fairytale

Book Title: The Fairytale as Art Form and Portrait of Man
Author: Max Lüthi
Publisher: Indiana University Press
Release Date: 1984
Pages: 207
ISBN: 0253320992
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

In this major work by the distinguished Swiss folklorist Max LA1/4thi, the traditional fairytale is examined from two related points of view, that of aesthetics and that of anthropology. LA1/4thi shows that fairytales are more than just a pleasing form; they present a particular way of looking at the world and at human existence. Thus, they must be evaluated in terms of what they say about man and the human condition. This exemplary study will be read with enjoyment and profit not only by the literary scholar and folklore professional but by any reader who has ever delighted in fairytales.

Book Title: Fairytale in the Ancient World
Author: Graham Anderson
Publisher: Routledge
Release Date: 2002-01-04
Pages: 256
ISBN: 9781134560455
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

In this, the first modern study of the ancient fairytale, Graham Anderson asks whether the familiar children's fairytale of today existed in the ancient world. He examines texts from the classical period and finds many stories which resemble those we know today, including: * a Jewish Egyptian Cinderella * a Snow White whose enemy is the goddess Artemis * a Pied Piper at Troy. He puts forward many previously unsuspected candidates as classical variants of the modern fairytale and argues that the degree of violence and cruelty in the ancient tales means they must have been meant for adults.

Book Title: Kafka Gothic and Fairytale
Author: Patrick Bridgwater
Publisher: Rodopi
Release Date: 2003
Pages: 198
ISBN: 9042011947
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Kafka, Gothic and Fairytale is an original comparative study of the novels and some of the related shorter punishment fantasies in terms of their relationship to the Gothic and fairytale conventions. It is an absorbing subject and one which, while keeping to the basic facts of his life, mind-set and literary method, shows Kafka's work in a genuinely new light. The contradiction between his persona with its love of fairytale and his shadow with its affinity with Gothic is reflected in his work, which is both Gothic and other than Gothic, both fairytale-like and the every denial of fairytale. Important subtexts of the book are the close connexion between Gothic and fairytale and between both of these and the dream. German text is quoted in translation unless the emphasis is on the meaning of individual words or phrases, in which case the words in question are quoted and their English meanings discussed. This means that readers without German can, for the first time, begin to understand the underlying ambiguity of Kafka's major fictions. The book is addressed to all who are interested in the meaning of his work and its place in literary history, but also to the many readers in the English and German-speaking worlds who share the author's enthusiasm for Gothic and fairytale.

Book Title: Dramatherapy with Myth and Fairytale
Author: Pat Watts
Publisher: Jessica Kingsley Publishers
Release Date: 2013-05-28
Pages: 256
ISBN: 9780857004383
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Myths and fairytales are our rich heritage; a veritable feast of ancient wisdom passed down through the ages in the memorable form of stories. While almost any story will have deep meaning to some individuals, some of the time, this book presents a collection of stories that these maestros of dramatherapy have found to have a powerful effect almost without fail. These are the 'golden' stories of Sesame. The authors introduce the Sesame approach and describe the advantages of using myth and fairy tale as a central theme in a therapy session. The Sesame approach has been found to produce striking results with myriad client groups, including individuals with learning difficulties, offenders in psychiatric settings and children with emotional and behavioural difficulties and adults in mental health care. Dramatherapy with Myth and Fairytale provides a treasure trove of timeless stories that can be adapted and applied to the needs of different client groups and the style of each therapist. It also includes introductory exercises, warm-ups and scene setting suggestions. The book will be an invaluable source of inspiration for dramatherapists and dramatherapy students, creative arts therapists, storytellers, psychotherapists, Jungian psychoanalysts, teachers and play therapists.

Book Title: Not A Fairytale
Author: Monika Bharti
Publisher: Blue Rose Publishers
Release Date:
Pages: 154
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

"Oh God, it’s high time you do something about it. It’s not 1864 that he will court you for months and months without actually doing anything about it," Piya said exasperatedly. "Well, I like this, the courtship thing," Nikita said avoiding Piya’s stern look. "This isn’t a fairytale," Piya said. Nikita always believed in fairytales and romance, like it’s depicted in books. But then reality set in and she faced ups and downs making her belief in fairytales fade away. Will she ever believe in fairytales again? Does her prince charming actually exist? Will she find her true love in the face of this reality? Or will she settle for an arranged marriage and forget it all?

Book Title: Fairytale
Author: Victoria Saitz
Publisher: Page Publishing Inc
Release Date: 2015-03-13
Pages: 382
ISBN: 9781634174664
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

What if the “happily ever after” wasn’t as happy as everyone thinks? Two boy’s lives change forever after a chance visit to a fortune teller sends them tumbling into a world where fairytales are reality. They soon find the land has been taken over by an evil queen and must face tax collectors, witches, pirates, and mermaids as they follow their new friends on a quest to take back the land and bring back all the happy endings.

Book Title: Fairytale Love
Author: Leanne French
Publisher: BalboaPress
Release Date: 2013-12-31
Pages: 236
ISBN: 9781452512433
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

With pessimistic divorce and break-up statistics climbing faster than a magic beanstalk, who doesn't want to believe in happily ever after? Fairytale Love presents a playful yet powerful relationship self-help guide that seeks to help you optimistically unlock the secrets of forever after, using inspirational solutions and accessible advice. Fairytales can awaken your creativity, enliven your imagination, and direct your attention to common human conditions and traits of character. They can also entertain, empower, and inspire you to really look at your own ways of thinking and behaving when faced with struggles and triumph. Relying on the positive psychology provided in Fairytale Love, you can find the keys to single-handedly transform your relationship into a more passionate, resilient one. This guide - reveals eighty-eight successful, love-enriching secrets; - awakens self-care and fosters charming ways of being; - puts you in charge of creating your own fulfilling love story; - delivers uplifting, fun ways to treasure each other; and - offers playful, distinctive strategies that increase respect, reduce beastly debates, and make it possible for you to love happily ever after.

Book Title: The Fairytale Trilogy
Author: Valerie Gribben
Publisher: NewSouth Books
Release Date: 2010-01-01
Pages: 260
ISBN: 1603060677
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Welcome to the wonder-filled world of the Fairytale Trilogy, where magic is far more than smoke and mirrors . . . The three novels in this book -- Fairytale, The Emperor's Realm, and The Three Crowns -- chronicle the adventures of Marianne and her brother Robin as they come of age in an enchanted land where frogs talk, fantastical creatures prowl, and danger doesn't stop at the edge of a dark forest. Though steeped in the tradition of classic fairy tales, The Fairytale Trilogy presents an engagingly fresh story with a modern sensibility.

Book Title: The Day I Fell Into a Fairytale
Author: Ben Miller
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Release Date: 2020-10-01
Pages: 368
ISBN: 9781471192456
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Following the breakout successes of The Night I Met Father Christmas and The Boy Who Made the World Disappear, get ready for the brilliant NEW novel from actor, comedian and bestselling author Ben Miller, perfect for fans of Matt Haig and David Baddiel! Featuring beautiful illustrations throughout from Daniela Jaglenka Terrazzini, Lana loves stories. Especially the ones she and her brother, Harrison, share in their make-believe games. But when Harrison decides he’s too grown-up to play with Lana she finds herself feeling lonely. Until something magical happens… Hidden in the strange new supermarket in town, Lana discovers a portal to a fairytale world! But these aren’t the happy-ever-after fairytales that Lana knows, they are darker and more dangerous, and the characters need Lana’s help to defeat an evil witch. But she can’t do it alone. Can she convince Harrison to believe in stories again and journey to the world with her. . . before it’s too late? This is a story about stories, but it’s also about a brother and a sister finding their way back to each other through the power of imagination. Ben Miller is an actor, director, and comedian, best known for writing and starring in The Armstrong and Miller Show and his role as Rowan Atkinson’s sidekick, Bough, in Johnny English Strikes Back. Other recent big screen roles include What We Did On Our Holiday with Billy Connolly, and the much-loved Paddington 2 with, well, Paddington. On television, he is best known for the crime comedy drama Death In Paradise which has been a big hit worldwide. Praise for The Night I Met Father Christmas: 'A gorgeous tale brimming with the magic of Christmas. A sheer delight for all kids both big AND small.' Ruth Jones, award-winning writer and comedian 'Enchanting, funny and intriguing in equal measure' Philip Ardagh,bestselling author 'You can always tell when a children’s book has been written by a brilliant father because there’s a particular intimacy, warmth and mischievous humour that bubbles through it ... irresistible' Alexander Armstrong, presenter, comedian and writer 'A fire-side gem of a story' Abi Elphinstone, bestselling author Praise for The Boy Who Made the World Disappear: 'Fabulous' The Sunday Express 'As children's morality tales go, this is as satisfying as it gets' The Big Issue

Book Title: Fairytale Christmas
Author: Shelley Galloway
Publisher: Harlequin
Release Date: 2012
Pages: 346
ISBN: 9780373365791
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

"Most people don't see past Brooke Anne Kressler's Jovial Janitors sweatshirt and old sneakers. But even janitors dream of being Cinderella at the ball, and for one night with executive Morgan Carmichael, Brooke Anne lives her fairy tale ... until Morgan's ex shows up at the party. Brooke Anne makes a hasty exit from the Christmas ball, leaving her dreams--and her shoes--behind. Morgan may not know much about shoes, but he does know he can't stop thinking about Brooke Anne. So he decides to play Prince Charming and return her heels. But Brooke seems to have transformed from Cinderella into Scrooge overnight. It's going to take a lot more than a pair of shoes to convince her that at Christmas, anything is possible--even happily ever after"--Publisher.