages: 30
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

As decreed by the State, the Citizens of Ebrus are not allowed to: Visit the ocean surrounding the Walled City. Ignore curfew and stay out after seven. Call in sick more than three times a year. Sing. A short, dystopian story about the spirit of Christmas. keywords: free book, gratis, holiday stories, dystopian

Firefly Revisited
Author: Michael Goodrum
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
Release Date: 2015-02-02
Pages: 226
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A short lived series created by Joss Whedon, Firefly nonetheless developed such a loyal following that Whedon was compelled to write and direct a big screen sequel in 2005. The show continues to generate a life of its own in books and comic books. This collection of twelve essays focuses on a number of themes including colonialism, race, gender, and politics.

Firefly
Author: Severo Sarduy
Publisher: Archipelago
Release Date: 2013-03-05
Pages: 240
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Firefly is a dream-like evocation of pre-war Cuba, replete with hurricanes, mystical cults and slave-markets. The story is the coming-of-age of a precocious and exuberant boy with an oversized head and underdeveloped sense of direction, who views the world as a threatening conspiracy. Told in breathless and lyrical prose, the novel is a loving rendition of a long-lost home, a meditation on exile, and an allegory of Cuba’s isolation in the world. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Firefly
Author: Jennifer Kilgore
Publisher: AuthorHouse
Release Date: 2012-01-27
Pages: 376
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

On the surface, Chloe Steele appears to be a normal eighteen-year-old girl, but underneath, she carries a dark secret. This secret propels her onto a journey that takes her to rural southeast Alabama, where she serves as a live-in caregiver for the elderly Les and Nellie Grady while attending the local college. When she meets the handsome, yet mysterious Will Finncannon, however, Chloe’s path of self-discovery takes a dark turn, leading her into a world she never knew existed--a world where the line between fantasy and reality is sometimes blurred.