class act

Class Act
Author: Jerry Craft
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: 2020-10-06
Pages: 256
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

New York Times bestselling author Jerry Craft returns with a companion book to New Kid, winner of the 2020 Newbery Medal, the Coretta Scott King Author Award, and the Kirkus Prize. This time, it’s Jordan’s friend Drew who takes center stage in another laugh-out-loud funny, powerful, and important story about being one of the few kids of color in a prestigious private school. Eighth grader Drew Ellis is no stranger to the saying “You have to work twice as hard to be just as good.” His grandmother has reminded him his entire life. But what if he works ten times as hard and still isn’t afforded the same opportunities that his privileged classmates at the Riverdale Academy Day School take for granted? To make matters worse, Drew begins to feel as if his good friend Liam might be one of those privileged kids. He wants to pretend like everything is fine, but it's hard not to withdraw, and even their mutual friend Jordan doesn't know how to keep the group together. As the pressures mount, will Drew find a way to bridge the divide so he and his friends can truly accept each other? And most important, will he finally be able to accept himself? New Kid, the first graphic novel to win the Newbery Medal, is now joined by Jerry Craft's powerful Class Act.

A Class Act
Author: January James
Publisher: January James
Release Date: 2020-07-01
Pages:
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Lottie Matheson has everything going for her: wealth and privilege, single-minded ambition and a brand new graduate job in the thick of London’s thrilling start-up scene. But Lottie Matheson isn’t who she seems. Hiding behind a false identity to distance herself from a troubled background, Lottie becomes embroiled in an affair with her brilliant and charismatic but famously attached CEO Marcus Armstrong. But, as their relationship intensifies, their colleagues become suspicious and before long, the secrets are out. All of them. With everything broken – her heart, her reputation, her spirit – will Lottie ever find the strength to start again? A Class Act is part of the Square Mile interlinked series of books, perfect for fans of Louise Bagshawe, Tasmina Perry, LJ Shen and Anna Todd. The Square Mile series follows some of the sexiest and most privileged alpha men in London's famous banking quarter in the City, along with the bright, beautiful and ambitious women who torture them. The books are filled to the brim with brains, money, desire, obsession and rivalry. Not forgetting the all-important happy ending. Square Mile book #2, He Turned, is due out 31 August 2020.

Class ACT
Author: Paul Tanner
Publisher: Lulu.com
Release Date: 2015-06
Pages: 150
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Tanner is either stacking shelves in a shitty shop or trying to sign on at the even shittier job centre. This is his third collection about all that

A Class Act
Author: Pamela Burford
Publisher: HarperCollins Australia
Release Date: 2012-07-01
Pages: 160
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

MOST LIKELY TO SUCCEED Who, but handsome, preppy prelaw Gabe Moreau? And it was obvious to everyone except Gabe that what he felt for Dena Devlin the janitor's daughter! was just puppy love. But it was Dena who walked away when Gabe lost his innocence to someone more appropriate. SURPRISE, SURPRISE! Dena, not outrageously successful herself, figured she could handle seeing Gabe for an evening at their high school reunion. But an entire week under the same roof with the sexy, still-single hunk? With a crew of old friends fanning the flames that still burned between them? She had a choice to make: reject her own desire and have her revenge or get what she'd always wanted Gabe.

Class Act
Author: Susan Cruttenden
Publisher: R.I.C. Publications
Release Date: 1994
Pages: 86
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A Class Act
Author: Andrew Adonis
Publisher:
Release Date: 1997
Pages: 308
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A Class Act aims to explode the myth that Britain is becoming a classless society, by systematically examining the pillars of the new class structure - education, the monarchy, the armed forces, health, politics, housing and race.

Class Act
Author: Anne-Marie Mooney Cotter
Publisher: Routledge
Release Date: 2016-05-23
Pages: 370
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Even today, class discrimination remains an important global legal issue. This book allows readers a better understanding of the issue of class discrimination and inequality, including the role of education in bridging the class systems. The study seeks to increase the likelihood of achieving equality at both the national and international levels for those suffering class discrimination as the international population becomes increasingly educated, looking at the primary role of legislation, which has an impact on the court process. It also discusses the two most important trade agreements of our day - namely the North American Free Trade Agreement and the European Union Treaty - in a historical and compelling analysis of discrimination. By providing a detailed examination of the relationship between class and education as they relate to the law, the book will be an important read for those concerned with equality.

Class Act
Author: Cholly Atkins
Publisher: Columbia University Press
Release Date: 2003-04-09
Pages: 280
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Cholly Atkins's career has spanned an extraordinary era of American dance. He began performing during Prohibition and continued his apprenticeship in vaudeville, in nightclubs, and in the army during World War II. With his partner, Honi Coles, Cholly toured the country, performing with such jazz masters as Louis Armstrong, Cab Calloway, and Count Basie. As tap reached a nadir in the fifties, Cholly created the new specialization of "vocal choreography," teaching rhythm-and-blues singers how to perform their music by adding rhythmical dance steps drawn from twentieth-century American dance, from the Charleston to rhythm tap. For the burgeoning Motown record label, Cholly taught such artists as the Supremes, Smokey Robinson and the Miracles, the Temptations, Gladys Knight and the Pips, and Marvin Gaye to command the stage in ways that would enhance their performances and "sell" their songs. Class Act tells of Cholly's boyhood and coming of age, his entry into the dance world of New York City, his performing triumphs and personal tragedies, and the career transformations that won him gold records and a Tony for choreographing Black and Blue on Broadway. Chronicling the rise, near demise, and rediscovery of tap dancing, the book is both an engaging biography and a rich cultural history.

A Class Act
Author: Susan L. Robertson
Publisher: Taylor & Francis
Release Date: 2000
Pages: 240
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

This book offers an original and challenging theoretical and empirical approach to mapping the changing nature of teachers' work historically and in the contemporary period. It is an attempt to understand how and in what ways teachers' work has changed following the demise of the post-war settlement and the imminent collapse of teachers' project of professionalism secured through solidaristic strategies such as unionism. Dr. Robertson argues that in order to understand these issues, a more rigorous set of conceptual tools around social class, occupational power and worker control is needed. The first two sections of the book set out to address that problem. The final section elaborates on the changing contexts and conditions for contemporary teachers more generally, and argues that structural and ideological changes within educational provision have led to differing capacities in the realization of class assets.

Painting Is A Class ACT
Author: Meg Fabian
Publisher: Brilliant Publications
Release Date: 2011-03
Pages: 120
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS: