daughter of war

Book Title : Daughter of War
Author : Brad Taylor
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date : 2019-01-08
Pages : 400
ISBN : 9781101984857
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Former Special Forces Officer and New York Times bestselling author Brad Taylor delivers a heart-pounding thriller featuring Taskforce operators Pike Logan and Jennifer Cahill as they come face to face with a conspiracy where nothing is as it seems. Hot on the trail of a North Korean looking to sell sensitive US intelligence to the Syrian regime, Pike Logan and the Taskforce stumble upon something much graver: the sale of a lethal substance called Red Mercury. Unbeknownst to the Taskforce, the Syrians plan to use the weapon of mass destruction against American and Kurdish forces, and blame the attack on terrorists, causing western nations to reassess their participation in the murky cauldron of the Syrian civil war. Meanwhile, North Korea has its own devastating agenda: a double-cross that will dwarf the attack in Syria even as it lays the blame on the Syrian government. Leveraging Switzerland's fame for secrecy and its vast network of military bunkers, now repurposed by private investors for the clandestine storage of wealth, North Korea will use Red Mercury to devastate the West's ability to deliver further sanctions against the rogue regime. As the Taskforce begins to unravel the plot, a young refugee unwittingly holds the key to the conspiracy. Hunted across Europe for reasons she cannot fathom, she is the one person who can stop the attack--if she can live long enough for Pike and Jennifer to find her.

Book Title : Massacre
Author : Danielle Mead Skjelver
Publisher :
Release Date : 2004
Pages : 286
ISBN : 0974862800
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Based on a true story, this novel tells the long forgotten story of Hannah Hawks Scott, a woman whom Joseph Anderson called the most afflicted woman in all New England. Born to a soldier in King Philip's War, Hannah found herself caught in the inevitable clash of two cultures. Yet she was not the most afflicted of all. Drawing on many sources, the author carefully weaves into Hannah's story the tale of a fictional Pequot boy whose life redefines the word "massacre." Spanning the 1637 attack on the Pequot Fort to the 1704 raid of Deerfield, Massachusetts, and through Queen Anne's War, this novel delivers a powerful look at the conflict between Puritan colonists and the First Nations of North America. Follow the lives of Hannah and this young boy as they endure the nightmare of war ~ each struggling for family, each struggling for home.

Book Title : Daughter of War
Author : S. J. A. Turney
Publisher : Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Release Date : 2018-03-26
Pages : 314
ISBN : 1986867811
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Europe is aflame. On the Iberian Peninsula the wars of the Reconquista rage across Aragon and Castile. Once again, the Moors are gaining the upper hand. Christendom is divided. Amidst the chaos comes a young knight: Arnau of Valbona. After his Lord is killed in an act of treachery, Arnau pledges to look after his daughter, whose life is now at risk. But in protecting her Arnau will face terrible challenges, and enter a world of Templars, steely knights and visceral combat he could never have imagined. She in turn will find a new destiny with the Knights as a daughter of war... Can she survive? And can Arnau find his destiny? An explosive novel of greed and lust, God and blood, Daughter of War marks the beginning of an epic new series from bestseller S.J.A. Turney. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Matt Harffy.

Book Title : Daughter of War
Author : Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch
Publisher : Fitzhenry & Whiteside Limited
Release Date : 2008
Pages : 210
ISBN : 1554550440
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Armenian Marta disguises herself as a Muslim to escape genocide in Turkey, and must now locate her sister and fiancâe also who may have hidden their true identities.

Book Title : Juniper s Daughter War Is Obsolete Futility and Hope
Author : Nick Armbrister
Publisher : Lulu.com
Release Date : 2012-03
Pages : 138
ISBN : 9781445702353
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

This is Nick's new volume of poetry/short stories covering light/dark topics. From horror fiction to Cold War views and love poetry to war in the sky Nick has brought together a varied collection. A dark book with a positive message.

Book Title : The General and His Daughter
Author : Barbara Gavin Fauntleroy
Publisher : Oxford University Press
Release Date : 2009-08-25
Pages : 284
ISBN : 9780823226894
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

James Maurice Gavin left for war in April 1943 as a colonel commanding the 505th Parachute Infantry Regiment of the 82nd Airborne Division-America's first airborne division and the first to fight in World War II. In 1944, Slim JimGavin, as he was known to his troops, at the age of thirty-seven became the 82nd's commanding general-the youngest Army officer to become a major general since the Civil War. At war's end, this soldier's soldier had become one of our greatest generals-and the 82nd's most decorated officer.Now James Gavin's letters home to his nine-year-old daughter Barbara provide a revealing portrait of the American experience in World War II through the eyes of one of its most dynamic officers. Written from ship decks, foxholes, and field tents-often just before or after a dangerous jump-they capture the day-to-day realities of combat and Gavin's personal reactions to the war he helped to win. And provide an invaluable self-portrait of a great general, and a great American, in war and peace.The book's more than 200 letters begin at Fort Bragg in 1943 and continue to December 1945, as Gavin came home to lead the 82nd at the head of the Victory parade in New York. This correspondence constitutes the majority of Gavin's private wartime letters, but except for rare appearances in regimental newsletters, it has never before been published. In her Introduction, Epilogue, and Notes, Barbara Gavin Fauntleroy gives a privileged glimpse of the private man. Edited by Gayle Wurst, the book features historical overviews by Starlyn Jorgensen, a preface by noted Gavin biographer Gerard M. Devlin, and a foreword by Rufus Broadaway, Gavin's aide-de-camp.

Book Title : A Daughter s War
Author : Teresa Pawlowski
Publisher : Dorrance Publishing
Release Date : 2013
Pages : 322
ISBN : 9781434918659
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

On september1, 1939 Germany invaded Poland which marked the beginning of World War II. As battles are fought in the fields, those at home also fight to survive. A Daughter's War is the true account of a Polish family's survival during the German occupation Of Poland. When Papa is captured by the Germans stone walls can't keep the family apart. Promises are made and kept and unlikely heroes arise to keep the family - Papa, Mama, Cathy, Edmund, Mary, Teresa and Alas - together and alive.

Book Title : Daughter of the Cold War
Author : Grace Kennan Warnecke
Publisher : University of Pittsburgh Press
Release Date : 2018-05-04
Pages : 212
ISBN : 9780822983347
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Grace Kennan Warnecke's memoir is about a life lived on the edge of history. Daughter of one of the most influential diplomats of the twentieth century, wife of the scion of a newspaper dynasty and mother of the youngest owner of a major league baseball team, Grace eventually found her way out from under the shadows of others to forge a dynamic career of her own. Born in Latvia, Grace lived in seven countries and spoke five languages before the age of eleven. As a child, she witnessed Hitler’s march into Prague, attended a Soviet school during World War II, and sailed the seas with her father. In a multi-faceted career, she worked as a professional photographer, television producer, and book editor and critic. Eventually, like her father, she became a Russian specialist, but of a very different kind. She accompanied Ted Kennedy and his family to Russia, escorted Joan Baez to Moscow to meet with dissident Andrei Sakharov, and hosted Josef Stalin’s daughter on the family farm after Svetlana defected to the United States. While running her own consulting company in Russia, she witnessed the breakup of the Soviet Union, and later became director of a women’s economic empowerment project in a newly independent Ukraine. Daughter of the Cold Waris a tale of all these adventures and so much more. This compelling and evocative memoir allows readers to follow Grace's amazing path through life – a whirlwind journey of survival, risk, and self-discovery through a kaleidoscope of many countries, historic events, and fascinating people.

Book Title : War Dad
Author : Juju Sands
Publisher : iUniverse
Release Date : 2010-01
Pages : 112
ISBN : 9781440190421
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Even though her father returned from the Vietnam War alive, Juju Sands considers him a casualty of the war. In this memoir, Sands recounts her life as a war daughter and narrates the damage inflicted on her as a result of her father's addictions and abuses. But more than a story of sadness, it is one of hope for others who suffer from the negative effects of war. Captivating and emotional, War Dad describes the destruction of one girl's spirit and self-esteem as her father battled with alcohol and heroin addiction, domestic abuse, crime, and prison. She recounts the events that could have taken her over the edge to a life of self-destruction. But she also stresses how she rose above the situation to choose to live a better life. An estimated 300,000 soldiers suffer from post-traumatic stress disorder. War Dad sheds light on not only the plight of these soldiers, but also demonstrates the harmful effects on their families, spouses, and children.

Book Title : The Exile s Daughter
Author : Stephen Watson Fullom
Publisher :
Release Date : 1860
Pages : 259
ISBN : UCAL:$B165068
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS: