daughter of war

Book Title : Daughter of War
Author : S.J.A. Turney
Publisher : Canelo
Release Date : 2018-04-09
Pages : 352
ISBN : 9781911420620
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

An extraordinary story of the Knights Templar.Europe is aflame. On the Iberian Peninsula the wars of the Reconquista rage across Aragon and Castile. Once again, the Moors are gaining the upper hand. Christendom is divided. Amidst the chaos is a young knight: Arnau of Vallbona. After his Lord is killed in an act of treachery, Arnau pledges to look after his daughter, whose life is now at risk. But in protecting her Arnau will face terrible challenges, and enter a world of Templars, steely knights and visceral combat he could never have imagined. She in turn will find a new destiny with the Knights as a daughter of war... Can she survive? And can Arnau find his destiny? An explosive novel of greed and lust, God and blood, Daughter of War marks the beginning of an epic new series from bestseller S. J. A. Turney. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Matthew Harffy. Praise for S.J.A. Turney'Turney has woven a tale of absolute escapism. The depth of detail and strong narrative tension lead to complete, blissful immersion' Gordon Doherty, author of the Legionary and Strategos series

Book Title : Daughter of War
Author : Brad Taylor
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date : 2019-01-08
Pages : 400
ISBN : 9781101984857
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Former Special Forces Officer and New York Times bestselling author Brad Taylor delivers a heart-pounding thriller featuring Taskforce operators Pike Logan and Jennifer Cahill as they come face to face with a conspiracy where nothing is as it seems. Hot on the trail of a North Korean looking to sell sensitive US intelligence to the Syrian regime, Pike Logan and the Taskforce stumble upon something much graver: the sale of a lethal substance called Red Mercury. Unbeknownst to the Taskforce, the Syrians plan to use the weapon of mass destruction against American and Kurdish forces, and blame the attack on terrorists, causing western nations to reassess their participation in the murky cauldron of the Syrian civil war. Meanwhile, North Korea has its own devastating agenda: a double-cross that will dwarf the attack in Syria even as it lays the blame on the Syrian government. Leveraging Switzerland's fame for secrecy and its vast network of military bunkers, now repurposed by private investors for the clandestine storage of wealth, North Korea will use Red Mercury to devastate the West's ability to deliver further sanctions against the rogue regime. As the Taskforce begins to unravel the plot, a young refugee unwittingly holds the key to the conspiracy. Hunted across Europe for reasons she cannot fathom, she is the one person who can stop the attack--if she can live long enough for Pike and Jennifer to find her.

Book Title : Daughters of War
Author : Hilary Green
Publisher : Severn House Publishers Ltd
Release Date : 2011-12-01
Pages : 224
ISBN : 9781780100715
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A thrilling and passionate World War I saga - The year is 1912, and Britain is gripped by fear of war with Germany. Intelligent, headstrong Leonora Malham Brown feels stifled by her middle-class upbringing, so when feisty Victoria Langford introduces her to the First Aid Nursing Yeomanry, she seizes her chance - and when trouble flares in the Balkans, the girls head to Bulgaria to offer their assistance on the battlefield. Neither are prepared for the grim realities of war, but as well as danger, fear and excitement, Leo will find unexpected - and passionate - romance.

Book Title : Daughter of War
Author : Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch
Publisher : Fitzhenry & Whiteside Limited
Release Date : 2008
Pages : 210
ISBN : 1554550440
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Armenian Marta disguises herself as a Muslim to escape genocide in Turkey, and must now locate her sister and fiancâe also who may have hidden their true identities.

Book Title : Daughters of War
Author : Peter E. Boroch
Publisher : Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Release Date : 2015-12-20
Pages : 142
ISBN : 1522807535
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Year 2106, New York City. 16 year old Kimberly Laguana lives a life without meaning-that is until she encounters the world's most ruthless killer. Under his training, Kim will be introduced to a different world. A world of hybrids, specters, cyborgs, mercenaries and Knights. A world where blood and death are a way of life. A world that creates a daughter of war.

Book Title : Martha Jefferson Randolph Daughter of Monticello
Author : Cynthia A. Kierner
Publisher : Univ of North Carolina Press
Release Date : 2012-05-14
Pages : 376
ISBN : 9780807882504
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

As the oldest and favorite daughter of Thomas Jefferson, Martha "Patsy" Jefferson Randolph (1772-1836) was extremely well educated, traveled in the circles of presidents and aristocrats, and was known on two continents for her particular grace and sincerity. Yet, as mistress of a large household, she was not spared the tedium, frustration, and great sorrow that most women of her time faced. Though Patsy's name is familiar because of her famous father, Cynthia Kierner is the first historian to place Patsy at the center of her own story, taking readers into the largely ignored private spaces of the founding era. Randolph's life story reveals the privileges and limits of celebrity and shows that women were able to venture beyond their domestic roles in surprising ways. Following her mother's death, Patsy lived in Paris with her father and later served as hostess at the President's House and at Monticello. Her marriage to Thomas Mann Randolph, a member of Congress and governor of Virginia, was often troubled. She and her eleven children lived mostly at Monticello, greeting famous guests and debating issues ranging from a woman's place to slavery, religion, and democracy. And later, after her family's financial ruin, Patsy became a fixture in Washington society during Andrew Jackson's presidency. In this extraordinary biography, Kierner offers a unique look at American history from the perspective of this intelligent, tactfully assertive woman.

Book Title : Daughter of Twin Oaks A Secret Refuge Book 1
Author : Lauraine Snelling
Publisher : Bethany House
Release Date : 2000-04-01
Pages : 336
ISBN : 9781585589937
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Will the Wounded Soldier She Rescues From Certain Death be Able to Break Down the Walls of Bitterness That Surround Her Heart? Seeking to fulfill the promise she made to her dying father, eighteen-year-old Jesselynn Highwood determines to take her little brother and the family's remaining Thoroughbreds from Twin Oaks plantation in Kentucky to her uncle's farm in Missouri, where they will be safe for the remainder of the Civil War. Jesselynn is also fleeing a cruel man in Confederate uniform who has pledged to take revenge against her for refusing his hand in marriage. No longer safe at Twin Oaks, she embarks on a perilous journey, taking on the momentous responsibility for the lives and welfare of all who go with her. They ride at night and hide during the day, dodging both Confederate and Union troops along the way. Encountering hunger, sickness, and the devastation of war, they finally arrive in Missouri only to discover that the situation there puts them in even greater danger. Discouraged, disillusioned, and facing a severe testing of her faith, Jesselynn will stop at nothing to save her family, the horses, and whatever remains of Twin Oaks.

Book Title : The Daughter of Christopher Columbus
Author : Réjean Ducharme
Publisher : Guernica Editions
Release Date : 2000
Pages : 192
ISBN : 1550711067
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

In this novel in verse, a beautiful and naïve Columbia Columbus wanders through the world in search of friendship upon the death of her famous father. Despite fantastic adventures, she finds mostly cruelty and indifference, until she makes friends with an ever growing number of animals, some of whom serve as bodyguards during her dramatic return to Montreal, in the year 2492, to celebrate the millennium of Christopher Columbus's discovery of America.

Book Title : Daughter of Smoke and Bone
Author : Laini Taylor
Publisher : Hachette UK
Release Date : 2011-09-29
Pages : 448
ISBN : 9781444722642
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The world crossing, boundary breaking fantasy phenomenon for fans of Philip Pullman and Neil Gaiman. Welcome to ELSEWHERE. 'It's totally EXCELLENT, EPIC, PERFECT! No words. Certainly one of the best fantasy books I've ever read!' Goodreads Reviewer, five stars. 'WOW. I wish I had written this book.' Patrick Rothfuss In general, Karou has managed to keep her two lives in balance. On the one hand, she's a seventeen-year-old art student in Prague; on the other, errand-girl to a monstrous creature who is the closest thing she has to family. Raised half in our world, half in 'Elsewhere', she has never understood Brimstone's dark work - buying teeth from hunters and murderers - nor how she came into his keeping. She is a secret even to herself. Now the doors to Elsewhere are closing, and Karou must choose between the safety of her human life and the dangers of a war-ravaged world that may hold the answers she has always sought. 'Remarkable and beautifully written . . . The opening volume of a truly original trilogy.' GUARDIAN

Book Title : A Dragon Child Reflections of a Daughter of Annam in America
Author : Lucy Nguyen-Hong-Nhiem
Publisher : iUniverse
Release Date : 2004-10-11
Pages : 166
ISBN : 9780595776399
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A Dragon Child: Reflections of a Daughter of Annam in America is the story of a Vietnamese Catholic raised within the structure of the French colonial system. Her upbringing was somewhat privileged as the daughter of a provincial administrator in the central highlands of Vietnam. As a child, and later as a young woman, she embraced French culture and aspired to French ideals. She was educated at a French boarding school for the children of the elite. Subsequently she received a degree in French teaching from the University of Saigon and became a lycee teacher and administrator. In 1975, she left on one of the last military planes accompanied by her four children and entered a new life as a refugee in the U.S. She ultimately resettled in Western Massachusetts. She then went back to school and obtained her Ph.D. in Francophone literature. After seeing to her children's education she began her academic career and started to teach French in the Five College academic community. She has fulfilled the "American dream" as have her children. In the process she has rediscovered her cultural roots and has helped others to negotiate the same path.