angelas ashes 2

Angela S Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Release Date: 1996
Pages: 364
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The author recounts his childhood in Depression-era Brooklyn as the child of Irish immigrants who decide to return to worse poverty in Ireland when his infant sister dies. 40,000 first printing. $35,000 ad/promo. First serial, The New Yorker.

A Study Guide For Frank McCourt S Angela S Ashes
Author: Gale, Cengage Learning
Publisher: Gale, Cengage Learning
Release Date: 2015-09-15
Pages: 15
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A Study Guide for Frank McCourt's "Angela's Ashes," excerpted from Gale's acclaimed Nonfiction Classics for Students.This concise study guide includes plot summary; character analysis; author biography; study questions; historical context; suggestions for further reading; and much more. For any literature project, trust Nonfiction Classics for Students for all of your research needs.

Angela S Ashes   Literature Kit Gr  9 12
Author: Paul Bramley
Publisher: Classroom Complete Press
Release Date: 2012-12-06
Pages: 57
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

In this State Standards-aligned Literature Kit™, we divide the novel by chapters or sections and feature reading comprehension and vocabulary questions. In every chapter, we include Before You Read and After You Read questions. The Before You Read activities prepare students for reading by setting a purpose for reading. They stimulate background knowledge and experience, and guide students to make connections between what they know and what they will learn. The After You Read activities check students' comprehension and extend their learning. Students are asked to give thoughtful consideration of the text through creative and evaluative short-answer questions and journal prompts. Also included are writing tasks, graphic organizers, comprehension quiz, test prep, word search, and crossword to further develop students' critical thinking and writing skills, and analysis of the text. About the Novel: Angela's Ashes is a Pulitzer Prize winning memoir about the author's own childhood and young adulthood. Frank — the eldest son of Malachy and Angela McCourt — vividly describes the hardships endured by his family. First living in Brooklyn, the family moves back to Ireland after the death of Frank's sister Margaret. There, the family lives in poverty, as Frank's father spends all the welfare money, leaving little for food and clothes. Frank's father finally gets work in England, but neglects to send money home to his struggling family, leaving Frank to support them. The story continues with Frank searching tirelessly for a job, settling in at the post office. Eventually, Frank is able to earn enough money to return to America, hoping to start a new life. All of our content is aligned to your State Standards and are written to Bloom's Taxonomy.

Teaching  Angela S Ashes     Die Asche Meiner Mutter  Im Englischunterricht
Author: David Stehling
Publisher: GRIN Verlag
Release Date: 2012-11-26
Pages: 18
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Seminar paper from the year 2010 in the subject English - Pedagogy, Didactics, Literature Studies, grade: 1,7, http://www.uni-jena.de/ (Institut für Anglistik/Amerikanistik), course: Teaching Films, language: English, abstract: Using films in the EFL classroom is now easier than ever before. The wide range of the internet, DVD players, whiteboards and digital video projectors offer various possibilities for teachers to use films in lessons at school. This medium is rather quick and relatively straightforward to handle and control. Especially the DVD provides a great variety of options that can valuably be included into teaching lessons, e.g. subtitles, comments by directors, authors or actors, trailers, sound tracks and dozens of extra features. Thus, films may be useful in different ways to enhance motivated learning. This depends, on the one hand, on the qualities of the film that is to be dealt with. Is the topic interesting for the students? Is it possible for the viewers to identify with certain characters or with the happenings? Does the film have any educational potential? How vivid does the film convey its message and how is this emphasised through film language?.

Tis
Author: Frank McCourt
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Release Date: 1999-09-22
Pages: 368
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Frank McCourt's glorious childhood memoir, Angela's Ashes, has been loved and celebrated by readers everywhere for its spirit, its wit and its profound humanity. A tale of redemption, in which storytelling itself is the source of salvation, it won the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Los Angeles Times Book Award and the Pulitzer Prize. Rarely has a book so swiftly found its place on the literary landscape. And now we have 'Tis, the story of Frank's American journey from impoverished immigrant to brilliant teacher and raconteur. Frank lands in New York at age nineteen, in the company of a priest he meets on the boat. He gets a job at the Biltmore Hotel, where he immediately encounters the vivid hierarchies of this "classless country," and then is drafted into the army and is sent to Germany to train dogs and type reports. It is Frank's incomparable voice -- his uncanny humor and his astonishing ear for dialogue -- that renders these experiences spellbinding. When Frank returns to America in 1953, he works on the docks, always resisting what everyone tells him, that men and women who have dreamed and toiled for years to get to America should "stick to their own kind" once they arrive. Somehow, Frank knows that he should be getting an education, and though he left school at fourteen, he talks his way into New York University. There, he falls in love with the quintessential Yankee, long-legged and blonde, and tries to live his dream. But it is not until he starts to teach -- and to write -- that Frank finds his place in the world. The same vulnerable but invincible spirit that captured the hearts of readers in Angela's Ashes comes of age. As Malcolm Jones said in his Newsweek review of Angela's Ashes, "It is only the best storyteller who can so beguile his readers that he leaves them wanting more when he is done...and McCourt proves himself one of the very best." Frank McCourt's 'Tis is one of the most eagerly awaited books of our time, and it is a masterpiece.

Back To The Present  Forward To The Past
Author: International Association for the Study of Irish Literatures. Conference
Publisher: Rodopi
Release Date: 2006
Pages: 401
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The island of Ireland, north and south, has produced a great diversity of writing in both English and Irish for hundreds of years, often using the memories embodied in its competing views of history as a fruitful source of literary inspiration. Placing Irish literature in an international context, these two volumes explore the connection between Irish history and literature, in particular the Rebellion of 1798, in a more comprehensive, diverse and multi-faceted way than has often been the case in the past. The fifty-three authors bring their national and personal viewpoints as well as their critical judgements to bear on Irish literature in these stimulating articles. The contributions also deal with topics such as Gothic literature, ideology, and identity, as well as gender issues, connections with the other arts, regional Irish literature, in particular that of the city of Limerick, translations, the works of Joyce, and comparisons with the literature of other nations. The contributors are all members of IASIL (International Association for the Study of Irish Literatures). Back to the Present: Forward to the Past. Irish Writing and History since 1798 will be of interest to both literary scholars and professional historians, but also to the general student of Irish writing and Irish culture.

Angela S Christmas
Author: Frank McCourt
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Release Date: 2007-11-06
Pages: 32
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Now an Emmy-nominated film streaming on Netflix! Pulitzer Prize recipient Frank McCourt shares the story of his mother’s childhood Christmas in this tender and heartwarming picture book, previously published as Angela and the Baby Jesus. Angela is six-years-old and worries for the baby Jesus on the altar of St. Joseph’s church in Limerick. December nights are damp and cold, and the church is dark at night. How can the baby Jesus’ mother leave him in the manger without even a blanket to cover him? The baby Jesus surely needs Angela’s help, even if she is not allowed to go on the altar, especially by herself. Filled with the characters, incident, and detail that have made Frank McCourt internationally renowned and beloved, Angela’s Christmas is a timeless story of real life—in all of its joy, innocence, and incongruity. A story for all generations to enjoy and cherish.

Teacher Man
Author: Frank McCourt
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Release Date: 2006-09-19
Pages: 258
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

The author describes his coming of age as a teacher, storyteller, and writer, a personal journey during which he spent fifteen years finding his voice in the classroom, and came to terms with the undervalued importance of teaching.

Better Than A Rest  Leo Street  Book 2
Author: Pauline Mclynn
Publisher: Hachette UK
Release Date: 2011-11-10
Pages: 241
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Pauline McLynn's intrepid private investigator, Leo Street, returns in this sparkling comic crime caper. The charming Leo Street series is perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Lauren Henderson. 'Hilariously funny follow-up to Something for the Weekend. With the perfect balance of humour, adventure and romance, Pauline McLynn makes crafting witty, fast-paced fiction look like a doddle' - OK! Private eye Leo Street is on the trail of an adulterous husband when her clapped-out car causes her cover to be blown. It's time to draft in Ciara Gillespie, the teenage tearaway whom she befriended on her last case. At first, Ciara's methods of surveillance leave a lot to be desired, but soon she's unearthing the secret life of an obstetrician who likes to dabble in genetic engineering... With Ciara in control, Leo's free to pursue other matters, such as who's making anonymous phone calls to her friend Maeve, and why there's pandemonium at the local crèche. Then she accepts an invitation from Andy Raynor - an old flame who she's never fully extinguished - and sparks begin to fly. What readers are saying about Better than a Rest: 'The characters are drawn with exquisite first-hand knowledge of real people, and the situations in which Leo finds herself, whether bland or extraordinary, are described with pinpoint accuracy and a certain amount of delicious agony' 'She [Pauline McLynn] truly understands the eccentricities of Dublin life and reflects them perfectly' 'Excellent mix of humour and drama'

New Perspectives On The Irish Diaspora
Author: Charles Fanning
Publisher: SIU Press
Release Date: 2000
Pages: 329
ISBN:
Available Language: English, Spanish, And French
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

In New Perspectives on the Irish Diaspora, Charles Fanning incorporates eighteen fresh perspectives on the Irish diaspora over three centuries and around the globe. He enlists scholarly tools from the disciplines of history, sociology, literary criticism, folklore, and culture studies to present a collection of writings about the Irish diaspora of great variety and depth.