a tale for the time being

Book Title : A Tale for the Time Being
Author : Ruth Ozeki
Publisher : Penguin
Release Date : 2013-03-12
Pages : 432
ISBN : 9781101606254
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

A brilliant, unforgettable novel from bestselling author Ruth Ozeki—shortlisted for the Booker Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award “A time being is someone who lives in time, and that means you, and me, and every one of us who is, or was, or ever will be.” In Tokyo, sixteen-year-old Nao has decided there’s only one escape from her aching loneliness and her classmates’ bullying. But before she ends it all, Nao first plans to document the life of her great grandmother, a Buddhist nun who’s lived more than a century. A diary is Nao’s only solace—and will touch lives in ways she can scarcely imagine. Across the Pacific, we meet Ruth, a novelist living on a remote island who discovers a collection of artifacts washed ashore in a Hello Kitty lunchbox—possibly debris from the devastating 2011 tsunami. As the mystery of its contents unfolds, Ruth is pulled into the past, into Nao’s drama and her unknown fate, and forward into her own future. Full of Ozeki’s signature humor and deeply engaged with the relationship between writer and reader, past and present, fact and fiction, quantum physics, history, and myth, A Tale for the Time Being is a brilliantly inventive, beguiling story of our shared humanity and the search for home.

Book Title : Sir Roland Ashton A tale of the times
Author : Catharine LONG (Lady.)
Publisher :
Release Date : 1854
Pages :
ISBN : BL:A0017482955
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Book Title : The Siamese Twins A Tale of the Times To which is Added Milton a Poem By the Author of Pelham c c Second Edition The Dedication Signed E L B I e Edward G E L Bulwer Afterwards Bulwer Lytton
Author : E. L. B.
Publisher :
Release Date : 1831
Pages : 360
ISBN : WISC:89093088508
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Book Title : The Fugitives A Tale of Prehistoric Times
Author : Ardath Mayhar
Publisher : Wildside Press LLC
Release Date : 2017-04-19
Pages : 110
ISBN : 9781479426478
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

In prehistoric Europe, Bain of the Hunting Clan flees his people, eventually encountering Arma of the Farming Clan. But the Hunters have followed their lost sheep, and when the two peoples clash, Bain and Arma rescue the Farmers' clan healer, Kalva, and flee with her to the east. There they must overcome many dangerous challenges to establish a brand new society. "Another marvelous fantasy by a master writer"--Robert Reginald.

Book Title : Experimental Fiction
Author : Julie Armstrong
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
Release Date : 2014-08-28
Pages : 176
ISBN : 9781441107299
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Ever since Ezra Pound's exhortation to 'make it new', experimentation has been a hallmark of contemporary literature. Ranging from the modernists, through the Beats to postmodernism and contemporary 'hyperfiction', this is a unique introduction to experimental fiction. Creative exercises throughout the book help students grapple with the many varieties of experimental fiction for themselves, deepening their understanding of these many forms and developing their own writing skills. In addition, the book examines the historical contexts and major themes of 20th-century experimental fiction and new directions for the novel offered by writers such as David Shields and Zadie Smith. Making often difficult works accessible for the first time reader and with extensive further reading guides, Experimental Fiction is an essential practical guidebook for students of creative writing and contemporary fiction. Writers covered include: James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, Franz Kafka, Marcel Proust, Ralph Ellison, Allen Ginsberg, Jack Kerouac, William Gibson, Italo Calvino, Jeanette Winterson, Don Delillo, Caitlin Fisher, Geoff Ryeman, Xiaolu Guo, Tom McCarthy, James Frey and David Mitchell.

Book Title : Cooper s Novels The two admirals a tale
Author : James Fenimore Cooper
Publisher :
Release Date : 1861
Pages :
ISBN : STANFORD:36105007309086
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Book Title : A Tale of Two Deserts
Author : Paul T Kidd
Publisher : Cheshire Henbury
Release Date : 2013-09-16
Pages : 102
ISBN : 9781901864175
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

One book, two tales, one story; A Tale of Two Deserts is a literary work most unusual. Consisting of two very enigmatic tales set in two deserts separated by two thousand years, the book speaks to the contemporary world of that which is in danger of being lost, and warns of the dangerous and damaging delusions that are condemning humanity to a bleak future. The desert of the first tale, being a desert literal, is a place where people have very little, but most of that which matters. The desert of the second tale is a desert figurative, where people, dominated by collective delusions, seemingly have everything but, in fact, little of what truly matters. And running across both tales is a narrative that binds these two tales into one story; but it is for the reader to discover this narrative. Deeply rooted in concern for the future of humanity, A Tale of Two Deserts is a profoundly spiritual book that speaks of the need for humanity to walk a different path, and to abandon the ideological perspectives that have turned science, religion and western industrial capitalism into self-imposed prisons of the mind. Here in this book, the reader will find a world-view that does not close up in fixed opinions, and an invitation to begin to learn that, of matters most profound, humankind is truly ignorant. A Tale of Two Deserts is a message that there is still hope for humanity, hope that rests on people beginning to embrace what is, in essence, a spiritual perspective of life as a never-ending journey where there are no final destinations.

Book Title : Decision a tale
Author : afterwards HOFLAND HOOLE (Barbara)
Publisher :
Release Date : 1867
Pages :
ISBN : BL:A0017482898
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Book Title : A Tale Magnolious
Author : Suzanne Nelson
Publisher : Knopf Books for Young Readers
Release Date : 2019-06-18
Pages : 368
ISBN : 9781984831767
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

Fans of Kate DiCamillo and Katherine Applegate will warm to this story of an orphan and an elephant who band together to save a lovelorn town, relying on an eccentric crew and a couple of miracles along the way. Nitty Luce is an orphan--and a thief. Magnolious is an elephant--and a fugitive. When the two misfits come face to face in the middle of a blinding dust storm, they form an immediate bond. But with Nitty hiding a stolen pouch of gleaming green seeds and Mag mere moments from being hanged, the two don't have much time to get to know each other. Escaping into the storm, they end up on a barren farm in Fortune's Bluff, a town withered by a decade of dust storms. While most would be deterred by the farm's curmudgeonly owner, Windle Homes, Nitty sees past his harsh exterior. She promises to bring the farm back to life--with the help of Mag and those little green seeds. Soon enough, Nitty and Mag are harvesting their first crop, and they're quickly the talk of the town. But as the townspeople become hopeful, the Mayor Neezer Snollygost becomes suspicious. Will Nitty and Mag be able to save Fortune's Bluff and make a new, safe home for themselves? Doing so might just take a miracle...

Book Title : A Tale of Two Transformations
Author : Michael K. Levine
Publisher : CRC Press
Release Date : 2011-12-05
Pages : 323
ISBN : 9781439879788
Available Language : English, Spanish, And French
DOWNLOAD READ ONLINE
EBOOK SYNOPSIS:

There are many books that seek to explain Lean and Agile software that offer theory, techniques, and examples. Michael Levine’s first book, A Tale of Two Systems, is one of the best, synthesizing Lean manufacturing and product development with agile software concepts in an engaging business novel. However, there has been precious little practical guidance for those seeking to change existing organizations to become Lean and Agile, until now. Mr. Levine has followed the successful approach of A Tale of Two Systems, telling two simultaneous intertwined and contrasting stories, to bring organizational transformation to life. Mary O’Connell and James "Wes" Wesleyan, recently engaged to be married, share a commitment to Lean and Agile Software. They have recently become leaders in two very different companies – one, stuck in a slow-moving, unresponsive, process-driven quagmire of a software culture; the other, struggling through the chaos of a sales-driven, process-less swirl. Together with their wise mentor, Neville Roberts, they identify two approaches to making needed changes: Drive People (a top-down approach focused on processes and tools), and People Driven (an enablement approach focused on people and organizations). Mary and Wes evaluate their situations and choose approaches that best fit for them, and the transformations commence. A Tale of Two Transformations differs from many information technology books by grappling with all the complexities of our organizations: the people, the politics, the financials, the processes – in short, the culture from which our Lean and Agile journeys must begin. The change model presented in the flow of the stories is generally applicable, and can help anyone thinking about how to improve their organization.